College Success for Adults: Insider Tips for Effective Learning is a concise, user-friendly guide to college success for the adult college student. In it, readers learn to master the rules, vocabulary, and expectations of the college environment. They'll discover how to balance their work and personal lives with college-level study, develop the mindset of the successful college student, take notes effectively, conquer testing anxiety, win over their professors, and much more... Armed with the knowledge this book provides, readers will emerge with a deeper understanding of what it takes to succeed in college--and how they can achieve this success. They'll learn how to take their own experience and wisdom as adults and translate it into success in the college classroom. Readers also receive helpful supplementary resources that will aid them on their journey to college success, including a college vocabulary glossary, college knowledge quiz (with answer key), a list of scholarships exclusively for adult students, and a suggested course syllabus (with detailed course calendar).
Are you among the 22 million students now enrolled in college? Or a high school student thinking of joining them shortly? Or perhaps a parent of a college-bound junior or senior? Then this book is just for you. Written by college professors and successfully used by tens of thousands of students, The Secrets of College Success combines easy-to-use tips, techniques, and strategies with insider information that few professors are willing to reveal. The over 800 tips in this book will show you how to: pick courses and choose a major manage your time and develop college-level study skills get good grades and manage the "core" requirements get motivated and avoid stress interact effectively with the professor or TA prepare for a productive and lucrative career New to this third edition are high-value tips about: undergraduate and collaborative research summer internships staying safer on campus diversity and inclusion disabilities and accommodations ...with special tips for international students at US colleges. Winner of the 2010 USA Book News Award for best book in the college category, The Secrets of College Success makes a wonderful back-to-college or high-school-graduation gift -or a smart investment in your own college success.
The unwritten rules of success that every student must follow to thrive in college The Secret Syllabus equips students with the tools they need to succeed, revealing the unwritten rules and cultural norms and expectations not included in the official curriculum. Left to figure out on their own how the academic world works, students frequently stumble, underperform, and miss opportunities. Without mastery of the secret syllabus, too many miss out on the full, rich experience available to them in college. Jay Phelan and Terry Burnham share the essential lessons they have learned from struggling, unfocused students as well as award-winning college instructors and researchers. The Secret Syllabus draws on Phelan and Burnham's experiences with thousands of undergraduate and graduate students. Weaving engaging storytelling with practical, actionable advice, they illustrate both productive and counterproductive approaches to achieving academic excellence, and highlight the importance of setting and attaining goals, nurturing strong relationships, developing resiliency, and more. This fresh, funny, and boldly innovative book enables students to develop the consistently winning and effective behaviors that will equip them to thrive on campus and beyond.
The transition to adulthood is a complex process, and college is pivotal to this experience. The Science of College aids entering college students--and the people who support them--in navigating college successfully, with up-to-date recommendations based upon real student situations, sound social science research, and the collective experiences of faculty, lecturers, advisors, and student support staff. The stories captured in this book highlight how the challenges that college students encounter vary in important ways based on demographics and social backgrounds. Despite these varied backgrounds, all students are more likely to have successful college experiences if they invest in their communities. Universities have many resources available, but as this book will show, students need to learn when to access which resources and how best to engage with people serving students. This includes having a better awareness of the different roles held by university faculty and staff, and navigating who to go to for what, based upon understanding their distinct sets of expertise and approaches to support.
College Reading and Study Skills provides complete coverage of both reading and study skills while demonstrating their relationship and interdependency. The "McWhorter Way" encourages students to approach reading and study skills as methods of selecting, processing, and organizing the information to be learned. The text also covers time management, analysis of learning style, note-taking strategies, improving vocabulary, and strengthening critical comprehension-elements crucial to student success. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab Reading personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student.
Empirical evidence for the value of a liberal arts education: how and why it has a lasting impact on success, leadership, altruism, learning, and fulfillment. In ongoing debates over the value of a college education, the role of the liberal arts in higher education has been blamed by some for making college expensive, impractical, and even worthless. Defenders argue that liberal arts education makes society innovative, creative, and civic-minded. But these qualities are hard to quantify, and many critics of higher education call for courses of study to be strictly job-specific. In this groundbreaking book, Richard Detweiler, drawing on interviews with more than 1,000 college graduates aged 25 to 65, offers empirical evidence for the value of a liberal arts education.
