GOVT 2305 SO Bowman: Finding Books

Students studying legal transcription, court reporting and legal terminology will find this book to be a "must have" for professional learning. Legal Terminology for Transcription and Court Reporting transforms the student into someone who is proficient in the language of law as a listener and speaker with judges, attorneys, witnesses, jurors and the parties in court. The student will master all the skills necessary to produce a transcript that accurately reflects court proceedings, depositions, legal stipulations, hearings, and intra/interoffice meetings. The complete understanding and usages of legal terms, as well as the related English grammar, punctuation, proofreading, and transcript production issues that contribute to an accurate record are the keys for all aspiring court reporters and transcriptionists. The main take away for the student is the confidence to begin using legal terminology for professional transcription and court reporting in law offices, the courts, or one's own business. Mastering legal terminology and the correct English skills are keys to advancing and this book makes it fast and enjoyable with written exercises as well as audio transcription exercises on an accompanying CD-ROM.

There is no other volume that so clearly and concisely explains every key aspect of the national legislature. This classic, easy-to-use reference is thoroughly updated with new entries covering the dramatic congressional events of recent years. Each of the more than 250 entries, arranged in encyclopedic A-to-Z format, provides accessible insight into the key questions readers have about the U.S. Congress.  Congress A to Z helps make sense of the narrow power division between Republicans and Democrats, the methods members use to advance their agendas, the influence of lobby groups, the key role of committees and strong-willed leaders, and much more. Highlights in this new edition include: Quick answers to questions as well as in-depth background on the U.S. CongressA new design that makes accessing information easy and funHistorical and contemporary photos Internet addresses for quick referenceDetailed appendices, tables, and an indexNew entries include:Architect of the CapitolCapitol Visitors CenterHillary Rodham ClintonCongressional districtsC-SPANTom DeLayElectronic votingIncumbencyLine item vetoMajority and minority leadersHarry Reid

The U.S. government is an ever-more-complex system that few American citizens comprehend in any detail. Even some of its most basic operations, seemingly clear in concept, are in reality intricate and obscure. Although textbooks explain how the government is supposed to work in theory, they don't reveal how it actually works in practice. This book offers a concise and objective explanation of government operations, mapping the federal government's branches, departments, agencies, corporations, and quasi-official bodies--and the bureaucracies that support them. The authors effectively bridge the gap between the government's ideal, balanced structure, laid out in the Constitution, and its actual institutionalized form today, making this a superb resource for students and citizens at large. Coverage of the government's inner workings includes such subjects as executive-branch appointments, domestic and foreign policy development and execution, the federal budget, the legislative process, the Congressional committee system, the drawing of Congressional districts, the levels of the federal judiciary, aides in all three branches, and the various government offices and oversight agencies. * 25 black-and-white photographs * Figures and charts capturing the structure of the federal government and many aspects of its functioning, such as the federal budgeting process, the apportionment of electoral votes, and U.S. government receipts and outlays * Timelines * Quick-reference chart listing past presidents, their years in office, and their party affiliation

Understanding how Congressional political parties utilize floor procedure to advance a legislative agenda is fundamental to understanding how Congress operates. This book offers students and researchers an in-depth understanding of the procedural tools available to congressional leaders and committee chairs and how those tools are implemented in the House of Representatives, the Senate, and during negotiations between the chambers. Divided into four sections (Leadership, House of Representatives, Senate, and Legislative Reconciliation between the Chambers), the contributors present relevant examples of procedure throughout the legislative process. While other volumes provide the party or the procedural perspective, this book combines these two features to create a robust analysis on the role that party can play in making procedural decisions. Additionally, the contributors provide an opportunity to take a holistic look at Congress and understand the changing dynamics of congressional power and its implementation over time. A concluding chapter, "Legislative Sausage-Making: Health Care Reform in the 111th Congress," summarizes the book's major themes through an examination of this highly controversial legislative battle.

For 30 years, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Linda Greenhouse chronicled the activities of the U.S. Supreme Court and its justices as a correspondent for the New York Times. In this Very Short Introduction, she draws on her deep knowledge of the court's history and of its written andunwritten rules to show readers how the Supreme Court really works.Greenhouse offers a fascinating institutional biography of a place and its people - men and women - who exercise great power but whose names and faces are unrecognized by many Americans and whose work often appears cloaked in mystery. How do cases get to the Supreme Court? How do the justices goabout deciding them? What special role does the chief justice play? What do the law clerks do? How does the court relate to the other branches of government? Greenhouse answers these questions by depicting the justices as they confront deep constitutional issues or wrestle with the meaning ofconfusing federal statutes.Throughout, the author examines many individual Supreme Court cases to illustrate points under discussion, ranging from Marbury v. Madison, the seminal case which established judicial review, to the recent District of Columbia v. Heller (2008), which struck down the District of Columbia'sgun-control statute and which was, surprisingly, the first time in its history that the Court issued an authoritative interpretation of the Second Amendment. To add perspective, Greenhouse also compares the Court to foreign courts, revealing interesting differences. For instance, no other country inthe world has chosen to bestow life tenure on its judges.A superb overview packed with telling details, this volume offers a matchless introduction to one of the pillars of American government.

