It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hover over the information symbol after the title for details about the book. You must be logged in to your myTCC account to access the books.
Asperger Syndrome (Autism Spectrum Disorder) and Long-Term Relationships, 2nd ed. by Ashley Stanford; Liane Holliday Willey (Foreword by)Happily married to her husband with Asperger Syndrome for 25 years, Ashley Stanford is an expert on how Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) can affect a relationship and her bestselling book has helped thousands of couples. Brought fully up to date, this second edition clarifies the new DSM-5 diagnostic criteria and explains how, without a solid awareness of the condition, ASD behaviors can easily be misinterpreted. Stanford's book provides a wealth of strategies for living with the more uncompromising aspects of ASD, pointing out that ASD also brings enormous strengths to a relationship. It shows how understanding the intentions, motivations and reasoning behind ASD behaviors can lead to better communication, relief of tension, and ultimately to a happier, more mutually fulfilling relationship.
Publication Date: 2014-10-21
Autisim, Adolesence and Adulthood by BarberGuide book designed to give parents and caregivers of teenage autistic youth hope and a wealth of sound, usable information and insights that will help them guide their children to adequate adult independence.
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Autism and Diet by Rosemary KessickParents have been reporting a connection between autism and diet for decades, but for many years the science behind the connection was evasive. Today, we see a growing body of research to back up parental-reported evidence that certain foods and other environmental sources can affect the developing brains of some children, and trigger adverse behavioural episodes. Written by an autism expert who has witnessed in her own child the dramatic improvement that can be made through dietary intervention, this book offers an 'easily digestible' guide to the science behind the considerations; strategies for implementing a safe diet; a handy list of ingredients to be avoided; as well as a concise bank of essential resources and useful contacts. This book offers an accessibly concise guide to all aspects of dietary invention in children with autism, and is an ideal resource for parents, teachers and any other family member or caregiver who needs to know how to help implement a safe and healthy diet for an autistic child.
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Autism and Environmental Factors by Omar Bagasra; Donald G. Pace; Cherilyn Heggen; Muhammad I. Hossain (Illustrator)Explores environmental factors during fetal development that may contribute to autism It is well documented that in the majority of the cases, an autistic child's brain has acquired the genetic and organismal abnormalities that were initiated during the first trimester of their gestational period. Yet, scientists still don't know what is causing these abnormalities; this book explains how the human brain develops and what the critical stages are in which a fetal brain may acquire genetic and developmental abnormalities. It presents scientific data supporting previous anecdotal observations to attempt to understand the complex puzzle that is autism. From chemical fragrances to herbicides, synthetic chemicals are abundant in everyday life and this book examines the evidence surrounding these chemicals and their effects, including on the developing human brain and how that might explain certain characteristics observed in autism. Discussing various aspects of potential ASD causing factors, Autism and Environmental Factors brings together as many pieces of the autism puzzle as possible in one place to begin to clarify the picture and spark discussion to ensure a safe environment for everyone, especially our developing children. Discusses the genetic and environmental factors that may contribute to autism Covers how the human brain develops and the critical stages in which a fetal brain may acquire genetic and developmental abnormalities Describes the rapid proliferation of synthetic chemicals in our modern world and the effects on the developing human brain--endocrine-disturbing chemicals that alter DNA, epigenetics, and hormones Written in a clear and accessible style Autism and Environmental Factors is an important book for researchers and students in neuroscience, neuroanatomy, developmental neurobiology and anyone focusing on autism research.
Publication Date: 2018-02-16
Autism and Its Medical Management by Michael ChezAutism and its Medical Management explains the medical aspects of autism and how both parents and professionals can use current medical knowledge to better understand how to address the medical aspects of autism. The book begins with an overview of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASDs) and how they are diagnosed, and goes on to identify the different types of autism and to describe relevant medical interventions. The author also provides an outline of recent research to enable parents and professionals to gain an understanding of the various factors that may contribute to the development of ASDs, as well as the latest available treatment options. Bridging the communication gap between medical professionals and parents, this book offers accessible explanations of medical terminology and treatment relevant to ASDs and is an important tool for parents and professionals working with children with ASDs.
