Skip to main content

KINE 1338 SE Evans: Find Sources

This page contains links and information to guide you to credible sources for your passion projects.

How to Find Sources

Every database has a purpose, but some are better for your class's assignments than others. Since the TCC Libraries have more than 200 databases, it can be hard to pick the right one for your topic. The databases listed below may be particularly useful to you for this class. 

 

Sample PubMed Searches

 

If you are having trouble finding resources for your topic, please try the ProQuest database below. Its research coverage is much broader than the health databases listed above. 

Sometimes your instructors at TCC will direct you to limit your research to scholarly, academic, refereed, or peer-reviewed journals. Peer review is a process designed to ensure the highest level of accuracy possible. Other experts in the author's field review an article before it is published and provide criticism and feedback to improve the article. The author often revises the article based on this feedback before it is published.

A number of library databases will enable you to limit your searches to academic journals. It's as simple as putting a checkmark in the appropriate box, as illustrated below.

 

 Scholarly Journals Search

You should be wary of using Google to find health information due to the amount of incorrect or biased information found on the open internet. However, there may be times when you are looking for information from government agencies such as the NIH, research by kinesiology departments at other schools, or professional organizations. In these situations, you can quickly and easily limit your search results with the commands site:gov, site:edu, or site:org. When added to a Google search, these limit your search results to these website suffixes. Use caution with the .org websites. Although many professional organization websites may end in .org, there are no limits or restrictions on who can obtain a .org, so it is not a guarantee of quality.

site:gov Google example

Step-By-Step Guide to Sources for Your Project

The videos below will give you some quick tips about finding sources for your project. However, each topic is different and will require its own unique strategy. If you have questions, please feel free to contact your librarian for this class, Tracey Robinson, or use the Get Help tab on the library homepage to email, text, or chat immediately with a librarian. 

If you are having problems playing the videos, click to view them on YouTube.

How to Pick a High Quality Resource

Using Google to Find Sources

Using the Library to Find Sources