Skip to Main Content
Academic Learning Center- NE Writing Center
Academic Learning Center- NE Writing Center: Essay Handouts
Printable handouts on essays
Blackboard Club Site
Helpful Links for ESL & ESOL
Links for Various Tutorials
Five Paragraph Basics
TCC- NE Comp I & II Five Paragraph
This handout offers a general guide for the five paragraph essay.
This paper explains how to write an introductory paragraph.
You will find a guide to writing a strong thesis statement with this paper.
This handout explains paragraphs and offers tips on writing them.
This handout explains the importance of transitions and provides a list of transitional expressions to use.
After you have the introduction and body paragraphs, you need a strong conclusion.
Checklist of the Four Steps in Writng an Effective Essay
This handout provides a checklist to help you evaluate your essay.
Making the Most of College Writing Assignments
This handout gives some guidelines to more advanced writing techniques.
Sample Outline for a Five-Paragraph Essay
This paper provides a sample for a five-paragraph essay.
The Sentence Outline
This paper give some rules for making and outline.
Common Types of Essays
This hand out will give you tips for writing a descriptive essay and a list of descriptive terms.
This paper will guide you through writing a narrative essay.
Cause and Effect Essay
This paper offers some tips on creating a cause and effect essay.
Compare and Contrast
This paper provides tips on compare and contrast papers and includes a form to get you started.
This paper explains how to write a definition.
Writing a Summary
This document provides tips on writing a summary.
This handout explains argumentative writing and how to use reasoning and logic.
This paper will guide you through writing a classification essay.
Process Paper or The How To Paper
This handout explains how to write paper about how to do something or how something works.
Tips For Various Papers
This handout provides tips for writing various types of papers.
This handout will give you ideas for journal entries.
Drama, Literature, and Poetry
Writing About Drama
This handout provides tips for writing about plays.
Writing About Literature
This handout gives information to help you write about literature.
Writing About Poetry
This paper will guide you through poetry terms.
Glossary of Literary Terms
This paper provides definitions of terms used in literature and poetry.
Symbols and Archetypes
This handout lists some common symbols and tips on writing about them.
This paper guides writers through writing a literary criticism paper.
Workshop Videos >>
May 27, 2021 5:49 PM