Think you know Shakespeare? Think again . . . Was a real skull used in the first performance of Hamlet? Were Shakespeare's plays Elizabethan blockbusters? How much do we really know about the playwright's life? And what of his notorious relationship with his wife? Exploring and exploding 30 popular myths about the great playwright, this illuminating new book evaluates all the evidence to show how historical material can be interpreted and misinterpreted, and what this reveals about our own personal investment in the stories we tell.
An intimate history of Shakespeare, following him through a single year -- 1599 -- that changed not only his fortunes but the course of literature. In this one exhilarating year we follow what he reads and writes, what he sees, and whom he works with as he invests in the new Globe Theatre and creates four of his most famous plays -- Henry the Fifth, Julius Caesar, As You Like It, and, most remarkably, Hamlet. James Shapiro illuminates both Shakespeare's staggering achievement and what Elizabethans experienced in the course of 1599: sending off an army to crush an Irish rebellion, weathering an Armada threat from Spain, gambling on the fledgling East India Company, and waiting to see who would succeed their aging and childless queen. This book brings the news and intrigue of the times together with a wonderful evocation of how Shakespeare worked as an actor, businessman, and playwright.
"Something is rotten in the state of Denmark." Brooding Hamlet, the son of the recently deceased king, is about to discover the royal family's corruption firsthand. Taken by the castle watchman to meet the apparition they see at night, Hamlet is surprised to find it is his father's ghost. Hamlet seeks to avenge his father's dishonorable death, but the casualties along the way may prove to be just as tragic. Enter William Shakespeare's famous world of betrayal, madness, and "murder most foul" through this unabridged version of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, first published in England in 1603.
This title explores the creative works of famous author William Shakespeare. Works analyzed include The Most Excellent and Lamentable Tragedy of Romeo and Juliet, The Tragedy of Richard III, The Tempest, and As You Like It. Clear, comprehensive text gives background biographical information of Shakespeare. The "You Critique It" feature invites readers to analyze other creative works on their own. A table of contents, timeline, list of works, resources, source notes, glossary, and an index are also included. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
The Life of William Shakespeare is a fascinating and wide-ranging exploration of Shakespeare's life and works focusing on often neglected literary and historical contexts: what Shakespeare read, who he worked with as an author and an actor, and how these various collaborations may have affected his writing. Written by an eminent Shakespearean scholar and experienced theatre reviewer. Pays particular attention to Shakespeare's theatrical contemporaries and the ways in which they influenced his writing. Offers an intriguing account of the life and work of the great poet-dramatist structured around the idea of memory. Explores often neglected literary and historical contexts that illuminate Shakespeare's life and works.
Park Honan uses a wealth of fresh information to dramatically alter our perceptions of Shakespeare the actor, poet, and playwright. The young poet's relationships, his early courtship of Anne Hathaway, their marriage, his attitudes to women such as Jennet Davenant, Marie Mountjoy, and his own daughters, are seen in a new light, illuminating Shakespeare's needs, habits, passions and concerns. Shakespeare: A Life casts new light on the complexity and fascination of Shakespeare's life and his extraordinary development as an artist.
Aiming to demystify Shakespeare, this title provides a general introduction to the plays. Illustrating how interpretations of Shakespeare are linked to cultural and political contexts, it covers topics such as Shakespeare's language, and the plays as performance texts.
Along with writing comedic and dramatic plays, William Shakespeare was also a master poet. Using the sonnet structure (three quatrains and a final couplet composed in iambic pentameter), he composed 154 poems covering timeless themes of love, beauty, and mortality. The poems' subjects--the Fair Youth, the Dark Lady, and the Rival Poet--have become nearly as famous as the sonnets themselves. While not the first to write poems in sonnet form, Shakespeare's sonnets are considered the most influential examples of this style. This is an unabridged collection of all of Shakespeare's iconic sonnets, including Sonnet 18 ("Shall I compare thee to a summer's day?"), Sonnet 116 ("Let me not to the marriage of true minds/ Admit impediments"), and Sonnet 130 ("My mistress' eyes are nothing like the sun").
