Skip to Main Content

GEOL 1405 SE Caputi: Using the Library

The overview websites under the Generating Ideas page are a good place to start your research, but you may need to fill in the blanks with more specific information. Library resources are a great way to do this.

Looking for Your Own Sources

If you don't find your environmental problem in the recommended resources, you can also search in the millions of other resources in the TCC Library. Below are some of the most relevant databases for environmental problems. 

Databases: Search for Articles and Ebooks

Remember you will need to log in with your myTCC log in if you are off campus!

The right database to use depends on the assignment. Below are some of the more relevant ones for this project. 

 Gale Onefile's Environmental Studies and Policy Collection includes journals and book content focusing on environmental  concerns. 

 

 GreenFILE from EBSCOhost includes scholarly, government, and general interest information on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

 

 Gale in Context: Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.

These resources are broader in content but have information relevant to climate change.

AGRICOLA contains journal articles, book chapters, reports, and much more from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agriculture Library. It includes information on food production and environmental science. 

 

Gale in Context: Science includes topic overviews, journal articles, experiments, and multimedia on a variety of science topics. 

 

Proquest's SciTech Premium Collection includes journal articles, reports, trade journal articles, and much more on a variety of science topics. 

 

Library Catalog: Search for Print Books and Ebooks

The Library Catalog is most efficiently used for looking for print books and ebooks.

1. Begin on the Library Homepage at http://library.tccd.edu.

2. Under TCC Catalog on the left side of the page, choose either "In the Library" for print books or "Ebooks" for online reading. 

3. Type your search terms in the box.

4. Locate your book with the call number for print books or the Available Online link for ebooks. 

 

Picking Your Search Terms

As you begin your search for information about your chosen environmental problem, start brainstorming which terms you could use to describe what interests you the most about your problem.

"Extreme Heat" AND Health: I could use these terms to start looking for information on the health effects of dangerously hot days. The quotation marks tell a search engine to search the words extreme and heat together in that order. The AND lets the search engine know I want both terms in my results. 

Wildfire AND economy AND Texas: These terms would find information that would help me estimate what wildfires could do to the economy of a Texas city.  

"Melting ice" OR "global warming" OR "climate change": Remember to brainstorm different ways the author of an article might talk about an issue. Sometimes there is more than one way to describe an issue. While all of these terms are different, they help us find the right information for this assignment. You can search them independently or use the OR to tell the database any of those phrases in your results are acceptable.