It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GOVT 2305 TR Goss: Foundations & Principles
This guide will help you locate resources for your Federal Government course with Professor James Goss.
E-book -- The Declaration of Independence is one of the most influential documents in modern history-the inspiration for what would become the most powerful democracy in the world. Alexander Tsesis offers a deeply researched narrative that highlights the many surprising ways in which this document has influenced American politics, law, and society.
In 2002 the National Archives began working on 'Our Documents' an initiative that brought together 100 artifacts-from 1776 to 1965-representing America's journey from its founding through to the twentieth century. DEFINING DOCUMENTS highlights this extraordinary collection examining the events that prompted their writing and probing their importance with leading scholars.
E-book -- Here are the two founding documents of the United States of America: the Declaration of Independence (1776), our great revolutionary manifesto, and the Constitution (1787-88), in which "We the People" forged a new nation and built the framework for our federal republic.
Peace comes to the United States, but governing the world's newest republic is no simple task. Congress is ineffectual and individual states act like sovereign nations. By the time the Constitutional Convention convenes in 1787, many wonder if the country can survive.
Gain valuable insights into the history, formation and structure of the U.S. Constitution. By viewing it not only as a collection of principles but as a living document, they trace the Constitution's ability to deal with a variety of regional issues, from slavery and representation through modern amendments dealing with desegregation.
E-book -- This is the untold story of the most celebrated part of the Constitution. The Bill of Rights that emerges from Magliocca's fresh historical examination is a living text that means something different for each generation and reflects the great ideas of the Constitution - individual freedom, democracy, states' rights, judicial review, and national power in time of crisis.
Brief animations introduce key issues in this look back at the Bill of Rights. A host weaves together past and present, while civics experts explore the complexity of the issue of individual rights versus common good. Historical segments discuss Colonial Militias, the Intolerable Acts, Freedom of Worship, the Rights of Accused Persons, and the origins of the individual rights concept.
In "10 Things You Don't Know About," punk rock icon Henry Rollins uncovers crazy twists and tidbits behind the historical tales, figures, and places you only thought you knew. You can find images of the Founding Fathers pretty much anywhere--monuments, paintings, even your money-- but Henry Rollins is about to take your preconceived notions of these titans and turn them on their ear.
This two-hour documentary captures the amazing life and times of our nation's forgotten founding father: Alexander Hamilton. Exploring the iconic American political and financial institutions he helped to create, from the US Mint and Wall Street to the two-party political system, we'll examine Hamilton's enormous influence that still resonates today.
He is remembered for seven words: "Give me liberty of give me death." More than any other founding father he represented the power of the ordinary citizens of the new nation. Fiery, outspoken, yet personally prudent, Patrick Henry was the first voice of the American people, the pied piper of liberty.
Statesman, scientist, architect, president... he was America's dashing Renaissance man; but his personal affairs suggest a life that was anything but perfect. Put aside the textbook tales for a candid look at the unpredictable life of one of our nation's greatest leaders.
E-book -- Understanding federalism - the form of political organization that unites separate polities within an overarching political system so that all maintain their political integrity - is central to the study of democratic government in the United States. This concise and engaging book boils the discussion down to its essence: federalism is about power, specifically the tug for power among and within the various levels of government.
Video -- Using the 2000 election of George W. Bush and the uncertainties it exposed in the American electoral process as a departure point, this program examines how political parties were started, and why; methods and campaigns that were launched to elect different Presidents to office; and the history of voting and the constitutional amendments that made voting possible for all Americans.
E-book -- This one-volume reference presents the major conceptual approaches to the study of U.S. political parties and the national party system, describing the organization and behavior of U.S. political parties in thematic, narrative chapters that help undergraduate students better understand party origins, historical development, and current operations.
A tangled web of issues is involved in electing a president. Edmund Muskie, former presidential press secretary Jody Powell, party officials, and others discuss the role of political parties, the electoral college, and what to do if a president becomes disabled.
She is one of the 20th century's most respected and admired figures; a humanitarian who transformed the role of women in society and in the White House. Eleanor Roosevelt was the architect behind the now well-established tradition of the First Lady activist. A pioneer among presidents' wives, she formed her own staff, held press conferences, and defined a female agenda beyond that of a homemaker. She fought for the civil rights of women and other members of oppressed society. Yet this monumental public figure was also the unhappy wife of a philandering husband and an orphan whose family was destroyed by alcoholism. In this intimate portrait experts and scholars come together to make the important connections between Mrs. Roosevelt's public and private lives.
Hillary Rodham Clinton has become one of the most controversial first ladies since Eleanor Roosevelt. Unlike her predecessors, she has been at the center of power, formulating policy that affects the whole nation. This program traces her life and surveys the diverse reactions she elicits from both the media and "people on the street."Using archival footage and photographs, the documentary reveals a little known side of young Hillary, the good-natured and idealistic college student, popular with peers and professors. Her coming of age in the sixties and her metamorphosis from Goldwater supporter to political liberal are discussed with her mentors and fellow students. The video also shows her days as a governor's wife and the transformations she was willing to undergo to appease conservative voters.
In this program, Bill Moyers talks with one of America’s leading political and media analysts, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, dean of the Annenberg School for Communication and author of Everything You Think You Know About Politics... And Why You’re Wrong. Through astute analysis, Jamieson deconstructs more than a dozen TV commercials used by politicians and public interest groups, homing in on their visual and rhetorical methods to expose their actual agendas of issue advocacy. Together, Jamieson and Moyers discuss the significance of these ads in the contexts of future elections and American politics in general.
Viewers learn how running a campaign has turned from the noble pursuit our founders planned into a manipulative science. Although campaigns from the beginning suffered from negative rhetoric, in the age of television they have become even more harsh and a lot less truthful. Viewers learn about the fascinating roles played by political consultants and the powerful influence they have on candidates. They learn how campaigns control and manage news-media coverage and the significant role money plays in backing the candidate. This video takes students through noteworthy campaigns to look at and analyze why politicians seeking office say and do what they do.
Need More Help?
Help is just a click, email, or text away!
Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
Text us at (817) 769-6940
Schedule an appointment with the librarian to get focused, one-on-one help.
E-book -- At this critical time when individual freedoms are being weighed against the need for increased security, this exhaustive three-volume set provides the most detailed coverage of contemporary and historical issues relating to basic rights covered in the United States Constitution.
John Lewis was a Student at American Baptist Theological Seminary on the CORE Freedom Ride. May 4-17, 1961 and the Nashville, Tennessee, via Birmingham, Alabama, to Montgomery, Alabama, May 16-20, 1961.
Despite the colossal and continuing legacy of America’s civil rights era, the movement is often best understood through the historical moments in which it took place. This NBC News program presents original coverage from frontline correspondents and camera teams at work during critical junctures in America’s battle for racial equality.
Civil rights attorney Thurgood Marshall’s triumph in the 1954 Brown v. Board of Education Supreme Court decision to desegregate America’s public schools completed the final leg of an heroic journey to end legal segregation. Marshall, who went on to become the first black Supreme Court justice in 1967, made the work of civil rights pioneers like the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Rosa Parks possible, by laying the groundwork to end legal segregation and changing the American legal landscape.
Representing the largest archive of oral histories of the civil rights movement, this program offers a fascinating look at one of the defining social movements in American history - told through the personal stories of men, women, and children who lived through the turbulent period.
As a civil rights lawyer in the forties and fifties, he turned the floor of the Supreme Court into his personal battleground. As a member of the court, he presided over some of the most influential decisions in American history.