Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NaNoWriMo 2020: Digital Resources

Hone your writing skills in 30 days with National Novel Writing Month!

NaNoWriMo 2020: Digital Collection

Visit our Digital Collection for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) 2020 OR click on the e-books in the slideshow below!

TCC E-books

Why Will No One Publish My Novel? A Handbook for the Rejected Writer

A collection of tips and advice for budding writers from literary lioness, Fay Weldon. As the author of over thirty novels, stories and screenplays, as well as a tutor on the prestigious creative writing course at Bath Spa, Fay Weldon has a lifetime of wisdom to impart on the art of writing. In the course of thirty accessible essays, Weldon attempts to answer the title's question--why will no-one publish your novel?--and steers the reader on the way to becoming a writer. Full of her trademark wit, Why Will No-One Publish My Novel? will delight and amuse at the same time as offering up useful tips for all those who yearn to write.

Dreaming Out Loud

Dreaming Out Loud brings together essays by many of the most well-known and respected African American writers of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, discussing various aspects of the vocation, craft, and art of writing fiction. Though many of the writers included here are also accomplished poets, essayists, and playwrights, this collection and the essays it contains remains focused on the novel as a genre and an art form. Ranging from the Harlem Renaissance, through the Civil Rights movement, and into the twenty-first century, this anthology explores what it has meant to be an African American novelist over the past hundred years.

Writing Horror Fiction

This writer's guide explains how to write short stories and horror fiction for children and adults. The author shows how to build on the initial idea and develop characters and plot. There are ideas for selecting and approaching publishers and information about contracts and publication.

Video Game Writing

This insightful, revised book explores the challenging and evolving world of the games writer. 

Vivid and Continuous

Taking off from "The Creative Writer's Survival Guide," John McNally's relentlessly blunt, bracingly cheerful, and immensely helpful map to "being" a writer, "Vivid and Continuous"is an equally blunt, cheerful, and helpful map to "learning" to be a writer. 

Views from the Loft

Teachers, exercises, mentors, critiques, humor, and inspiration: these form the fuel all writers need when they get down to work every day. For decades the Loft Literary Center has provided this fuel to an enormous community of writers. Views from the Loft brings together the collected wisdom of that community -- its authors, students, and editors -- giving anyone the tools and inspiration necessary to thrive in the writing life. 

Novel Writing

Packed with tips from bestselling and prize-winning authors, Novel Writing: A Writers' and Artists' Companion will give you all the practical advice you need to write and publish your novel. 

Creative Writing in the Digital Age

Creative Writing in the Digital Age explores the vast array of opportunities that technology provides the Creative Writing teacher, ranging from effective online workshop models to methods that blur the boundaries of genre. From social media tools such as Twitter and Facebook to more advanced software like Inform 7, the book investigates the benefits and potential challenges these technologies present instructors in the classroom. Written with the everyday instructor in mind, the book includes practical classroom lessons that can be easily adapted to creative writing courses regardless of the instructor's technical expertise.

Writing Historical Fiction

Writing Historical Fiction: A Writers' & Artists' Companion is an invaluable companion for a writer working in this challenging and popular literary genre, whether your period is Ancient Rome or World War II. 

The Handbook of Creative Writing

A practical & inspirational resource for creative writers at all levelsIn 48 distinctive chapters, the Handbook is split into three parts: * Part 1: examines the critical theories behind the practice of creative writing * Part 2: explains the basics of how to write a novel, script or poetry * Part 3: explores how to deal with the practicalities and problems of becoming a writer Alongside the main creative writing activities, chapters cover other practices, from translation to starting a small magazine and from memoir writing to writing for children. Contributors are all experts in their fields: poets, novelists, dramatists, agents, publishers, editors, tutors, critics and academics. Anyone with an interest in creative writing will find this book invaluable in developing their own creative writing projects and as a way into new areas of writing activity.

Writing Children's Fiction

Full of both inspirational and practical advice, Writing Children's Fiction: A Writers' and Artists' Companion is an essential guide to writing for some of the most difficult and demanding readers of all: children and young people.Part 1 explores the nature, history and challenges of children's literature, and the amazing variety of genres available for children from those learning to read to young adults.Part 2 includes tips by such bestselling authors as David Almond, Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff and Michael Morpurgo.Part 3 contains practical advice - from shaping plots and creating characters to knowing your readers, handling difficult subjects and how to find an agent and publisher when your book or story is complete.

Writing: A User Manual

You are a writer and you have a killer book idea. How do you turn your inspiration into a finished novel? Writing a User's Manual offers practical insight into the processes from planning to story development, research to revision.

Writing Strategies for Fiction

Help your students develop the writing skills they need to succeed with this timely resource! This book provides teachers with standards-based strategies to help students demonstrate their learning of fiction-related concepts as they navigate the complexities of literary works. This book offers detailed strategies for using graphic organizers, developing vocabulary, journal writing, taking notes, applying knowledge, and assessing student writing. The strategies also help prepare students for success in college and careers. Classroom examples and differentiation suggestions with every strategy provide clear models for success!

No Plot? No Problem!

Chris Baty, founder of the wildly successful literary marathon known as National Novel Writing Month, has completely revised and expanded his definitive handbook for extreme noveling. Chris pulls from over 15 years of results-oriented writing experience to pack this compendium with new tips and tricks, ranging from week-by-week quick reference guides to encouraging advice from authors, and much more. His motivating mix of fearless optimism and practical solutions to common excuses gives both first-time novelists and results-oriented writers the kick-start they need to embark on an exhilarating creative adventure.

The Handy English Grammar Answer Book

Whether it's for a professional document, a school paper, an Internet blog, or something more personal, effective communication depends on clear, concise, and grammatically correct writing. Punctuation, spelling, and grammar rules can trip up anyone, while organization and word choice can make writing memorable--or banal. The Handy English Grammar Answer Book is an engaging guide to writing with clarity for all occasions.