Skip to main content

KINE 1338 SE Evans: Web Sources

This guide will provide information on resources for the study of health issues.

Fitness Tracker

Movband (order link)  - Fitness tracker order location.

Evaluating Websites

Module 1: Wellness

CDC.gov

CDC - Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity (PA), and Obesity 

CDC applies research and findings to improve people's daily lives and responds to health emergencies; Provides a system of health surveillance to monitor and prevent disease outbreaks, implement disease prevention strategies, and maintain national health statistics. 

America's Health Rankings Annual Report 2019Discussion board assignment (DB1) see Lessons on MyTCC for details.

Trust for America's HealthPromotes optimal health for every person and community and makes the prevention of illness and injury a national priority.

Module 4: Nutrition

Cronometer (Diet Analysis Tool) - 

Nutrition and Athletic Performance - ACSM Joint Position Stand 2016: This position paper was prepared for members of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Dietitians of Canada (DC), and American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), other professional associations, government agencies industry, and the public.  It outline the Academy's, DC's, and ACSM's stance on nutrition factors that have been determined to influence athletic performance and emerging trends in the field of sports nutrition.  Athletes should be referred to a registered dietitian/nutritionist for a personalized nutrition plan.

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics: Provides a wide range of materials relating to healthy eating habits; the site includes fact sheets covering a variety of weight management topics, including healthy strategies for gaining or losing weight.

Aim for a Healthy Weight (NHLBI) can help you learn how to reach and maintain a healthy weight by taking small steps to change your lifestyle. Find tips for eating well at home and on the road, and for becoming more physically active.

American Heart Association: Healthy Eating provides guidelines and tips for eating a low-fat, heart-healthy diet, including advice for shopping and eating out.

Child and Teen BMI Calculator (CDC)

Choose My Plate

Dietary Guidelines

The Food and Nutrition Information Center 

Food for Life: Cancer Project

Fruits and Veggies More Matters

Healthfinder: A gateway to online publications, websites, support groups, and agencies and organizations that produce reliable health information.

Healthy Lifestyle (Mayo Clinic)

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Obesity Education Initiative: Good information for weight loss

Nutrition.Gov A gateway to government nutrition resources on the Web.

Team USA - US Olympic Committee nutrition education materials for athletes, coaches and parents focused on athletic performance and health.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition: Supplements

The Vegetarian Resource Group

We Can!a national education program designed to give parents and communities ways to help kids stay at a healthy weight, can help your family avoid excess pounds. Get tips on choosing low-calorie snacks, getting active, and cooking fun, healthy meals. We Can!

Weight Control (MedlinePlus): Provides news and links to reliable sites with information relating to weight loss, including those covering over-the-counter diet pills and diet aids.

Weight-control Information Network (WIN): Weight Loss for Life (Good information for weight loss)

 

 

 

 

 

Module 5: Health Conditions

These four health organizations (red) cover a wide variety of diseases and health conditions.  Specific health conditions, listed below these four, are listed along with helpful links for each  condition. 

CDC - Diseases & Conditions information on diseases and conditions.

MAYO CLINIC (Diseases and Conditions)  consists of experts in content development and production, product management, and user experience and design. Because physicians, scientists and other medical experts dedicate a portion of their clinical time to this site, we are in the unique position to give you access to the knowledge and experience of Mayo Clinic.

MEDLINE PLUS - Health Topics

NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH (NIH) - Clear Health from NIH

Addiction

Coalition Against Drug Abuse: Information on various drugs and a toll-free hotline to call to speak to an addiction rehabilitation specialist.

Drug Rehab Centers Focuses on a peer-to-peer education, prevention, and activism driven organization dedicated to preventing destructive decisions, particularly underage drinking, other drug use, risky and impaired driving.

NIDA for Teens: Go to this site to learn how drugs affect the body and hear from teens who’ve struggled with addiction. This interactive web site has quizzes, videos, games, and a blog that shows the science behind drug abuse.

Alcohol

Rethinking Drinking provides research-based information about how your drinking habits can affect your health. Learn to recognize the signs of alcohol problems and ways to cut back or quit drinking. Interactive tools can also help you calculate the calories and alcohol content of drinks.

Alzheimer's & Dementia

Alzheimer's Association

Dementia Society of America

Arthritis

Arthritis Foundation

Cancer

American Cancer Society

World Cancer Research Fund

Cardiovascular Disease - Hypertension - Stroke - High Cholesterol

American Heart Association

Globorisk Online assessment for CVD (both office and lab risk options).