Themes: Hi-lo, government, United States, politics The Supreme Court is the highest judicial court in the U.S. It has the final say on whether laws violate the Constitution. This handbook defines the role of the court and how it is essential to the rule of law. Five unique handbooks comprise the new American Government series. With the confusing political discourse in today's world, it's no wonder kids tune out. How can we tune them back in? The stale descriptions in standard American government textbooks do nothing to motivate learning. The readability is too high. And the language too dry. How can we make it personal? Accessible? Interesting? Even humorous?

The story of the ACLU from its earliest battles through its landmark cases.

Spanning three volumes, this comprehensive encyclopedia of over six hundred entries covers the full range of civil rights and liberties in America from the antecedents of the Bill of Rights through the most recent controversies over political and social issues, including abortion, free speech, religious liberty, voting rights, and the guarantees of equality. It also addresses the civil rights and liberties issues stemming from America's ongoing war on terrorism. Detailed entries include key concepts, historical events and developments, major trials and appellate court decisions, landmark legislation, legal doctrines, important personalities, and key organizations and agencies. Entries have an objective tone, allowing readers to draw their own conclusions. Designed as an up-to-date reference source for students, scholars, and citizens, the encyclopedia will help broaden and heighten understanding and appreciation for the wide range of issues associated with civil rights and liberties in the United States, and is the most sophisticated treatment available. The volumes of the encyclopedia consist of original entries, arranged alphabetically, on many current hot-button issues as well as in-depth coverage of the rights Americans hold sacred. Written by experts in the field, including attorneys, judges, and legal scholars, the encyclopedia takes a historical-legal approach, providing important information on the background and development of an issue or event. The third volume concludes with over three dozen essential primary documents, including landmark statutes, key court decisions, and influential essays.

In its first two editions, The Winning Brief explained the art of effective writing in 100 concise, practical, and easy-to-use tips, proving that the key to writing well is to understand the judicial readership. This third edition of Bryan A. Garner's modern classic delivers the same invaluable guidelines with even more supporting evidence. Covering everything from the rules for planning and organizing a brief to openers that can capture a judge's attention from the first few words, these tips add up to the most compelling, orderly, and visually appealing brief that an advocate can present. In Garner's view, good writing is good thinking put to paper. "Never write a sentence that you couldn't easily speak," he warns - and demonstrates how to do just that. Every tip begins with a set of quotable quotes from experts, followed by Garner's masterly advice on building sound paragraphs, drafting crisp sentences, choosing the best words ("Strike pursuant to from your vocabulary."), quoting authority, citing sources, and designing a document that looks as impressive as it reads. Throughout, Garner shows how to edit for maximal impact, using vivid before-and-after examples that apply the basics of rhetoric to persuasive writing. In this much-expanded third edition, Garner has perfected the text with nine new tips, hundreds of new examples, and amplified explanations throughout-all in his trademark style. Among the new sections are tips on understanding judges' reading habits, answering opponents' arguments, writing effective reply briefs, using authorities persuasively, and organizing arguments based on statutes and contracts. Quotable quotes, which Garner carefully assembled after years of wide reading and close study, have been expanded and improved throughout the book. There is also a new appendix on a remarkable brief that some consider the best ever written ("a beautiful marriage of rhetorical skill, thorough research, and humane lawyering"). Perhaps the biggest change to this edition is that every tip now ends with a summary checklist that recaps and crystalizes the subpoints just covered, with further ideas for improvement. Garner conceived these checklists in part as a way to help readers approach his book as a set of 100 tutorials. Reviewing and practicing each tip will offer brief-writers a degree of mastery that more cavalier colleagues will find difficult to equal. An invaluable resource for attorneys, law clerks, judges, paralegals, law students and their teachers, The Winning Brief has the qualities that make all of Garner's books so popular: authority, accessibility, and page after page of techniques that work. If you're writing to win a case, this book shouldn't merely be on your shelf--it should be open on your desk.