Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1301 NE Petree: Databases

Databases

Databases are an excellent source for information that easily passes the CAARP test.

  • The best databases for many ENGL 1301 assignments are located under the News and Controversial Issues subject heading on the TCC Library website.
  1. Simply click the dropdown list labeled By Subject - List of Databases under the TCC Article Databases side of the website.
  2. Look for News and Controversial Issues on the dropdown list. 

 

Recommended databases:

Under the News and Controversial Issues topic, there are two types of databases. 

Issues databases, such as Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints and SIRS Issues Researcher, are designed for the types of assignments you will do in ENGL 1301. You do not need to structure a search. You will go to a list of topics and choose the one that is the closest to what you want to do. The database has already organized information for that particular topic. Use an issues database if you need help picking a topic or you have chosen a topic you do not know much about. 

Sometimes you will pick a topic that is not covered in the issues databases or you need specific information. In these cases, the multi-subject databases are good places to search. Good multi-subject databases to try are ProQuest and Academic Search Complete. These databases cover all kinds of information, but you will need to know how to structure a search in these databases. Remember to just pick the major concepts. For example, if I wanted to know about how climate change might affect Hawaii's beaches, I might search on "climate change AND Hawaii AND sea level". 

 

Good Resources by Subject

Using Library Databases

Finding Articles in Periodicals: Select one of the databases from the box above. 

Off-Campus Note: If you are using a computer outside the TCC network, you will be redirected to a login page after you select one of the database services. The login page will give you specific instructions on entering your user name and password. If you have problems signing on, contact the library staff for assistance.

I Found An Article, Now What?

Once you find an article you want to use for your assignment, you may read it online, print it, email to your email account or save it to disk. The information is the same for all. Be sure if you are printing, emailing, or saving it to disk, that you check the box to include full text.

Caution: Be careful when emailing a PDF article, because those files can be quite large. Many email/Internet providers have strict limits on the size of messages and attachments, and oversized PDF attachments might be deleted automatically by your email server or exceed your available mailbox space.

Your MyTCC email address follows this format: username@my.tccd.edu 

For instance, if yourMyTCC username is marion.librarian25667

then your MyTCC email address is: marion.librarian25667@my.tccd.edu

Once you have selected the database and followed any login instructions, enter your search terms. You can perform a basic or advanced search. The basic search is further divided by keywords or exact phrases. For most searches, basic keyword combinations [Example: privacy and terrorism] are sufficient. If you need to limit your results to "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" journals only, check the box labeled "peer-reviewed." In addition, check the box labeled "full text" (if available) so you will only get articles that include the full text.

Document formats: Once you have completed your search and are viewing the result list, you will notice that many articles are available in different formats.

  • HTML Full Text - This format includes just the text of the article and has limited graphics. This is the best choice if you do not need the included images or graphics, or you are saving/emailing the article and need to conserve space on your computer disk or in your mailbox.
  • PDF or Full Page Image - A scanned image that displays the article just as it appeared in the magazine or journal. It will include any charts, graphics, and pictures that appeared with the original article. This can be useful if you are looking for visual aids. Viewing a PDF requires the free Acrobat Reader.

If the documents are not what you are looking for, click on "Refine Search" and try other terms. Try searching synonyms, using specific phrases for exact searches, or use the Expand Search to locate related words.