The Heart Truth web site can help you learn about the dangers of heart disease in women and how to lower your risk. @TheHeartTruth The Heart Truth

Know Stroke can help you learn the signs of stroke and the importance of getting to the hospital quickly. Fast medical action is key to successful recovery from stroke. Stroke strikes fast, and you should too. Know Stroke

Depression/Mental Health

Anxiety and Depression Association of America (ADAA): College Students offers advice for parents of college students who suffer from anxiety or depression.

Hope for Depression The mission of the Hope for Depression Research Foundation (HDRF) is to fund cutting-edge, scientific research into the origins, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of depression and its related mood and other emotional disorders – bipolar disorder, postpartum depression, post-traumatic stress syndrome, anxiety disorder and suicide.

National Alliance on Mental Illness nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness. 

Diabetes

American Diabetes Association

American Association of Diabetes Educators 

Metabolic Syndrome

The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) - Metabolic Syndrome

American Heart Association - Metabolic Syndrome

Osteoporosis

The Bone Resource Center provides information about the role of bones in your body and what you can do to protect them. Learn from interactive tools, find out about bone disorders, and get ideas to help kids build strong bones.

Parkinson's Disease

Parkinson's Foundation is a leading national presence in Parkinson’s disease research, education and public advocacy.

Michael J. Fox Foundation The Michael J. Fox Foundation is dedicated to finding a cure for Parkinson's disease through an aggressively funded research agenda and to ensuring the development of improved therapies for those living with Parkinson's today.

Tobacco

American Cancer Society (ACS): Tobacco and CancerIncludes guidelines for quitting tobacco use and maintaining nonsmoking.

American Lung Association: information on lung diseases and tobacco control, including cessation products.

Cost of Smoking Calculator

National Cancer Institute: Smoking Publications: Includes online brochures on many tobacco topics, including strategies and products for quitting.

Nicotine Anonymous A twelve-step program focusing on nicotine addiction; site includes information on finding a local meeting.

Smokefree.gov can help you or someone you care about quit smoking. Use the step-by-step quit guide, talk to an expert, and find other tools to help you quit.

Smoking Cessation (MedlinePlus): Provides links to news and information about smoking cessation from reliable sources.

Stop Tabac: An online quitting program that features computer-generated counseling letters based on stages of change model levels of motivation; offered in English, French, German, Danish, and Italian.

SmokeFree.gov: Provides a variety of resources for quitting, including an online program.

Other Health Websites

General Health

American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) - Position Stands for various conditions and populations.

Center for Wellness without Borders

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (www.cdc.gov) is the leading federal agency for preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability.

FamilyDoctor (www.familydoctor.org) is sponsored by the American Academy of Family Physicians, the nation's largest association of family doctors.

Harvard School of Public Health

Health Fraud (Medline Plus): Provides news and links to information on fraudulent health products and services.

Mayo Clinic website (www.mayoclinic.com/health-information) is part of the world's first and the largest not-for-profit medical practice.

MedlinePlus (medlineplus.gov) is a patient health website sponsored by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

National Institutes of Health

National Institutes of Health (NIH): Health Information Index: Includes consumer publications, hotline information, and an A to Z listing of health issues with links to the appropriate NIH institute.

National Institutes of Health Science-Based Health & Wellness Resources for Your Community (www.nih.gov/health/wellness/) The NIH's ultimate goal is to improve the nation's health through medical research. Check out these resources — based on our scientific findings — that can help you or a loved one on your path to improved health and well-being.

Office on Women's Health

National Women’s Health Resource Center

NIH News in Health provides practical health information based on NIH research. This monthly newsletter can help you eat healthier, move more, and learn the science behind medical topics like acupuncture, menopause, and heart disease. NIH News in Health

National Institute on Aging features research-based information about a range of health issues for older adults. Learn about healthy aging with short, easily accessible information in a variety of formats.

The Office of Minority Health  the mission of the Office of Minority Health is to improve the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.

Talking to Your Doctor links you to NIH resources that can help you make the most of your conversations with your doctor. Communication is key to good health care. Get tips for asking questions and talking openly about your symptoms and concerns.

Time Management Quiz (Mind Tools)

Time Management Tools (Mind Tools)

WebMD (www.webmd.com) is the leading provider of health information and recognized for timely and accurate medical journalism.
 

Complementary & Alternative Medicine

NIH’s National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (http://nccam.nih.gov/health) provides evidence-based information about therapies and practices such as acupuncture, chiropractic, massage, and herbal supplements. Learn about the research and be an informed consumer. @NCCAM National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine

The Office of Cancer Complementary and Alternative Medicine (www.cam.cancer.gov) within the National Cancer Institute focuses on the use of complementary and alternative medicine in treating cancers.