Performance Excellence: Stories of Success from the Real World of Sport and Exercise Psychology provides concise and effective lessons on a variety of psychological skills and broader concepts within the domains of exercise, sport, and performance psychology. These skills and concepts include team cohesion, dynamics, and leadership; goal-setting, motivation, and adherence; exercise identity, athletic identity, transitions, and self-awareness; mental training; mindset; and facing and overcoming challenges such as anxiety, burnout, and rehabilitation. Over 60 stories of real-world examples provide poignant and compelling lessons and make the material come alive. Ultimately, Performance Excellence serves as a wonderful resource for students, as well as for sport and exercise practitioners.
Almost 50 million Americans have cumulatively borrowed more than $1.5 trillion to attend college. Roughly one-third of all adults aged 25 to 34 have a student loan. In Education without Debt businessman and philanthropist Scott MacDonald examines the real-life impact of crushing levels of student debt on borrowers and what can be done to fix this crisis. Weaving together stories of debt-impaired lives with stories of personal success achieved with the essential help of financial aid, MacDonald reveals the devastating personal and societal impact of the debt problem and offers possible solutions. He explores the efforts of colleges and private philanthropists to make education affordable and relates his own experience of funding financial aid for need-eligible students at five universities. Education without Debt is a must-read book for anyone concerned about the rising cost of education and what to do about this critical policy and societal issue.
For Tulane University's 2018 commencement, Jesmyn Ward delivered a stirring speech about the value of hard work and the importance of respect for oneself and others. Speaking about the challenges she and her family overcame, Ward inspired everyone in the audience with her meditation on tenacity in the face of hardship. Ward's moving words will inspire readers as they prepare for the next chapter in their lives, whether, like Ward, they are the first in their families to graduate from college or are preceded by generations, or whether they are embarking on a different kind of journey later in life.
This book is addressed as much to trans* students themselves - offering them a frame to understand the genders that mark them as different and to address the feelings brought on by the weight of that difference - as it is to faculty, student affairs professionals, and college administrators, opening up the implications for the classroom and the wider campus. This book not only remedies the paucity of literature on trans* college students, but does so from a perspective of resiliency and agency. Rather than situating trans* students as problems requiring accommodation, this book problematizes the college environment and frames trans* students as resilient individuals capable of participating in supportive communities and kinship networks, and of developing strategies to promote their own success.
The Latino community is the fastest growing minority group in America, and quickly becoming a major player in America's workforce. Unfortunately, Latinos encounter cultural and societal obstacles that can hinder academic achievement. This inspirational guide gives Latino students practical skills for advancing in a college environment. The Latino Student's Guide to College Success: Second Edition, Revised and Updated provides a blueprint for collegiate success. The revised and updated second edition of this popular book features the latest economic and demographic changes that have emerged since the first edition was published. A nationwide directory of the top 50 universities and top 20 community colleges from which Latinos have graduated Inspirational stories about academic success written by Latino graduates A listing of helpful websites for finding financial aid forms, college applications, and more Sources for scholarships geared towards Latino students
Sharing the personal stories of individuals with disabilities who describe both the challenges and successes of their time in higher education, and with a major section on the findings of broad ranging research into the experiences of such students, the book explores the current situation, what works, and how things can be improved. "You are not college material" or "you don't belong in college" are comments frequently heard by students with disabilities. Despite this, college education is now an expected part of the transition to adulthood for many individuals with disabilities. The book includes practical advice to encourage self-advocacy in students with disabilities, and to support the professionals who are facing the challenges alongside them. Covering cerebral palsy, autism spectrum disorders, intellectual disabilities, and much more, this is vital reading for parents, individuals with disabilities, school teachers, college professors, and professionals working with adults with disabilities.
As a dyslexic student you have a unique learning style. Understanding this can help you take control and study in a way that is most effective for you. Full of practical advice and visual examples, this friendly book will guide you through the dyslexic learning style. It gives you all the essential knowledge and ideas needed to manage your dyslexia positively. Handy for students at any level, this easy-to-read guide: * suggests core strategies for doing things differently to work with your dyslexia, instead of against it * covers individual study skills, including organisation, reading, writing and taking exams * provides information on the support that should be available to you as a student
The Libraries at TCC have more than just books! Though we do have a sizable selection of physical books, we also carry a selection of movies and shows on DVD, table-top games, and even course materials for most classes held on campus. You can browse most of our resources through the search function on the library home page or contact your campus library directly. If another TCC library has an item you want, we can usually request it be sent to the library on your campus within a couple business days!
For more books, open the excel sheet below! It can even be printed to take with you to the library.