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Autism Spectrum Disorder by Francis TaboneOne out of every 68 persons is diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). In addition, about 1 percent of the world population is afflicted with this condition. There is a vast amount of conjecture surrounding the topic of autism, so it is crucial to make sure relevant and appropriate information is accessible to those living on the spectrum as well as to those closest to them. In Autism: The Ultimate Teen Guide, Francis Tabone provides a comprehensive look at autism spectrum disorder. Designed to help teens and their families gain a social, medical, and historical understanding of ASD, this book addresses the factors that have influenced the treatment of this condition. Featuring stories and quotes from teens and young adults who live with ASD, this book helps readers gain insight into the ASD brain and how it affects individuals. Topics covered in this book include -understanding behavioral elements -the origins and history of the term "Autism" -a neurological look at the various disorders on the spectrum -various types of treatment -how to interact with a person on the spectrum -accomplished people living with a disorder on the spectrum Firmly grounding this subject in facts while providing advice for those affected by ASD--both directly and indirectly--this book will be of interest to young adults of autism as well as to their family members and friends. As a result, readers will better understand how to interact and work with those with ASD as well as gain a broader acceptance of those who may be different. With helpful advice and a list of resources, Autism: The Ultimate Teen Guide is a much needed book for anyone wanting to know more about Autism Spectrum Disorder.
Publication Date: 2016-08-04
The Early Identification of Autism Spectrum Disorders by Patricia O'Brien TowleIdentifying Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) as early as possible can have a significant, positive impact on the child's journey to adaptation and independence. Yet too few diagnoses take place at an early, developmentally crucial stage. This unique visual guide aims to equip readers with the skills to recognise ASD in children as young as 15-18 months old. The book provides a systematic framework for understanding the complex nature of ASD. From social interaction to communication to restricted and repetitive behaviors, each chapter focuses on key symptoms and uses photographs to illustrate and enhance understanding of presenting or absent behaviors. It is written in an accessible style and covers all of the core aspects of ASD, giving readers everything they need to be able to successfully identify the behavioral indicators of autism. A final chapter provides an overview of assessment options for young children being evaluated for possible ASD. Taking a visual approach to identifying ASD in very young children, this book will be a valuable resource for early intervention professionals and students, occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, psychologists, paediatricians, teachers as well as parents of children pre- and post-diagnosis.
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
Food Refusal and Avoidant Eating in Children with Autism and Other Conditions by Gillian Harris; Elizabeth SheaMany children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) have a restricted dietary range, and this book provides parents with advice and training on how to deal with this condition and achieve a healthier and more balanced diet. Now described as Avoidant or Restrictive Food Intake Disorder (ARFID), it is due to sensory hypersensitivity, and it can impact upon the health of the child, upon the family, and upon social integration. Based upon successful training packages the authors provide for parents and professionals, this book enables the reader to understand the condition and work with it, gradually increasing the range of food a child is able to eat. It includes 'box outs' with case studies, points of interest and action points to make this an accessible and resourceful read.
Publication Date: 2018-07-19
The Hidden World of Autism by Uttom Chowdhury (Foreword by); Rebecca ChilversA celebration of the talents and insights of children on the autism spectrum, The Hidden World of Autism presents a collection of writings and drawings contributed by 21 autistic children. The children's work covers topics that are of primary importance in understanding some of the common experiences that children with autism, and their families, go through. These include life before diagnosis, friendships, relationships, feelings, bullying and the future. A key characteristic of having autism is the inability to express emotions; but too often that prevents children with autism from being listened to. This book gives them both a voice and a forum for creative expression and provides direct insight into what having autism means for the children themselves and how they feel about their experiences. This unique collection provides invaluable insights into the autistic experience for professionals, families and friends of children with autism, as well as the children themselves.
