Skip to main content

Southeast Campus Sustainability : Resources for Students

Resources for making your life more sustainable or for working on school assignments related to sustainability.

Databases: Search for Articles and Ebooks

Remember you will need to log in with your myTCC username and password if you are off campus!

The right database to search for scholarly articles depends on the assignment. Below are some of the more relevant ones for sustainability research. 

 Gale's Environmental Studies and Policy Collection includes journals and book content focusing on environmental  concerns. 

 

 GreenFILE from EBSCOhost includes scholarly, government, and general interest information on global warming,  green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

 

 Gale in Context: Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and the environment, sustainability and more.

These resources are broader in content but have information relevant to sustainability.

AGRICOLA contains journal articles, book chapters, reports, and much more from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agriculture Library. It includes information on food production and environmental science. 

 

Gale in Context: Science includes topic overviews, journal articles, experiments, and multimedia on a variety of science topics. 

 

Proquest's SciTech Premium Collection includes journal articles, reports, trade journal articles, and much more on a variety of science topics. 

 

Related Research Guides and Ready Research

Research Guides

Earth Day Playlist

Check out this playlist of songs related to sustainability and nature while you study:

Books

Plastic Soup

Plastic Soup: An Atlas of Ocean Pollution is a beautifully-illustrated survey of the plastics clogging our seas, their impacts on wildlife and people around the world, and inspirational initiatives designed to tackle the problem.

The Future We Choose

Climate change: it is arguably the most urgent and consequential issue humankind has ever faced. How we address it in the next thirty years will determine the kind of world we will live in and will bequeath to our children and to theirs.

War on the Epa

Delving into the science, politics, and human dimension of these and other problems, the book illustrates the challenges of regulation, how today's war on science is undermining the scientific foundation upon which the agency's legitimacy rests, and why a strong U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is more important than ever before.

Being the Change

Alarmed by drastic changes now occurring in the Earth's climate systems, the author, a climate scientist and suburban father of two, embarked on a journey to change his life and the world. He began by bicycling, growing food, meditating, and making other simple, fulfilling changes. Ultimately, he slashed his climate impact to under a tenth of the US average and became happier in the process. Being the Change explores the connections between our individual daily actions and our collective predicament.

Sustainability

A concise and accessible examination of sustainability in a range of contemporary contexts, from economic development to government policy.

Sustainability Made Simple

Sustainability Made Simple is an introduction to sustainability and sustainable living that explores the relationship between everyday life and the intricate global environmental issues of today, including air and water pollution, deforestation, and climate change.

Climate-Wise Landscaping

What can we do, right now, in our own landscapes, to help solve climate change? Sue Reed and Ginny Stibolt offer a rallying cry in response - instead of wringing our hands, let's roll up our sleeves. Based on decades of experience, this book is packed with simple, practical steps anyone can take to beautify any landscape or garden, while helping protect the planet and the species that call it home.

Sustainable Home

An inspirational and practical guidebook to maintaining a more environmentally friendly household.