Research Guides: HIST 1301 TR Blank: Websites

Featured Websites

American Memory
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides digitized copies of newspaper pages from 1880-1910. Also contains directory information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Currently contains the newspapers from 9 states & the District of Columbia, including Texas.
From Revolution to Reconstruction
Primary sources mainly from the 16th to the 18th century.
Making of America
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Encyclopedia Smithsonian
Explore online collections within the History and Culture category.
Primary Documents in American History
The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This website provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Browse American history by era as well as a unique collection of digitized primary sources.
Founders Early Access Project
The Rotunda Founders Early Access project makes available for the first time thousands of unpublished documents from our nation’s founders in a free online resource.

Information found on the internet is not filtered for quality. It is up to you to evaluate websites. Try asking yourself these questions:

Purpose

Authority/Accuracy

Reliability/Relevancy

Currency

P.A.R.C. Method CC-BY-SA 4.0, Dan Vinson, Haggerty Library, Mount Mary University