Shakespeare is the world's greatest writer. In this lively and authoritative introduction, Paul Edmondson presents Shakespeare afresh as a dramatist and poet, and encourages us to take ownership of the works for ourselves as words to be spoken as well as discussed. We get a wide sense of what his life was like, his rich language, and astonishing cultural legacy. We catch glimpses of Shakespeare himself, how he wrote and see what his works mean to readers and theatre practitioners. Above all, we see how Shakespeare tackled the biggest themes of humanity: power, history, war and love.
This edition of the complete works of Shakespeare includes footnoted text of each of the bard's 37 plays, plus his sonnets and poems. A glossary and index of characters make reference and research easier.
A new study of Shakespeare's life and times, which illuminates our understanding and appreciation of his works. Combines an accessible fully historicised treatment of both the life and the plays, suited to both undergraduate and popular audiences. Looks at 24 of the most significant plays and the sonnets through the lens of various aspects of Shakespeare's life and historical environment. Addresses four of the most significant issues that shaped Shakespeare's career: education, religion, social status, and theatre.
In 1580's England, during the Black Plague a young Latin tutor falls in love with an extraordinary, eccentric young woman in this "exceptional historical novel" (The New Yorker) and best-selling winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction. Agnes is a wild creature who walks her family's land with a falcon on her glove and is known throughout the countryside for her unusual gifts as a healer, understanding plants and potions better than she does people. Once she settles with her husband on Henley Street in Stratford-upon-Avon she becomes a fiercely protective mother and a steadfast, centrifugal force in the life of her young husband, whose career on the London stage is taking off when his beloved young son succumbs to sudden fever. A luminous portrait of a marriage, a shattering evocation of a family ravaged by grief and loss, and a tender and unforgettable re-imagining of a boy whose life has been all but forgotten, and whose name was given to one of the most celebrated plays of all time, Hamnet is mesmerizing, seductive, impossible to put down--a magnificent leap forward from one of our most gifted novelists.
Based on solid research and clear explanations, this book provides a thorough and up-to-date analysis of 10 key facts and fictions regarding the life and works of William Shakespeare. Shakespeare is perhaps the most famous author in world literature. His works have attracted tremendous critical and historical attention, and the world in which he lived has been the subject of hundreds if not thousands of books. But for all the attention given to Shakespeare and his world, arguments continue about what we can say for sure concerning his life and works. This book brings a unique perspective to the ongoing fascination and debate over the life and works of the most renowned writer of all time. The book focuses on 10 separate key issues, including Shakespeare's sexuality, his religion, his marriage and family, his education, and the vexing "authorship question." Each chapter treats a particular topic and provides a section on what people think happened, how the story developed, and what we now believe is the historical truth. This book looks objectively and closely at evidence to provide the most likely explanations for questions that cannot be definitively answered. Using historical primary source documents, it gives readers the clearest possible view of endlessly fascinating topics. Chapters examine popular misconceptions related to Shakespeare's life and works Each chapter discusses how the misconception developed and what we now believe is the truth behind the myth Excerpts from primary source documents show readers how the misconceptions spread and provide evidence for what are now considered the underlying historical truths Chapters cite works for further reading, and the book provides a selected, general bibliography
One of the New York Times Ten Best Books of the Year * A National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist * A New York Times Notable Book A timely exploration of what Shakespeare's plays reveal about our divided land. "In this sprightly and enthralling book . . . Shapiro amply demonstrates [that] for Americans the politics of Shakespeare are not confined to the public realm, but have enormous relevance in the sphere of private life." --The Guardian (London) The plays of William Shakespeare are rare common ground in the United States. For well over two centuries, Americans of all stripes--presidents and activists, soldiers and writers, conservatives and liberals alike--have turned to Shakespeare's works to explore the nation's fault lines. In a narrative arching from Revolutionary times to the present day, leading scholar James Shapiro traces the unparalleled role of Shakespeare's four-hundred-year-old tragedies and comedies in illuminating the many concerns on which American identity has turned. From Abraham Lincoln's and his assassin, John Wilkes Booth's, competing Shakespeare obsessions to the 2017 controversy over the staging of Julius Caesar in Central Park, in which a Trump-like leader is assassinated, Shakespeare in a Divided America reveals how no writer has been more embraced, more weaponized, or has shed more light on the hot-button issues in our history.