It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's History Month 2021: In the Library
Join TCC and the libraries in recognizing the accomplishments and contributions of women in American history.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Print Book List
See the list below for Women's History books that are held in the TCC Libraries. These books are available NOW for checkout via curbside/front door pickup!
More than 40 contemporary women, of all ages and races, share their own story in the form of memoirs and autobiographies.
Print Books Gallery
New York Times Bestseller Featured in the critically acclaimed documentary RBG "It was beyond my wildest imagination that I would one day become the 'Notorious RBG." -- Ruth Bader Ginsburg, 2019 She was a fierce dissenter with a serious collar game. A legendary, self-described "flaming feminist litigator" who made the world more equal. And an intergenerational icon affectionately known as the Notorious RBG. As the nation mourns the loss of Ruth Bader Ginsburg, discover the story of a remarkable woman and learn how to carry on her legacy.
The Truths We Hold
A New York Times bestseller From Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris, one of America's most inspiring political leaders, a book about the core truths that unite us, and the long struggle to discern what those truths are and how best to act upon them, in her own life and across the life of our country Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris's commitment to speaking truth is informed by her upbringing.
1001 Things Everyone Should Know about Women's History
From Queen Elizabeth I to Helen Keller to Marie Curie, from the Bread and Roses Strike of 1912 to women's suffrage, the essential, exciting, and esoteric people, places, issues, and events of women's history are all covered in this newest addition to the successful 1001 series. 100 photos.
100 Women Who Made History
If you thought that it was a man's world, think again! 100 Women Who Made History is the exciting story of the women who changed the world. Learn about the different remarkable women in the past: - Clued-up creatives - Super scientists - Learning ladies - Intrepid entrepreneurs - Amazing achievers 100 Women Who Made History is part of the 100 Who Made History book series. Explore the most important people in history and how they contributed to significant attributes of the past that have helped to shape the past into our present.
Fighting chance : the struggle over woman suffrage and Black suffrage in Reconstruction America
This book lists the 100 most influential women chronologically. It begins with Hatshepsut and ends with Diana, Princess of Wales. Overall, the selections offer a good balance of gender, nationality, and ethnicity.
A Black Women's History of the United States
A vibrant and empowering history that emphasizes the perspectives and stories of African American women to show how they are--and have always been--instrumental in shaping our country In centering Black women's stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American women and to show their allies that Black women's unique ability to make their own communities while combatting centuries of oppression is an essential component in our continued resistance to systemic racism and sexism.
In "Rosa Parks, " "the best of the new generation of American historians" (Stephen Ambrose) brilliantly examines an American heroine in the context of the tumultuous time of the Civil Rights movement.
Four generations of women fought for the right to vote. This book shows how their grand reform effort overcame resistance from traditionalists fearing social decay, religious leaders citing scriptural prohibitions, and a stodgy political establishment reluctant to share power.
Until recently, Rosa Parks's personal papers were unavailable to the public. In this compelling new book from the Library of Congress, where the Parks Collection is housed, the civil rights icon is revealed for the first time in print through her private manuscripts and handwritten notes. Rosa Parks: In Her Own Words illumines her inner thoughts, her ongoing struggles, and how she came to be the person who stood up by sitting down.
Part of a fully indexed 20-volume collection which gathers together significant research contributions on the social, religious and political history of women in the United States, from colonial times to the 1990s.
"Women's Rights" spans the breadth of American history, from Native American women prior to colonization to women during the Revolution, Antebellum period, the Civil War, and the Gilded Age. Coverage of the 20th century moves from the Progressive Era to the Great Depression and World War II; from the emergence of modern feminism to the present. Throughout, it offers fascinating details of ordinary and extraordinary lives while charting the evolving roles of women in American society.
Collins chronicles a history-spanning book rich in detail, filled with fascinating characters and 400 years of women--dolls, drudges, helpmates, and heroines.
Ruth Bader Ginsburg
A ?New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Books of 2017 Award Winner! To become the first female Jewish Supreme Court Justice, the unsinkable Ruth Bader Ginsburg had to overcome countless injustices. Growing up in Brooklyn in the 1930s and '40s, Ginsburg was discouraged from working by her father, who thought a woman's place was in the home. Regardless, she went to Cornell University, where men outnumbered women four to one. Ginsburg went on to become Columbia Law School's first tenured female professor, a judge for the US Court of Appeals, and finally, a Supreme Court Justice.
