Skip to main content

BIOL 2420 Microbiology SE: Articles

Why use Library Databases?

Library databases are organized, searchable collections of high-quality information. Databases save you time and money because you can quickly find what you need and the library has already purchased access to scholarly content. 

To Find Articles

  • Go to http://library.tccd.edu
  • Look on the right side of the page for TCC Article Databases
  • Click on "Browse Subjects"


    Choose "Health and Nursing" or "Science" from the drop-down list to see related databases. The right database for you will depend on your topic. Please refer to the list on the right side of the page for suggested databases. If you have problems finding what you need, ask a librarian or try PMC, a database of free federally funded research articles.  
     
  •  

 

Recommended Databases

Every database has a purpose, but some are better for your class's assignments than others. These databases may be particularly useful to you for this assignment. 

Choosing Search Terms for Articles

Good search strategies to find articles usually contain between two and four concepts. For example, measles AND symptoms are two concepts. Together, they make a complete search strategy. The AND helps the database combine the concepts correctly. If you search on your strategy and get too many results, add another concept to narrow your results. If you get too few results, remove a concept or brainstorm alternate wordings to search for the same information. Searching on rubeola AND symptoms, for example, is another way to find similar information. Rubeola is the virus that causes measles.