Research Guides: BIOL 1409 Biology for Non-Science Majors II: Ebooks and Websites

Recommended Ebooks

Below are some selected ebooks and quick reference guides that will assist you with BIOL 1409 concepts. You can work through these books on your computer or another device any time you want to practice.

50 Biology Ideas You Really Need to Know by J.V. Chamaray
Also in print at SE Campus, Call Number: QH309 C43 2015
Biology by BarCharts
Quick reference guide
Biology: A Self-Teaching Guide by Steven D. Garber
For students preparing for exams or individuals who want to review material from years past, the step-by-step format is designed to help students and teachers alike easily understand complex concepts, key terms, and frequently asked questions.
Biology Essentials for Dummies by Rene Fester Kratz; Donna Rae Siegfried
From identifying the structures and functions of plants and animals to grasping the crucial discoveries in evolutionary, reproductive, and ecological biology, this easy-to-follow guide lets you skip the suffering and score high at exam time.
Biology Success in 20 Minutes a Day by LearningExpress Staff
You will need to create a free Learning Express account to access
Biology Super Review by Research and Education Association Editors
Comprehensive coverage covers the material that students must know about biology. Each topic is presented in a clear and easy-to-understand format that makes learning easier.
High School Biology Unlocked by Princeton Review Staff
Review high school biology content
Tools for Critical Thinking in Biology by Stephen H. Jenkins
Textbook for non-science majors

Library Databases

If you need to research any BIOL 1409 topics, the following library databases may be helpful. If you have any questions, please Ask a Librarian!

Gale Academic ONEFile: Biology Topics
Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Science, academic journals, magazines, images, and news.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subjects, including general and subject dictionaries as well as encyclopedias.
TexShare
College : Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
features a multitude of full text articles from periodicals, academic journals, reference books, newspapers, primary sources, creative works designed to meet the needs of college freshman and sophomores. Multimedia content is also included.
TCCD
Environmental Studies and Policy : Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy collection is a digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.
TCCD
Environmental Studies : Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: environmental Studies, formerly called GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources), is a new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
TCCD

A selection of topics from Environmental Studies: Gale in Context is below. Topics are added and updated regularly.

Science: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
a collection of full text articles, topic overviews, and experiments from academic journals, magazines, reference books and other types of publications. Also included are videos, images, and other multmedia material.
TexShare

A selection of topics from Science: Gale in Context is below. Topics are added and updated regularly.

Health and Wellness from Gale This link opens in a new window
Gale Health and Wellness provides instant access to carefully compiled medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
TCCD
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
National Geographic magazine is the official journal of the National Geographic Society, one of the world's largest nonprofit educational and scientific organizations. Recognized for some of the highest-quality photojournalism and cartography in the world, this award-winning, iconic magazine is famous for providing unparalleled, in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment. Featuring the complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, National Geographic Magazine Archive includes every page and every photograph, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface.
TCCD
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
indexes articles covering various subjects from thousands of periodicals, many full text, full image format.
TCCD

Practice Tests, More Ebooks, and Tutorials

Mometrix Test Preparation This link opens in a new window
TCCD

You will have to search within Mometrix for study materials, but it is well worth the effort!

Mometrix Academy: Click the link to Mometrix Academy on the left side of the Mometrix homepage and scroll down to the Subject Review section. The Biology Review has video tutorials on various concepts.
Search Box: Use the search box at the top of the main Mometrix page to find ebooks, practice tests, and online flashcards.