Skip to main content

GOVT 2305 TR Killingsworth: Find Articles

Databases to Try

Wondering which database to use?

That depends on what you want to find.  Knowing what you are looking for can help you choose a good database for your search.

The databases below can be a good starting place for overview and background information on your topic.

Types of Sources

 

Man with arms crossed in front of a chalkboard.

How do I if a resource is scholarly (or academic)?

Scholarly sources are often written by professors, researchers, and experts in the field with advanced degrees. They are written for other scholars, professionals, and students. Scholarly resources also use technical language of the field, almost always have a list of references, and often provide research findings and statistics.

What about popular sources?

Popular Sources:

  • are for the general population
  • avoid technical terminology and use easy-to-understand language
  • usually do not have bibliographies or references
  • often written by staff writers with little specialized knowledge
  • are written for entertainment and general knowledge

 

Source: Cornell University 

 

Video Tip

Magazine and journal articles are found using an online tool called a database.  Basically, a database acts like an online file cabinet containing many different resources that relate to each other by their subject or topic.

Search the databases to find articles from both scholarly and popular sources.

Remember:  When off campus, you must login with your Web Advisor username and password to access a database through TCC libraries.