Publication Date: 2007-11-15
How People with Autism Grieve, and How to Help by Deborah LipskyThe book is an honest, first-hand account of how people with autism deal with the loss of someone in their life. Unlike the non-autistic response, people with autism, when faced with overwhelming or stressful situations, will favour solitude over sharing their emotions, tend to focus on special interests, and become extremely logical, often not expressing any emotion. This behaviour often leads to the belief that people with autism lack empathy, which is far from the case. Through the description of personal experience, and case studies, the book explores how people with autism feel and express the loss of a loved one, how they process and come to terms with their feelings of grief, and offers practical and detailed advice to parents and carers on a range of sensitive issues. These include clear instructions on how best to support someone with autism through the grieving process, how to prepare them for bad news, how to break the bad news, how to involve them in the funeral or wake, and how best to respond to later reactions. The final chapter explores the issue of why children and teens with autism can be drawn to death as a special interest, and explains that the interest is not normally a morbid one.
Publication Date: 2013-07-28
How to Understand Autism - The Easy Way by Alexander DurigIn this clear and accessible introduction to autism, Alex Durig provides a host of ideas and examples that enable the reader to understand the phenomenon of autism, recognize different kinds of autistic perception and behaviour, and prepare for interaction with autistic people. To help `normal' people understand and lose their fear of autism, Durig discusses the notions of `slight' autism, being or becoming `autism-friendly', and the mental well-being of autistic people. The author explains how autistic perception `works' and how it yields autistic behaviours', to enable readers to see the world through the eyes of an autistic person, and thus change the way they perceive autism.
Publication Date: 2004-11-17
I Am Special by Peter VermeulenI am Special is a workbook developed by Peter Vermeulen and already used extensively with young people with autism spectrum disorder. The workbook is designed for a child to work through with an adult - parent, teacher or other professional. Unlike other books, its content and layout are devised especially for children who read, think and process information differently. I am Special is divided into two parts. The first is a theoretical introduction that explains how to inform children that they have autism or Asperger Syndrome and how to use the worksheets with groups or individuals. The second part consists of a series of worksheets which the child works through with an adult to create a unique and personal book about him or herself. It includes a series of exercises that present autism positively. They strike a balance between general facts, information about autism and personal information, covering the strengths an autistic person may have as well as the difficulties they may face. I am Special can be used with young people over the age of ten years. Not only is it an excellent source of information for the autistic child; it can be the first step in a process of counselling or psychotherapy or the springboard for a discussion group on autism.
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Imagining Autism by Sonya Freeman LoftisA disorder that is only just beginning to find a place in disability studies and activism, autism remains in large part a mystery, giving rise to both fear and fascination. Sonya Freeman Loftis's groundbreaking study examines literary representations of autism or autistic behavior to discover what impact they have had on cultural stereotypes, autistic culture, and the identity politics of autism. Imagining Autism looks at fictional characters (and an author or two) widely understood as autistic, ranging from Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes and Harper Lee's Boo Radley to Mark Haddon's boy detective Christopher Boone and Steig Larsson's Lisbeth Salander. The silent figure trapped inside himself, the savant made famous by his other-worldly intellect, the brilliant detective linked to the criminal mastermind by their common neurology--these characters become protean symbols, stand-ins for the chaotic forces of inspiration, contagion, and disorder. They are also part of the imagined lives of the autistic, argues Loftis, sometimes for good, sometimes threatening to undermine self-identity and the activism of the autistic community.
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
People with Autism Behaving Badly by John ClementsPeople with autism spectrum conditions may often behave in ways that cause difficulties for themselves and those who care for them. People with Autism Behaving Badly offers effective, long-term strategies to help resolve common problem behaviors such as physical aggression, self-injury, verbal abuse, rudeness and property damage. The book is organized around the common messages conveyed by behaviors and some of the underlying issues that drive these messages. Practical ideas for intervention are provided and illustrated by case examples. A range of exercises help to build understanding of the issues and detail appropriate plans. A log book helps to track what has been tried and what has been learned. In addition the author explores the role of relationship `styles' that can help reduce challenging behaviors and encourage positive ones. Realistic information about working together with individuals, families and outside agencies, and about the pros and cons of medication, is also included. This hands-on, practical manual is indispensable for families, carers and anyone involved with autistic people who need help with behavioral or emotional challenges.