Rosa Parks made her mark in history when she was arrested for refusing to give up her seat to a white man on a Montgomery, Alabama, bus--an arrest that sparked the civil rights movement in America. Yet her work didn't end there. She continued to fight for fair treatment for African Americans her whole life. "TIME For Kids"(R) Biographies help make a connection between the lives of past heroes and the events of today. By taking a stand for what she believed in, Rosa Parks helped pave the way for advances in civil rights that are now enjoyed by all Americans.
A Brief History of Feminism
An engaging illustrated history of feminism from antiquity through third-wave feminism, featuring Sappho, Mary Magdalene, Mary Wollstonecraft, Sojourner Truth, Simone de Beauvoir, and many others. The history of feminism? The right to vote, Susan B. Anthony, Gloria Steinem, white pantsuits?. It covers the beginnings of an organized women's movement in the nineteenth century, second-wave Feminism, queer feminism, and third-wave Feminism.
Selling Women's History
Selling Women's History reveals how, from the 1900s to the 1970s, popular culture helped teach Americans about the accomplishments of their foremothers, promoting an awareness of women's wide-ranging capabilities. Their feminist work challenged sexist assumptions about women's subordinate roles. Rather than presuming a drought of female agency between the first and second waves of American feminism, it reveals the subtle messages about women's empowerment that flooded the marketplace.
Sojourner Truth first gained prominence at an 1851 Akron, Ohio, women's rights conference, saying, "Dat man over dar say dat woman needs to be helped into carriages, and lifted over ditches... Nobody eber helps me into carriages, or ober mud-puddles . . . and ar'n't I a woman?" Sojourner Truth: ex-slave and fiery abolitionist, figure of imposing physique, riveting preacher and spellbinding singer who dazzled listeners with her wit and originality. Straight-talking and unsentimental, Truth became a national symbol for strong black women--indeed, for all strong women.
Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Ruth Bader Ginsburg overcame discrimination and tragedy to become the second female justice on the U.S. Supreme Court. Raised in a working-class family in Brooklyn, New York, she graduated with a law degree from Columbia University. Despite her accomplishments, she found many doors of opportunity closed to her as a Jewish woman. Undaunted, she became one of the nation's first female law professors. During her years on the Supreme Court, Ginsburg has cemented her legacy as one of the most influential figures in American legal history. In Ruth Bader Ginsburg: U.S. Supreme Court Justice, learn how this trailblazing woman overcame obstacles to secure her position on the highest court in the United States.
American Women's History: a Very Short Introduction
In 1607, Powhatan teenager Pocahontas first encountered English settlers when John Smith was brought to her village as a captive. In 1920, the ratification of the 19th Amendment gave women the constitutional right to vote. Between each of these signal points runs the multi-layered experience of American women, from pre-colonization to the present. In American Women's History: A Very Short Introduction Susan Ware emphasizes the richly diverse experiences of American women as they were shaped by factors such as race, class, religion, geographical location, age, and sexual orientation.
Superheroes Are Everywhere
From Vice President Kamala Harris comes a picture book with an empowering message: Superheroes are all around us--and if we try, we can all be heroes too. Now a #1 New York Times bestseller! Before Kamala Harris was elected to the vice presidency, she was a little girl who loved superheroes. In this empowering and joyful picture book that speaks directly to kids, Kamala Harris takes readers through her life and shows them that the power to make the world a better place is inside all of us.: "This [book] offers a solid message: a superhero could be anyone, including you." --Booklist
This simple narrative of an extraordinary life explores the power of a disinterested commitment to right and truth. Sojourner Truth: A Biography traces this remarkable woman's life from her birth through adulthood and to her death in 1883. Her story serves as a prism through which readers will better understand how these complex matters were adjudicated in 19th-century America.
Women's Rights, Second Edition is part of the Global Issues series, which is designed to be a first-stop resource for research on the key challenges facing the world today. Each volume contains three sections, beginning with an introduction that clearly defines the issue, followed by detailed case studies of the issue's impact in the United States and several other countries or regions. The second section draws together significant U.S. and international primary source documents, and the third section gathers useful research tools such as brief biographies, facts and figures, an annotated bibliography, and more.