Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Poetry Month at TCC: Digital Resources

Celebrate the 25th anniversary of National Poetry Month!

These poetry e-books are part of TCC's National Poetry Month digital collection.
Click on any book cover to access the book online, or click the link below to view the full collection.

 

E-books

If They Come for Us

Poet and co-creator of the Emmy-nominated web series Brown Girls captures her experience as a Pakistani Muslim woman in contemporary America, while exploring identity, violence, and healing.

Lord of the Butterflies

Andrea Gibson's latest collection is a masterful showcase from the poet whose writing and performances have captured the hearts of millions. With artful and nuanced looks at gender, romance, loss, and family, Lord of the Butterflies is a new peak in Gibson's career.

El Libro de Los Muertos

This books presents selected poems by worldwide renowned, Colombian born, author Jaime Manrique Ardila. It includes the best of forty two years of writing and five poetry collections.

La poesía de Jaime Manrique se desarrolla dentro de un clima cultural muy diferente al nuestro: el clima de la cultura norteamericana.

What I Say

What I Say: Innovative Poetry by Black Writers in America is the second book in a landmark two-volume anthology that explodes narrow definitions of African American poetry by examining experimental poems often excluded from previous scholarship.

Midnight Salvage

In these astonishing new poems, Adrienne Rich dares to look and to extend her poetic language as witness to the treasures-the midnight salvage-we rescue from fear and violence.

Grace Notes

The title of the collection serves as an umbrella for the intimate concerns expressed in the forty-eight poems; in music, grace notes are those added to the basic melody, the embellishments that--if played or sung at the right moment with just the right touch--can break your heart.

The Adoption Papers

Forward Prize for Best First Collection'Jackie Kay tells the story of a black girl's adoption by a white Scottish couple - from three different viewpoints: the mother, the birth mother and the daughter. This unique and honest volume of poems has been adapted for radio.

How to Write a Poem

An innovative introduction to writing poetry designed for students of creative writing and budding poets alike.

When Angels Speak of Love

From writer, critic, and popular cultural icon bell hooks comes a seductive portrait of passion in fifty soul-stirring poems. When Angels Speak of Love heralds the debut of a major new poet: bell hooks.

Milk and Honey

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

Shut Up Slow Down Let Go Breathe

Half wisecracking tour guide and half flirtatious trick, the poems in Shut Up Slow Down Let Go Breathe examine how we respond to overwork, anxiety, and overstimulation. McCann's third collection speaks to a world that is too busy and too anxious, delivering the material with zero reverence and with loads of self-deprecating, disarming, observational--and sometimes catty--humour. Inviting readers to be his "bandmates / on life's slutty bus tour," Shut Up Slow Down Let Go Breathe marks a fresh new direction in Marcus McCann's poetics.

Soft Science

Soft Science explores queer, Asian American femininity. A series of Turing Test-inspired poems grounds its exploration of questions not just of identity, but of consciousness--how to be tender and feeling and still survive a violent world filled with artificial intelligence and automation. We are dropped straight into the tangled intersections of technology, violence, erasure, agency, gender, and loneliness.

Appalachian Elegy

Author, activist, feminist, teacher, and artist bell hooks is celebrated as one of the nation's leading intellectuals. In Appalachian Elegy, bell hooks continues her work as an imagist of life's harsh realities in a collection of poems inspired by her childhood in the isolated hills and hidden hollows of Kentucky. At once meditative, confessional, and political, this poignant volume draws the reader deep into the experience of living in Appalachia.