Publication Date: 2005-03-15
A Practical Guide to Autism by Fred R. Volkmar; Lisa A. Weisner; Lisa A. WiesnerAutism is in the public spotlight now more than ever as newresearch and information appears almost daily. Although in manyways this is a positive development it also presents challenges tofamilies and practitioners who want to keep up with the latestdevelopments and are left to sift through new information bythemselves to see what is credible and relevant for them.Each of usneeds a personal research assistant who can determine whichinformation we need to pay attention to and let us know how itmight affect our daily work and the children we are living with orserve. Since we each don?t have our own research assistants onstaff, I am delighted to recommend this wonderful book by FredVolkmar and Lisa Wiesner. Both of these talented professionalleaders have combined their scientific skills and understanding ofthe field with great practical experience and ideas about howresearch can be translated into clinical practice. The result is abook that provides the best and most comprehensive informationabout recent scientific developments and a splendid practical guidefor how they are being implemented and what we are learning in theprocess. The issues are presented in all of their complexity buttranslated into language that is clear, direct, and easy to follow.The format also lends itself to understanding the complex issuesand their implications through excellent charts, question andanswer sections, and chapters that vary from describing diagnosticissues to stating very specifically how to expand and evaluate theservices one is receiving. The comprehensive references and listsof additional resources also add greatly to the overallpackage. As a professional dedicated to understanding scientific advancesand helping families and teachers to utilize them most effectively,I am very pleased to have an ally like this book available. I amvery grateful to the authors for providing a very credible,practical, and relevant addition to our field to help the manyadvocates and family practitioners to better understand theexciting new developments and how they can be implemented in ourday to day work. Those taking the time to read through this superbvolume will find it time well spent that pays back dividends inmany different ways. ?FOREWORD by Gary B. Mesibov, Ph.D., Professor andDirector of TEACCH, Treatment and Education of Autistic and RelatedCommunication Handicapped Children University of North Carolina atChapel Hill
Publication Date: 2009-08-17
Practical Strategies for Supporting Young Learners with Autism Spectrum Disorder by Tricia Shelton; Mary Jalongo (As told to)The prevalance of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is growing tremendously in early childhood classrooms. To support students with ASD, educators can draw on strategies that incorporate best practices as well as recognize individual strengths and needs. Practical Strategies for Supporting Young Learners with Autism Spectrum Disorder showcases the diverse capabilities of students with ASD and prepares early childhood educators to work effectively with students ages 3-5 with pervasive developmental disorders (PDD). Descriptive examples and interactive activities guide teachers to understand how these disorders affect student progress and how educators can tap into student potential. Each chapter offers several strategies to address specific academic, social, and behavioral needs common to many young children with ASD. The strategies are easy to follow and accompanied by teacher tips, sample resources, and relevant student goals.
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
At the top of the guide, hover over information symbol after the title for details.
Autism by Oxford University Press Staff (Editor); Uta FrithWhat causes autism? Is it a genetic disorder, or due to some unknown environmental hazard? Are we facing an autism epidemic? What are the main symptoms, and how does it relate to Asperger syndrome? Everyone has heard of autism, but the disorder itself is little understood. It has captured thepublic imagination through films and novels portraying individuals with baffling combinations of disability and extraordinary talent, and yet the reality is more often that it places a heavy burden on sufferers and their families. This Very Short Introduction offers a clear statement on what iscurrently known about autism and Asperger syndrome. Explaining the vast array of different conditions that hide behind these two labels, and looking at symptoms from the full spectrum of autistic disorders, it explores the possible causes for the apparent rise in autism and also evaluates the linkswith neuroscience, psychology, brain development, genetics, and environmental causes including MMR and Thimerosal. This Very Short Introduction also explores the psychology behind social impariment and savantism, and sheds light on what it is like to live inside the mind of the sufferer.
