Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

National Nurses Month 2020: Nursing Databases

Learn more about nursing to celebrate the brave and compassionate individuals who choose to be nurses!

Library Databases for Nursing

CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) contains the full-text of allied health and nursing journals dating all the way back to 1937. Though you can search CINAHL with key words like a Google search, you also have the option to use CINAHL subject headings to more quickly narrow down clinical queries. Another unique feature of CINAHL is Evidence-Based Care Sheets, available from the option at the top of each page.

Text-Based CINAHL Heading Help

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is an EBSCOhost database with 550 full-text journals in nursing and other allied health disciplines. 

Lexicomp Online is a drug information database that gives you information about dosing, adverse reactions and interactions. There are also photos to help you identify drugs.

 

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health has a strong set of full-text journals for nursing and allied health students. The search interface is less advanced than CINAHL, but this can be a good resource when you cannot find what you need there. Nursing and Allied Health additionally contains ebooks, images, and videos.

 

 

Nursing Reference Center is designed to provide clinical information to nurses. It includes full-text articles, patient handouts, and how to perform clinical procedures.

 

PubMed is a free database sponsored by the NIH. It provides an excellent way to search the Medline database. Like CINAHL, PubMed can be searched with subject headings. PubMed's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) are similar to CINAHL headings, but they are not exactly the same. Researchers funded by many federal and private grants are required to make their results available through the connected full-text repository, PubMed Central (PMC). Because of this, PubMed is one of the most frequently used databases in clinical and research settings. 

Learn how to use PubMed with an interactive tutorial

undefined