Skip to main content

myTCC / Blackboard: Create a Search Box

Using Database Search Boxes

More vendors are providing widgets allowing for the creation of database-specific search boxes that can be embedded into Blackboard and web sites.

Below are some examples of your options.  If you are interested in putting these into your course, follow the directions provided or contact your librarian for help. 

EBSCO - http://support.ebscohost.com/eit/sbb.php/

You can create a search box for a single database or a selection of databases.

Databases available include: Academic Source Premier, AGRICOLA, America: History & Life, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EconLit, Fish & Fisheries Worldwide, GreenFile, Historical Abstracts, Hospitality & Tourism Index, International Bibliography of Theater & Dance Full Text, MLA International Bibliography, Music Index, NTIS, PsycINFO, Race Relations Abstracts and Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide.

Information needed:

  • Select EBSCOhost Research Databases as the Interface
  • Enter the Proxy prefix:  http://ezp.tccd.edu/login?url=
  • Select IP Address as the Method of Authentication

GALE - http://access.gale.com/widgets/

Databases available include: Gale’s PowerSearch 2.0, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Academic OneFile, Business & Company Resource Center, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Gale Directory Library, General OneFile, Health & Wellness Resource Center, Health Reference Center Academic and Informe.

Information needed:

  • location ID : txshracd2560

JSTOR - http://about.jstor.org/sites/default/files/misc/JSTOR%20Search%20Widget.pdf​

Information needed:

  • proxy prefix: http://ezp.tccd.edu/login?url=