...paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
A website from A&E Television Network. Features biographies, fast facts, a quiz, information about the Harlem Renaissance and an interactive tour of the legendary Apollo Theater.
I Have a Dream, from PBS. Includes learning activities and teacher guides.
Examine the entirety of the African American experience, and celebrates the achievements of many individual African Americans. From the Encyclopedia Britannica.
In tracing its 100-year history, the NAACP reflects on the impact of the Civil Rights Movement, the Voting Rights Act and the Anti-Lynching Bill.
We take the opportunity of African American History Month to highlight just some of the properties that exemplify the contributions of African American culture and achievement.
2021 Black History Month Virtual Festival
The site features over 2,000 curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
The collection is comprised of 568 issues of three weekly newspaper titles dating between 1847 and 1874: The North Star in Rochester, New York, Frederick Douglass' Paper in Rochester, New York, and New National Era in Washington, D.C
A history of the month from the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH)
This project by the New York Times Magazine in 2019 examines the legacy of slavery in the United States
FREE Access to this collection for the Month of February 2019, Black History Month. After you login to this resource (AAHSC) to using your public library card, click on the Black History Month link.
The Power List accumulates data on books written or read by African Americans and compiles that information into a quarterly best-selling books list. It is a joint project established by AALBC.com and Cushcity.com. “The Power List” is published four times per year, in the spring, summer, fall and winter.
An exclusive peek at photos from Henry Louis Gates Jr.'s compendium, Life Upon These Shores.
Free digital platform that brings together content documenting African American history and culture in order to enable the creation of new works—research projects, scholarship, curricula, art of all kinds—that illuminate parts of our history that have not been enough broadly accessible.
The Hutchins Center for African & African American Research supports research on the history and culture of people of African descent the world over and provides a forum for collaboration and the ongoing exchange of ideas.
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change.
The Museum of African American History is dedicated to preserving, conserving and accurately interpreting the contributions of African Americans in New England from the colonial period through the 19th century.
The National Museum of African American Music (NMAAM) will showcase over 50 music genres created or impacted by African Americans, honor the legacy and legends of this diverse music and detail the impact this music has on musicians and consumers around the world.
From the Archives Library Information Center.
...the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.
Serves to inspire modern abolition through connecting the lessons of the Underground Railroad with today’s freedom fighters.
The African American Planning Commission (AAPC) Inc., is a New York City-based nonprofit organization committed to reducing homelessness and addressing the related issues of domestic violence, HIV/AIDS, mental illness, substance abuse, shortage of affordable housing, and unemployment in the communities in which we live and serve.
The American Association of Blacks in Energy is a national association of energy professionals founded and dedicated to ensuring the input of African Americans and other minorities into the discussions and developments of energy policies, regulations, R&D technologies and environmental issues.
The Association of Black Psychologists was established to promote and advance the profession of African Psychology, influence and affect social change and develop programs whereby psychologists of African descent can assist in solving problems of Black communities and other ethnic groups.
Blacks In Technology is the largest community and media organization that focuses on black women and black men in the technology industry. Through community-focused activities, events and media, Blacks In Technology (BIT) is “Stomping the Divide” by establishing a blueprint of world-class technical excellence and innovation by providing resources and guidance.
ColorComm is an essential organization for women of color in all areas of communications including Public Relations, Corporate Communications, Advertising Print Media, Broadcast, Digital and more.
The Executive Leadership Council is the preeminent member organization for the development of global black leaders. The mission is to increase the number of successful black executives — both domestically and internationally — by adding value to their development, leadership, and philanthropic endeavors throughout the life-cycle of their careers thereby strengthening their companies, organizations, and communities.
ITSMF's mission is to increase the representation of black professionals at senior levels in technology, to impact organizational innovation and growth. By 2020, ITSMF will graduate 500 professionals through a series of rich, development, and career-advancing programs.
The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies is a nonprofit public policy organization that produces innovative, high-impact ideas, research, and policy solutions that have a positive impact on people and communities of color. The Joint Center does this by building and fueling a nonpartisan network of innovative elected and appointed officials of color and scholars for whom this goal is a priority. The Joint Center uses policy roundtables, research reports, and targeted media to reach key audiences of innovative officials of color and other thought leaders.
NACME’s mission is to increase the number of successful African American, American Indian, and Latino young women and men in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education and careers.
The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure the political, educational, social and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate racial hatred and racial discrimination.
The National Association of African Americans in Human Resources (NAAAHR), is an inspirational and unique career development and networking organization for Black and African American human resources practitioners that provides networking, career opportunities, educational and professional development, mentorship and coaching and tools, tips and resources.
The National Association of Black Accountants is a nonprofit membership association dedicated to bridging the opportunity gap for people of color in the Accounting, Finance, Consulting, Information Technology and other related business professions.
The National Association of Black Journalists was founded in 1975 and is an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of African-American journalists worldwide.
