BIOL 2421 Microbiology Unknown SE: Databases

Databases are organized, searchable collections of information. 

Library Databases

• Contain sources you can trust, including peer-reviewed and scholarly journals  
• Have been evaluated and selected for their authoritative and reliable content
• Reduce time spent searching 

To Find Database Articles

• Go to http://library.tccd.edu
• Look on the right side of the page for TCC Article Databases
• Click on "Browse Subjects"
  

Choose "Health and Nursing" or "Science" from the drop-down list to see a list of related databases. The right database for you to use will depend on your topic. If you have problems finding what you need, ask a librarian or try PMC, a database of free federally funded research articles.  

Every database has a purpose, but some are better for your class's assignments than others. These databases may be particularly useful to you for this assignment. 

• AGRICOLA: Citations from the USDA’s National Agricultural Library, good for information about microorganisms that infect animals or crops  

• CINAHL Complete: A major academic allied health/nursing database, good for information about microorganisms that infect people

• Health and Medicine: Contains encyclopedias and news as well as academic information; good for information about microorganisms that infect people

• Health and Wellness from Gale: Easy to use because information is organized by topic links; good for information about microorganisms that infect people

• Nursing and Allied Health: Contains encyclopedias and news as well as academic information; good for information about organisms that infect people

• ProQuest: General academic database for information about any type of microorganism

• PubMed: The major medical database; good for information about any type of microorganism, but all information is written at the professional level