Research Guides: BIOL 2401 Anatomy & Physiology: Ebooks and Websites

Recommended Ebooks

Below are some selected ebooks and quick reference guides that will assist you with BIOL 2401 concepts. You can work through these books on your computer or another device any time you want to practice.

Anatomy: Microstructures by BarCharts, Inc.
Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated microstructures of the human body clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification.
Anatomy and Physiology for Dummies by Erin Odya; Maggie A. Norris
Call Number: QP34.5 .N67 2017
Anatomy & Physiology For Dummies combines anatomical terminology and function so you'll learn not only names and terms but also gain an understanding of how the human body works. This book provides a fun, easy way to get a handle on the basics of anatomy and physiology.
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals by Jahangir Moini
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals, Second Edition provides an engaging and comprehensive overview of human anatomy and physiology, written specifically with health professions students in mind. This text helps students navigate the subject through an array of features--including Test Your Understanding questions that regularly assess comprehension, Learning Goals that correlate to concrete Objectives, and a large assortment of end-of-chapter questions--that reinforce key concepts while promoting mastery of the material.
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance by Ian Peate; Muralitharan Nair
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance is the perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registration nursing and healthcare students, from the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series. Combining superb illustrations with accessible and informative text, this book covers all the body systems and key concepts encountered from the start of the pre-registration nursing or healthcare program and is ideal for anyone looking for an overview of the human body.
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Visual! by Janyce G. Dyer (Editor);
For each body system, the book logically first presents anatomic fundamentals necessary to understand the complex physiology of the body. Then physiologic processes are presented more visually than ever before. This new approach to clinical content maximizes the power of visual thinking by getting readers as close to the clinical content as they can get without actually being in the room with a patient.
Anatomy of the Organs by Vincent Perez
6-page guide includes illustrated and labeled organs
Anatomy of the Senses by BarCharts, Inc.
6-page guide includes illustrated and labeled sense organs and systems
Anatomy Test by BarCharts, Inc.
This 6-page guide is loaded with beautifully illustrated diagrams with blank labels for a true test of your knowledge.
Encyclopedia of Human Body Systems by Julie McDowell (Editor)
This encyclopedia provides a concise yet comprehensive introduction to each of the systems of the human body. Written in accessible prose, this text is an easy-to-understand reference for lay readers of any age and an ideal resource for any high school health curriculum.
Everything You Need to Know About the Anatomy and Physiology of the Muscular System
Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell
Now in its 3rd edition, this completely revised medical textbook continues its focus on just the core information you need for your anatomy courses, presenting everything in an easy-to-read, visually appealing format that facilitates study.
Human Anatomy, Color Atlas and Textbook by John A. Gosling; Philip F. Harris; John R. Humpherson; Ian Whitmore; Peter L. T. Willan
The new edition of this well-known hybrid anatomy core text and atlas superbly depicts and describes the human body, so you can identify anatomical structures with confidence and have a clear understanding of the core anatomy you need.
The Human Body Book by Richard Walker; Steve Parker
Also available in print. The online version makes it easy to find images with an images tab.
The Illustrated Atlas of Human Anatomy by Scientific Publishing
An economical portfolio which provides an overview of the systems of the human body. This 25 plate collection also features coverage on specific topics, such as the brain, the eye and the liver.
The Illustrated Atlas of Human Physiology by Scientific Publishing
This 20 plate collection includes titles on blood pressure, respiration and digestion. It includes such charts as: Blood & Blood Pressure; Bone & Bone Growth; Cardiac Cycle; CFS & the Brain; Digestive Process; Fluid Balance & Filtration; Hearing; Hormonal Action; and, How Joints Work.
Instant Anatomy by Robert H. Whitaker; Neil R. Borley
Instant Anatomy presents anatomy and anatomical relationships in a simple, unique, schematic manner to aid the speedy understanding and retrieval of anatomical facts.
The Integumentary System: Exploring the Human Body by Scientific Publishing
A 9-page overview of skin, including diagrams. This resource is fully printable and downloadable.
Pocket Anatomy and Physiology by Shirley A. Jones
A brief description introduces each body system. Crystal clear presentation makes the illustrations pop from the pages. Precise labels accurately identify every structure. Unique anatomical views--like the cross section of the hand--highlight every detail in full-color. Every page tells you the orientation of every figure--no more guessing at what you're viewing. Easy-to-reference tables summarize all of the relevant physiology.
The Skeletal System: Exploring the Human Body by Scientific Publishing
A 15-page fully downloadable and printable guide to the skeletal system. Diagrams are clear and easy to understand.
Understanding Anatomy and Physiology by Gale Sloan Thompson
"Fast Facts" in each chapter contain interesting tips related to the system. "The Body at Work" addresses physiology of the system under discussion. "Life Lessons" apply A&P information to real-life situations. "Own the Information" exercises ask students to identify the most important points in each chapter and compare them to the learning objectives.
Vision: How It Works and What Can Go Wrong by John E. Dowling; Joseph L. Dowling
Writing in nontechnical language, John and Joseph Dowling, a neuroscientist and an ophthalmologist, examine vision from both perspectives, providing concise descriptions of basic visual mechanisms and related clinical abnormalities.
The Visual Guides: Understanding The Human Body by QAInternational
In addition to text and images, this ebook has a number of videos of the body systems

Library Databases

Science: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, videos, news, images, encyclopedia articles, and experiments for each body system. The systems covered in BIOL 2401 are below.
TexShare

Websites Outside the Library

If you are having trouble with a concept, look for different explanations of it. The more ways you hear something explained, the more likely you are to find an explanation that clicks for you. There are a number of websites that offer anatomy and physiology help.

Human Anatomy and Physiology Preparatory Course (Bronx Community College)
This is a free ebook meant to help you review concepts and prepare for your BIOL 2401 and BIOL 2402 courses. It includes basic biology and chemistry concepts that will help you understand the body systems and how they work.

Test Preparation (including HESI)

Practice anatomy and physiology questions and review topics using our test preparation database, Mometrix. If you are preparing to take an entrance exam such as HESI, search for the specific test name to find targeted practice materials.

Mometrix Test Preparation This link opens in a new window
researches, develops, and produces test preparation products to test-takers all over the world. Our team of testing experts devote hours upon hours to painstakingly review piles of content and boil it all down to the critical concepts that are most likely to be on your exam. We do a lot of work cutting through the fluff to give you what you need the most to perform well on the exam.
TCCD

Medical Terminology Books

Some students may find medical terminology books helpful for learning the vocabulary of anatomy and physiology. For example, once you know that osteo means bone and myo means muscle, it becomes easier to decipher and remember unfamiliar words.

Medical Terminology for Dummies by Beverley Henderson; Jennifer L. Dorsey
Medical Terminology For Dummies is a powerful resource for current and prospective healthcare professionals. It provides different ways to memorize the words and their meanings, including ideas for study materials, flash cards, quizzes, mind maps, and games.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy! by David W. Woodruff
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!, offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice.