Civil Rights March on Washington, D.C. Source: Library of Congress.
“And for those who have been talking about protests, just remember, this country was founded on protest. It is called the American Revolution. And every step of progress in this country, every expansion of freedom, every expression of our deepest ideals, has been won through efforts that made the status quo uncomfortable. And we should all be thankful for folks who are willing in a peaceful, disciplined way to be out there making a difference.” President Barack Obama, June 3, 2020 town hall on policing, at 1:22:53
Oral histories (with interview transcripts) and digital photographs of people who participated in the Civil Rights Movement.
Primary sources and digital video archive of historical news films on the Civil Rights Movement.
A sampling of photographs and primary historical documents from the Emma Goldman Papers, plus finding aids and links to other resources. Goldman (1869-1940) was a major figure in the history of radical movements in the U.S.
One of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. Full text of issues from 1971.
Primary source accounts from those who worked with Cesar Chavez to build the Farmworker Movement (1962-1993).
Documenting and saving the digital evidence and stories from worldwide Occupy protests that began in September 2011.
African Activist Archive Project
Records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
Protests, Marches and Movements - Library of Congress
Protests, Marches and Movements - The Civil Rights History Project: Survey of Collections and Repositories (American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress.
The complimentary Protesters’ Rights Resource Kit from Lexis Practice Advisor® features LexisNexis-related content and links to publicly available content from various U.S.-based legal advocacy groups including the ACLU, The Legal Aid Society, and other organizations that are working to increase police accountability, promote civil rights, equal rights, and access to justice.
INFORMED PROTEST: WHAT TO DO BEFORE, DURING, AND AFTER YOU'VE HIT THE STREETS
As a protester participating in direct action during COVID-19, how can you help to ensure that you don't spread the virus to vulnerable communities? And mutually, how can the chronically ill/disabled community provide aid from home? This guide addresses these and related questions.
An outline of essential supplies, actions, and considerations to take before taking to the streets in support of Black lives.
Street or action medics are volunteers with varying degrees of medical training who attend protests and demonstrations to provide medical care. Learn about the rich history of street medical care and prepare yourself to treat tear gas, pepper spray, heat illness, and other common protest-related injuries. Note: This guide is not a replacement for first aid or street medic training.
This eBook provides an overview of the knowledge needed to provide basic medical care during protests and civil unrest. Note: This resource is not a substitute for professional medical training; readers are strongly encouraged to supplement the knowledge from this book with outside resources and in consultation with trusted local experts.
A collection of best practices, spiritual grounding exercises, and practical reminders to bring with you before, during, and after you hit the streets. "An offering of practices to restore us to ourselves."
Tips for reducing the risk of spreading the coronavirus in a mass gathering, from public health experts.
Tips for protestors on the ground.
An app to record police misconduct.
Guidelines that you can use to create your own protest toolkit and help you get the most of your protest experience.
Information on Riot Control Agents, such as pepper spray and tear gas and how to treat wounds and exposure.
1. LEGAL SUPPORT - CALL THE NLG JAIL SUPPORT HOTLINE
They should contact the NLG & L4BL line right now, or as backup have you do it, with full legal name, DOB, if they are undocumented (this is how they look them up in system). Call ASAP: 202-888-1731.
2. SOCIAL SUPPORT
Write on their arms with sharpie contact info of multiple friends who could help them get home if they are released and manage social needs like:
3. HEALTH SUPPORT
What do they need in terms of dealing with the COVID-19 exposure from tear gas coughing, being contained in the kettle*, or being kept in jail, i.e. a place to isolate from family, a plan to get tested? Also, do they need medicine or other immediate care that you can advocate for?
4. LOCKDOWN PHONE
They should put a number (NOT FACE ID OR FINGERPRINT) code on their phone immediately and, as an extra precaution, delete all protest-related text threads and info.
5. SOLIDARITY
Have them spread this to others in kettle/about to be arrested. Identify vulnerable people. Know there is a huge network of people who care.
*Kettle or Kettling is a tactic used by police to corral protesters that can lead to the arrests of peaceful protestors and bystanders.
Pamphlet with resources and tips for protesters.
Information for attorneys on counseling clients engaged in civil disobedience.
Includes free resources for planning and attending protests.
Know Your Rights resources on what to do if you are stopped by police or law enforcement. Available in multiple languages.
Information for participating in a protest as a citizen journalist from Syracuse University.
Workshops and resources for activists, immigrants and youth.
Guides and information for planning and engaging in nonviolent protest.
Information on arrest processing in New York City, and what to expect in most cases if you are arrested.
Information covering a range of topics to help keep safe New Yorkers who are protesting New York City Police Department brutality.
Includes "know your rights" information and information for legal observers and court support as well as other materials.
Includes 'know your rights" information.
This guide looks a the legal rights and restrictions when it comes to organizing or attending a protest in Texas.
Ocasio-Cortez, A. [@aoc]. (2020, May 30). BE SAFE. Here’s our guide on being prepared for safe protests [Image]. Instagram.
Tips for reducing the risk of spreading the coronavirus in a mass gathering, from public health experts.
Tips for protestors on the ground.
An app to record police misconduct.
Guidelines that you can use to create your own protest toolkit and help you get the most of your protest experience.
Information on Riot Control Agents, such as pepper spray and tear gas and how to treat wounds and exposure.
When artist Damon Davis went to join the protests in Ferguson, Missouri, after police killed Michael Brown in 2014, he found not only anger but also a sense of love for self and community. His documentary "Whose Streets?" tells the story of the protest from the perspective of the activists who showed up to challenge those who use power to spread fear and hate.
Download a free pocket constitution!
Download your free pocket constitution from govinfo.gov !
From the National Archives. The Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, & the Bill of Rights among other documents.
