Research Guides: MATH 0214 Corequisite College Algebra: Print Books

Recommended Print Books

The following selection of print study guides may be helpful for you in MATH 0214. The only difference between a print book and an ebook is the format, so choose whichever format works better for you.

Algebra: a Complete Introduction by Hugh Neill
Call Number: QA152.3 .A23 2013
Each chapter includes not only an explanation of the knowledge and skills you need, but also worked examples and test questions.
Algebra DeMYSTiFieD, Second Edition by Rhonda Huettenmueller
Call Number: QA152.3 .H85 2011
Written in a step-by-step format, this practical guide covers fractions, variables, decimals, negative numbers, exponents, roots, and factoring. Techniques for solving linear and quadratic equations and applications are discussed in detail. Clear examples, concise explanations, and worked problems with complete solutions make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam help reinforce learning.
Algebra Essentials by David A. Santos; Olgha Davis
Call Number: QA152.3 .S227 2016
Designed for the person who needs to learn algebra as a prerequisite for further study or for a refresher course before moving on, the book covers all of the basic algebra concepts such as variables, equations, quadratic equations, factoring algebraic expressions, exponents, roots, radicals, and more.
Algebra I by Carolyn Wheater
Call Number: QA155 .W44 2015
Starting with the very basics and reinforcing concepts with practice and tips along the way, Idiot's Guides: Algebra I makes a complex subject easier to grasp and helps students and adult learners clear the hurdle that can stand between them and their academic goals.
Algebra I for Dummies® by Mary Jane Sterling
Call Number: QA159.2 .S743 2010
If you're vexed by variables, Algebra I For Dummies, 2nd Edition provides the plain-English, easy-to-follow guidance you need to get the right solution every time!
Algebra Success in 20 Minutes a Day by LearningExpress, LLC., Staff
Call Number: QA159 .J59 2014
Whether you're new to algebra or just looking for a refresher, Algebra Success in 20 Minutes a Day offers a 20-step lesson plan that provides quick and thorough instruction in practical, critical skills.
Algebra Survival Guide by Josh Rappaport; Sally Blakemore (Artist)
Call Number: QA152.3 .R37 2015
The new Algebra Survival Guide features a unique Q&A format so students hear their own questions echoed in the text. The book's answers, written in the voice of a friendly tutor, provide conversational responses, along with step-by-step instructions right next to the math steps.
College Algebra by Murray R. Spiegel; Robert E. Moyer
Call Number: QA157 .S725 2014
This all-in-one-package includes more than 1,900 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills.
College Algebra DeMYSTiFieD, 2nd Edition by Rhonda Huettenmueller
Call Number: QA152.3 .H853 2014
If you are absolutely confused by absolute value equations, or you think parabolas are short moral stories, College Algebra DeMYSTiFied, Second Edition is your solution to mastering the topic's concepts and theories at your own pace. This thoroughly revised and updated guide eases you into the subject, beginning with the math fundamentals then introducing you to this advanced form of algebra.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Algebra Word Problems by Izolda Fotiyeva
Call Number: QA155 .F665 2010
Most students find word problems from high school or even freshman year in college to be the single biggest hurdle in algebra. Now there's help with The Complete Idiot's Guide to Algebra Word Problems.
E-Z Algebra by Douglas Downing
Call Number: QA152.2 .D69 2009
Topics covered in this detailed review of algebra include general rules for dealing with numbers, equations, negative numbers and integers, fractions and rational numbers, exponents, roots and real numbers, algebraic expressions, functions, graphs, systems of two equations, quadratic equations, circles, ellipses, parabolas, polynomials, numerical series, permutations, combinations, the binomial formula, proofs by mathematical induction, exponential functions and logarithms, simultaneous equations and matrices, and imaginary numbers.
Easy Algebra Step-by-Step by Sandra Luna McCune; William D. Clark
Call Number: QA157 .M33 2012
Clear explanation that breaks down complex concepts into easy-to-understand steps, followed by highly focused exercises that are linked to core skills.
Head First Algebra by Tracey Pilone; Dan Pilone
Call Number: QA155 .P54 2009
Full of engaging stories and practical, real-world explanations, this book will help you learn everything from natural numbers and exponents to solving systems of equations and graphing polynomials.
The Math Dude's Quick and Dirty Guide to Algebra by Jason Marshall
Call Number: QA157 .M28 2011
Jason Marshall, popular podcast host known to his fans as The Math Dude, understands that algebra can cause agony. But he's determined to show you that you can solve those confusing, scream-inducing math problems--and it won't be as hard as you think!
Painless Algebra by Lynette Long
Call Number: QA152.3 .L66 2016
Whether you're a student or an adult looking to refresh your knowledge, Barron's Painless Algebra provides review and practice in an easy, step-by-step format.
Teach Yourself Visually Algebra by David Alan Herzog
Call Number: QA155 .H47 2008
This visual guide takes advantage of color and illustrations to factor out confusion and helps you easily master the subject. You'll review the various properties of numbers, as well as how to use powers and exponents, fractions, decimals and percentages, and square and cube roots.

Check Out a Print Book from TCC

The TCC Libraries have many math books on the shelves ready for you to check out with your TCC ID card. You can also have books from other TCC campuses sent to your home campus for free. Follow the directions below to search for more books.

To Find Print Books in the TCC Library:

1. Begin on the Library homepage at https://library.tccd.edu/

2. Scroll down to the box on the left that says TCC Catalog

3. Select the "In the Library" box

4. Select your home campus or leave the selection as Any Campus

5. Type what you want to find in the search box, such as "algebra" and click the Search button

6. Check the location of your chosen book, and use the call number (Ex: QA155 .W44 2015) to find it on the shelf

7. If the book is not available at your campus, follow the directions below to have the book sent to your campus for free

Request a Book Be Sent to Your Campus

The TCC Libraries share their collection, so you can have any eligible book sent to your home campus for free. It may take several days to transfer the book, so plan ahead.

1. Find a book you want and click the "Sign in" link

2. Click the Request link

3. Select the campus you want to send the book to

4. Click the Send Request link

5. When the book arrives at your chosen campus, you will receive an email in your myTCC email account