Schedule an appointment
Drop in, no appointment needed
Call us
View today's hours
Chat with us online
Email us
Text us at 817-769-6940
View our FAQsThe print and online books listed below may help with learning the concepts covered in BIOL 2421 or with completing your microbiology unknown assignment. If a print book you want is not at your campus, you can have it transferred through the request option in the library catalog.
Quick reference guide
This book contains over 1200 multiple choice questions based on biochemistry, environmental microbiology, microbial genetics, general microbiology, cell biology, industrial microbiology, immunology and mycology.
Microbiology For Dummies is your guide to understanding the fundamentals of this enormously-encompassing field.
Basic Medical Microbiology was designed as a straight-forward, practical introduction to this difficult topic. It provides students with a firm foundation in the principles and applications of microbiology, serving as an effective prep tool for examinations and the transition into clinical application.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Fourth Edition gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth.
Presents all facets of food microbiology to undergraduates.
Written for nonspecialists in a clear and straightforward style, this guide will help students, landowners, and citizen scientists identify different kinds of cyanobacteria and understand their impact on waterways, from neighborhood lakes and farm ponds to major river systems.
Praised for its clarity of presentation and accessibility, Introduction to Modern Virology has been a successful student text for over 30 years. It provides a broad introduction to virology, which includes the nature of viruses, the interaction of viruses with their hosts, and the consequences of those interactions that lead to diseases.
This highly topical and accessible book covers bacteria from all angles and includes: The different bacteria that live on and in various parts of your body (not just in the gut) What these bacteria do, and why some are beneficial and some harmful
Authored by a leading epidemiologist, this engrossing book answers our questions about animal diseases that jump to humans--called zoonoses--including what attracts them to humans, why they have become more common in recent history, and how we can keep them at bay.
This third edition of Carl Zimmer's A Planet of Viruses presents the latest research on how viruses hold sway over our lives and our biosphere, how viruses helped give rise to the first life-forms, how viruses are producing new diseases, how we can harness viruses for our own ends, and how viruses will continue to control our fate as long as life endures.
Quick reference to clinical microbiology. If you work in the clinical laboratory, this pocket guide will help you confidently identify most organisms you could encounter.
The problem of drug resistance already kills over one million people across the world every year and has huge economic costs. Without action, this problem will become significantly worse. This book outlines the major systematic failures that have led to this growing crisis and a set of solutions to tackle these global issues that governments, industry, and public health specialists can adopt.
Synthesizing a large body of recent research, Michael Cordingley goes beyond our familiarity with viral infections to show how viruses spur evolutionary change in their hosts, shape global ecosystems, and influence every domain of life.
Well-known virologist and cancer researcher Karin Moelling describes surprising insights about a completely new and unexpected world of viruses.
1. Begin on the Library homepage at https://library.tccd.edu/
2. Scroll down to the box on the left that says TCC Catalog
3. Select the "Ebooks" button or the "In the Library" button for print
4. Type what you want to find in the search box, such as "listeria" and click the Search button
5. Click the Available Online link on the ebook you want and then click the link under Full text Availability. For print books, use the call number to find the book on the shelf.
When choosing the terms you will use to search for books, remember to keep your terms general and just pick out key concepts. Save specific searches for article databases. For example, if I wanted to know about food poisoning caused by E. coli, I might just search on "E. coli infection" or maybe E. coli AND food.