Publication Date: 2008-11-15
Autism Breakthrough by Raun K. KaufmanAs a boy, Raun Kaufman was diagnosed by multiple experts as severely autistic, with an IQ below 30, and destined to spend his life in an institution. Years later, Raun graduated with a degree in Biomedical Ethics from Brown University and has become a passionate and articulate autism expert and educator with no trace of his former condition. So what happened? Thanks to The Son-Rise Program, a revolutionary method created by his parents, Raun experienced a full recovery from autism. (His story was recounted in the best-selling bookSon-Rise: The Miracle Continues and in the award-winning NBC television movieSon-Rise: A Miracle of Love.) InAutism Breakthrough, Raun presents the ground-breaking principles behind the program that helped him and thousands of other families with special children. Autism, he explains, is frequently misunderstood as a behavioral disorder when, in fact, it is a social relational disorder. Raun explains what it feels like to be autistic and shows how and why The Son-Rise Program works. A step-by-step guide with clear, practical strategies that readers can apply immediately--in some cases, parents see changes in their children in as little as one day--Autism Breakthrough makes it possible for these special children to defy their original often-very-limited prognoses. Parents and educators learn how to enable their children to create meaningful, caring relationships, vastly expand their communications, and to participate successfully in the world. An important work of hope, science, and progress,Autism Breakthrough presents the powerful ideas and practical applications that have already changed the lives of families all over the world.
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
The Autism Spectrum, Sexuality and the Law by Tony Attwood; Isabelle Henault; Nick DubinBased on Nick Dubin's own experience, and drawing on the extensive knowledge of Dr Tony Attwood and Dr Isabelle Hénault, this important book addresses the issues surrounding the autism spectrum, sexuality and the law. The complex world of sex and appropriate sexual behaviour can be extremely challenging for people with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and, without guidance, many find themselves in vulnerable situations. This book examines how the ASD profile typically affects sexuality and how sexual development differs between the general population and those with ASD. It explains the legalities of sexual behaviour, how laws differ from country to country, and the possibility for adjustment of existing laws as they are applied to the ASD population. With advice on how to help people with autism spectrum disorder gain a better understanding of sexuality and a comprehensive list of resources, the book highlights the need for a more informed societal approach to the psychosexual development of people with ASD. A ground-breaking and honest account, this book will be an invaluable addition to the shelves of parents of children with ASD, mental health and legal professionals, teachers, carers and other professionals working with individuals on the spectrum.
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
Can I Tell You about Autism? by Jude Welton; Glenys Jones (Foreword by); Jane Telford (Illustrator)Meet Tom - a young boy with autism. Tom invites readers to learn about autism from his perspective, helping them to understand what it is and explaining the challenges he faces with issues such as social communication, sensory overload and changes in his routine. Tom tells readers about all the ways he can be helped and supported by those around him. This illustrated book is ideally suited for readers aged 7 and upwards, and will be an excellent way to increase understanding about autism, in the classroom or at home. It also includes clear, useful information for parents and professionals.
Publication Date: 2014-03-21
Difference Not Disorder by Catherine Harvey; Kevin McFadden (Illustrator)Interventions and educational approaches for children with autism spectrum disorders have developed in response to the different models for how autism has been constructed and understood. This book explores the evolving theories on autism and how these have impacted the interventions and outcomes in education. Drawing on 30 years of professional experience and detailed research, Harvey exposes the myths around autism, advocates for understanding autism as difference rather than impairment, and provides practical guidance on teaching and learning, behaviour management, addressing sensory and physical needs of children with ASD. This accessible overview shows how to put autism research into practice, learn from historic mistakes and create the most supportive environment for children on the autism spectrum.
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
In a Different Key by John Donvan; Caren ZuckerFinalist for the 2017 Pulitzer Prize in General Nonfiction An extraordinary narrative history of autism: the riveting story of parents fighting for their children 's civil rights; of doctors struggling to define autism; of ingenuity, self-advocacy, and profound social change. Nearly seventy-five years ago, Donald Triplett of Forest, Mississippi, became the first child diagnosed with autism. Beginning with his family's odyssey, In a Different Key tells the extraordinary story of this often misunderstood condition, and of the civil rights battles waged by the families of those who have it. Unfolding over decades, it is a beautifully rendered history of ordinary people determined to secure a place in the world for those with autism--by liberating children from dank institutions, campaigning for their right to go to school, challenging expert opinion on what it means to have autism, and persuading society to accept those who are different. It is the story of women like Ruth Sullivan, who rebelled against a medical establishment that blamed cold and rejecting "refrigerator mothers" for causing autism; and of fathers who pushed scientists to dig harder for treatments. Many others played starring roles too: doctors like Leo Kanner, who pioneered our understanding of autism; lawyers like Tom Gilhool, who took the families' battle for education to the courtroom; scientists who sparred over how to treat autism; and those with autism, like Temple Grandin, Alex Plank, and Ari Ne'eman, who explained their inner worlds and championed the philosophy of neurodiversity. This is also a story of fierce controversies--from the question of whether there is truly an autism "epidemic," and whether vaccines played a part in it; to scandals involving "facilitated communication," one of many treatments that have proved to be blind alleys; to stark disagreements about whether scientists should pursue a cure for autism. There are dark turns too: we learn about experimenters feeding LSD to children with autism, or shocking them with electricity to change their behavi∨ and the authors reveal compelling evidence that Hans Asperger, discoverer of the syndrome named after him, participated in the Nazi program that consigned disabled children to death. By turns intimate and panoramic, In a Different Key takes us on a journey from an era when families were shamed and children were condemned to institutions to one in which a cadre of people with autism push not simply for inclusion, but for a new understanding of autism: as difference rather than disability.