Office of Dietary Supplements (NIH) can teach you how to choose and use dietary supplements wisely. This site provides reliable answers to common questions. You can also download a free mobile app for the iPhone or iPad to track supplements you take to share with your doctor. @NIH_ODS

Quackwatch(www.quackwatch.org), an alternative medicine watchdog, reports on health related frauds and misconduct, taking a hardline stand on claims that are not substantiated by objective scientific evidence.
 

Evidence-Based Reviews of Healthcare

Clinical Preventive Services 

Community Preventive Services

Cochrane Reviews 

Apps

Download these apps from your favorite app store or the web. All of the apps listed below have a free version.

Health and Wellness Apps

Charity Miles: Charity Miles is a socially-driven, for-profit company connecting charities, individuals, and corporate sponsors to create social change. Our product is an iPhone/Android app enabling you to earn money for charity every time you walk, run, bike, skip, dance or do any human-centered activity.

Fitocracy (available for Android & Apple): Track your workouts, earn points, and unlock achievements while accessing the knowledge of fitness coaches, nutrition experts, and people from all levels of fitness. 

Fooducate (available for Android & Apple): Learn to make healthier food choices by scanning the barcodes of food and viewing a simple evaluation of the ingredients. This app will even suggest healthier alternatives. 

HealthWatch360 (available for Android & Apple): Discover how your health, diet, and lifestyle interact. HealthWatch 360 monitors over 30 nutrients, 500 symptoms, and your calorie count. Colorful charts help you easily track patterns and interactions. 

iMuscle 2 (available for Android & Apple): Teach anatomy and physiology of muscle movement as well as suggesting exercises with a variety of equipment and body weight to help you target particular muscles. These apps are no longer free. 

The Johnson & Johnson Official 7 Minute Workout (available for Android & Apple): This customizable workout app includes 36 exercises and 12 additional workouts that can create more than 1,000 variations. These workouts are designed to be safe and can be done anywhere.  

Lose It (available for Android & Apple): This app creates a personalized weight loss plan that fits your life. It uses peer support and calorie tracking to motivate and inform you so you can achieve your goals. 

MapMyWalk/MapMyRun/MapMyFitness (available for Android & Apple): Use these apps to map your fitness routes, track your activity, log your food, and share your progress with friends.  

MyFitnessPal (available for Android & Apple): Count calories and track foods with MyFitnessPal. This app features a social aspect so you can get support from others to meet your goals. 

             Nike Training Club (free, but more workouts on paid version). Expertly designed workouts from our world-class Nike Master Trainers. 

RunKeeper (available for Android & Apple): RunKeeper tracks your runs, walks, bike rides, training workouts and other fitness activities using the GPS in your phone. It also calculates pace, distance, and calorie burn and gives you audio updates while you work out. Use it alone or in combination with other apps. 


General Apps

Blackboard Mobile Learn (available for Android & Apple): This app gives you access to classes on myTCC. View and add Discussion Board threads, submit assignments, and check announcements from your phone or tablet

           Dropbox (available for Android & Apple):  Online storage site.  Can access all your files from anywhere, on any device, and            share them with anyone.

Dragon Dictation (available for Apple): Dictate your notes to this app and let it do the typing for you. Once you are finished dictating, you can email the file to yourself and edit as needed.   

EasyBib (available for Android & Apple): EasyBib is one of the most widely used citation generators. The app allows you to scan a book's UPC and generate a citation. You can then email or export your citation.    

Evernote (available for Android & Apple): Evernote lets you type notes and attach photos, websites, or articles which are collected in notebooks. This mobile and online app syncs across all platforms.

Genius Scan (available for Android & Apple): Genius Scan uses your camera to create a PDF of a document that you can email to yourself. Use it to save yourself copier fees. 

Google Drive (available for Android & Apple): Store and organize up to 15 GB of documents, photos, videos, and more. 

 

Haiku Deck (available for Apple & Web): This app is an alternative to PowerPoint presentations. It aims to help you create presentations which are simple, beautiful, and fun.

iTunes U (available for Apple & Web): This app gives you access to the content of iTunes U, a collection of free learning resources in many subjects from institutions around the world.  

Noteledge (available for Android & Apple): Use this app to take notes, draw, share your ideas, and increase your productivity.  

 

Quizlet (available for Android & Apple): Access free study tools and practice test questions for a variety of subjects with the Quizlet app.

Wunderlist (available for Android and Apple): Create to-do lists with subtasks and share them with others. This app also has an online version that will sync with your other devices.