The National Black Chamber of Commerce, incorporated in Washington, D.C. in March 1993, represents 95,000 African-American–owned businesses and provides advocacy that reaches one million African-American-owned businesses. From the original 14 chapters the NBCC has grown to over 200 chapters located in 40 states and 50 nations. It is the largest Black business association in the world. The National Black Chamber of Commerce is dedicated to economically empowering and sustaining African-American communities through entrepreneurship and capitalistic activity within the US and via interaction with the African Diaspora.
NBJC is America's leading national Black LGBT civil rights organization focused on federal public policy. The mission is to end racism and homophobia. NBJC provides leadership at the intersection of national civil rights groups and LGBT organizations, advocating for the unique challenges and needs of the African American LGBT community.
The National Black MBA Association is dedicated to developing partnerships that result in the creation of intellectual and economic wealth in the African-American community. The National Black MBA Association, which has more than 9,000 members and represents more than 300 corporate partners, operates around three cornerstones—education, employment and leadership. To date, NBMBAA was awarded over $5 million in scholarships to deserving youth and minority students.
The National Black Nurses Association’s mission is “To represent and provide a forum for black nurses to advocate for and implement strategies to ensure access to the highest quality of healthcare for persons of color.”
The National Bar Association was founded in 1925 and is the nation's oldest and largest national network of predominantly African-American attorneys and judges. The NBA is organized around 23 substantive law sections, 9 divisions, 12 regions and 80 affiliate chapters throughout the United States and around the world.
The National Council of Negro Women is an assembly of national African-American women’s organizations and community-based sections. Founded in 1935, the NCNW’s mission is to lead, develop and advocate for women of African descent as they support their families and communities. NCNW fulfills this purpose through research, advocacy and national and community-based services and programs on issues of health, education and economic empowerment in the United States and Africa.
The mission of the National Coalition of 100 Black Women is to develop leaders who will help to rebuild their communities and redirect the energies of younger African-Americans in those communities. The purpose of the Coalition is to foster principles of equal rights and opportunities, promote the awareness of Black culture, develop the potential of the membership for effective leadership and participation in civic affairs, take action on specific issues of national and international importance, and cooperate with other persons and organizations to achieve mutual goals.
The National Medical Association promotes the collective interests of physicians and patients of African descent. The organization is a leading force for parity in medicine, the elimination of health disparities and the promotion of optimal health.
The National Society of Black Engineers’ mission is to increase the number of culturally responsible African-American engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally and positively impact the community. With over 30,000 members around the world, NSBE is one of the largest student-governed organizations based in the United States.
The mission of the National Society of Black Physicists is to promote the professional well-being of African American physicists and physics students within the international scientific community and within society at large. The organization seeks to develop and support efforts to increase opportunities for African Americans in physics and to increase their numbers and the visibility of their scientific work. The organization develops activities and programs that highlight the benefits of the scientific contributions that African American physicists provide for the international community.
The National Urban League is a civil-rights organization focused on the economic empowerment of underserved urban communities. The National Urban League works through 100 local affiliates in 36 states and the District of Columbia to provide programming, public policy research and advocacy designed to improve the lives of more than 2 million people nationwide.
The Partnership, Inc. is New England's premier organization dedicated to enhancing the economic competitiveness of the region by attracting, developing, retaining and convening professionals of color. The Partnership has helped corporations gain a competitive edge by developing a culturally inclusive workplace. Their corporate partners are distinguishing themselves with employers who have different backgrounds, ideas and perspectives and as a result provide diversity of thought. Founded in 1987, The Partnership provides state of the art executive leadership development programs to help professionals of color reach their full potential. During our 31 year history, The Partnership has developed 4,000+ alumni and collaborated with more than 300 corporate partners.
The Organization of Black Designers is a non-profit national professional association dedicated to promoting the visibility, education, empowerment and interaction of its membership and the understanding and value that diverse design perspectives contribute to world culture and commerce. The Organization of Black Designers is the first national organization dedicated to addressing the unique needs of African-American design professionals.
The United Negro College Fund is the nation’s largest, oldest, most successful and most comprehensive minority higher-education assistance organization. The UNCF provides a range of support to keep academic programs strong and tuition affordable for 37 member historically African-American colleges and universities. As a result of this support, member institutions educate more than 50,000 students each year and have produced more than 430,000 graduates with the help of UNCF.
The U.S. Black Chambers, Inc. (USBC) provides committed, visionary leadership and advocacy in the realization of economic empowerment. Through the creation of resources and initiatives, we support African-American Chambers of Commerce and business organizations in their work of developing and growing Black enterprises. The USBC is an association of more than 100 self-sustaining Black Chambers and small business associations nationwide and serves close to 250,000 small businesses.
The mission of 100 Black Men of America is to improve the quality of life and enhance educational and economic opportunities for all African Americans.