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Library Services for Youth with Autism Spectrum Disorder by Lesley S. J. FarmerAutism is now the second most commonly diagnosed serious developmental disability, and the number of children identified as autistic continues to grow. Introducing what autism spectrum disorders are, and identifying the great need to build and manage programs for different youth with these disorders, Farmer offers librarians in or outside a school environment all the information they need to build a library literacy program geared towards these children. Designed to both awaken sensitivities of library staff and address the questions of those who are already aware of the issue, this bookShows how children with this diagnosis are increasingly mainstreamed into traditional library and school programs and identifies the special needs and issues they face in a library settingEquips readers to meet the needs of young library users who are autistic with practical tools for training library staff, teachers, and volunteers Explains hyperlexia, the main barrier to the development of literacy among these children, and how programs using sensory experiences can strengthen both literacy skills and socializationProposes strategies for using library design to ensure that materials and resources are accessible to all patronsIncluding a glossary of terms and bibliography of additional resources, Farmer's book is an important tool for raising awareness and supporting literacy development for children with these disorders in the library setting.
Publication Date: 2013-05-10
M Is for Autism by Vicky Martin; Robert Pritchett (Foreword by); The Students of Limpsfield Grange SchoolM. That's what I'd like you to call me please. I'll tell you why later. Welcome to M's world. It's tipsy-turvy, sweet and sour, and the beast of anxiety lurks outside classrooms ready to pounce. M just wants to be like other teenagers her age who always know what to say and what to do. So why does it feel like she lives on a different plane of existence to everyone else? Written by the students of Limpsfield Grange, a school for girls with Autism Spectrum Disorder with communication and interaction difficulties, M is for Autism draws on real life experiences to create a heartfelt and humorous novel that captures the highs and lows of being different in a world of normal.
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
NeuroTribes by Steve Silberman; Oliver Sacks (Foreword by)A New York Times bestseller Winner of the 2015 Samuel Johnson Prize for non-fiction A groundbreaking book that upends conventional thinking about autism and suggests a broader model for acceptance, understanding, and full participation in society for people who think differently. What is autism? A lifelong disability, or a naturally occurring form of cognitive difference akin to certain forms of genius? In truth, it is all of these things and more--and the future of our society depends on our understanding it. WIRED reporter Steve Silberman unearths the secret history of autism, long suppressed by the same clinicians who became famous for discovering it, and finds surprising answers to the crucial question of why the number of diagnoses has soared in recent years. Going back to the earliest days of autism research and chronicling the brave and lonely journey of autistic people and their families through the decades, Silberman provides long-sought solutions to the autism puzzle, while mapping out a path for our society toward a more humane world in which people with learning differences and those who love them have access to the resources they need to live happier, healthier, more secure, and more meaningful lives. Along the way, he reveals the untold story of Hans Asperger, the father of Asperger's syndrome, whose "little professors" were targeted by the darkest social-engineering experiment in human history; exposes the covert campaign by child psychiatrist Leo Kanner to suppress knowledge of the autism spectrum for fifty years; and casts light on the growing movement of "neurodiversity" activists seeking respect, support, technological innovation, accommodations in the workplace and in education, and the right to self-determination for those with cognitive differences.
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
Not My Boy! by Rodney Peete; Danelle Morton (As told to)An inspirational memoir chronicling former NFL quarterback Rodney Peete's struggles and triumphs while raising an autistic son. In Not My Boy! Peete offers not only a heartrending and candid look into his personal journey with his son's autism, but offers a first-of-it's-kind road map to help other families facing similar challenges. Effectively woven into Peete's moving account are the powerful voices, insights and dreams of other fathers (high profile as well as unknown) who've navigated similarly difficult paths.
Publication Date: 2010-03-16
Sensory Issues for Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder by Diarmuid Heffernan; Luke Beardon (Foreword by)Understanding sensory issues can be the key to overcoming them. Using this practical guide, individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASDs) can begin to understand their sensory difficulties and learn how to create a tailored plan for overcoming specific everyday challenges. Learn how the senses work and how sensory systems can function differently for people with ASD, leading to sensory perceptual issues. What are the difficulties that can arise at work, college, home, or in public or cyber spaces? Practical strategies and creating a unique 'sensory plan', based on frequently encountered environments and situations, will help any adult with ASD to overcome these sensory difficulties.
Publication Date: 2016-02-21
Social Skills Training for Children with Asperger Syndrome and High-Functioning Autism by Susan Williams WhiteThis practical, research-based guide provides a wealth of tools and strategies for implementing social skills training in school or clinical settings. Numerous case examples illustrate common social difficulties experienced by children with high-functioning autism spectrum disorders (ASD) and Asperger syndrome; the impact on peer relationships, school performance, and behavior; and how social skills training can help. Chapters delve into the nuts and bolts of teaching and reinforcing core skills in classroom, small-group, or individual contexts, emphasizing ways to tailor interventions to each individual's needs. Reproducible forms and worksheets can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size.
Publication Date: 2013-12-09
Understanding Autism by Katrina Williams; Jacqueline RobertsThis is the essential reference for parents and carers of children with autism. Written by two leading experts in the field, it covers everything from the causes of autism to how it manifests at the various ages and stages of a child's life, as well as diet and nutrition, the importance of self-care for parents, how to cope with common problematic behaviors, conditions that can often appear in conjunction with autism (such as anxiety and depression), and how best to manage the child's transition to adulthood. The authors' warm, supportive voice reassures parents throughout, sorting fact from myth as they provide all the key information in a clear, easily understood format.
Publication Date: 2015-06-25
Uniquely Human by Barry M. Prizant; Tom Fields-Meyer (As told to)A groundbreaking book on autism, by one of the world's leading experts, who portrays autism as a unique way of being human--this is "required reading....Breathtakingly simple and profoundly positive" (Chicago Tribune). Autism therapy typically focuses on ridding individuals of "autistic" symptoms such as difficulties interacting socially, problems in communicating, sensory challenges, and repetitive behavior patterns. Now Dr. Barry M. Prizant offers a new and compelling paradigm: the most successful approaches to autism don't aim at fixing a person by eliminating symptoms, but rather seeking to understand the individual's experience and what underlies the behavior. "A must-read for anyone touched by autism... Dr. Prizant's Uniquely Human is a crucial step in promoting better understanding and a more humane approach" (Associated Press). Instead of classifying "autistic" behaviors as signs of pathology, Dr. Prizant sees them as part of a range of strategies to cope with a world that feels chaotic and overwhelming. Rather than curb these behaviors, it's better to enhance abilities, build on strengths, and offer supports that will lead to more desirable behavior and a better quality of life. "A remarkable approach to autism....A truly impactful, necessary book" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), Uniquely Human offers inspiration and practical advice drawn from Dr. Prizant's four-decade career. It conveys a deep respect for people with autism and their own unique qualities. Filled with humanity and wisdom, Uniquely Human "should reassure parents and caregivers of kids with autism and any other disability that their kids are not broken, but, indeed, special" (Booklist, starred review).
Publication Date: 2015-08-04
Find books, e-books, videos, and DVD
Ebooks at TCC Guide
Ebooks at TCC:
The purpose of this guide is to discuss how to find and use ebooks for research.