This essential, fully updated edition is packed with real-life advice on everything from making friends to managing stress. Hilarious, outrageous, and telling stories from students on over 100 college campuses cover the basics, and then some, including topics on College Living: Dorm dos, don'ts, and dramas Finding People, Places, & Patience: Friend today, gone tomorrow Classes: To go or not to go? Dating: The Rules for College Love The Party Scene: Sex, drugs, and safety first Money: Grants, loans, and loose change.
Leaving high school and going to college is complicated for everyone. But if you're a student on the autism spectrum who is about to enter higher education for the first time, it might be a little bit more complicated for you. Maybe you're worried about getting accommodations, getting places on time, or dealing with sensory issues in a new environment. Maybe you could use some advice on how to stay healthy at school, handle dating and relationships, or talk to your friends and classmates about your disability. Maybe you want to talk to someone who's already dealt with these issues. That's where we come in. Navigating College is an introduction to the college experience from those of us who've been there. The writers and contributors are Autistic adults, and we're giving you the advice that we wish someone could have given us when we headed off to college. We wish we could sit down and have a chat with each of you, to share our experiences and answer your questions. But since we can't teleport, and some of us have trouble meeting new people, this book is the next best thing. So as you go back to school, check out a copy of Navigating College for yourself or your loved one. We ve done this all before--let us help you out.
Going to university or college is supposed to be "the best time of your life" ... but what if it's not? Research reveals that mental health issues are on the rise among undergrads, but many are not accessing help. If this is relatable, this book is for you. It addresses common sources of distress - including academic, social, parental, and financial pressures - and shows you how to meet those challenges head-on and where to turn for extra support. Packed with self-care strategies, quick tips, and eye-opening facts, this is an indispensable guide for anyone on the path to a degree.
Whether enrolling in college for the first time or returning after an extended absence, this motivational guide provides adult students with a wealth of practical guidance. This thorough handbook explores not only how to succeed academically while balancing family, work, and other important responsibilities, but also addresses how students can learn to confront their fears, increase their self-confidence and resiliency, and create support groups. Containing essential information on financing education through loans, grants, and scholarships as well as practical tips for managing time, preparing for tests, taking effective notes, and using internet resources, this one-stop reference also includes action review checklists.
How to Be a Successful Student is a clear, concise, evidence-based guide to the habits that are scientifically proven to help people learn. Acclaimed educational psychologist Richard Mayer distils cutting edge research to focus on the 20 best study habits for college students, including habits for motivating yourself to learn, managing your learning environment, and effectively applying learning strategies. This accessible, practical book covers all three areas with evidence-based, approachable suggestions to help you become a successful student by developing effective study habits and rejecting ineffective ones.
How to Study reveals the study skills that all students need to know to be successful, whether the goal is landing a top scholarship, excelling in school, or preparing to return to school. This edition includes information on how to create an effective work environment, stand out in class, conduct research online, and much more. Fry also covers all the traditional elements of a winning study strategy, such as reading, writing, time-management, memory, and test-taking skills. How to Study introduces a revolutionary study system, along with examples, that gives students the edge in any learning environment.
Testy on test day? Don't stress! "ACE" ANY TEST offers proven step-by-step strategies you can use in any testing situation, from classroom quizzes to standardized exams such as the SAT. Education advocate and author Ron Fry unlocks every student's successful side with preparation strategies such as reading for maximum retention, researching the teacher's testing history and preferences, and using those inevitable "jitters" to psych yourself up and sharpen your focus.
Get practical advice in a concise guide as Pocket Guide to College Success prepares you for your college careee -- from the very first day to graduation and beyond -- by focusing on key issues such as motivation and goal setting.
This book is about you. It's about how you can shape your student experience based on what matters to you. It helps you to 'get sorted', take control and make the most of your time at college or university. This unique and practical self-coaching guide bridges the gap between student life, academic performance and employability skills. It actively encourages students to discover ways to shape their outlooks and experiences.
In 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know, Harry H. Harrison Jr. provides practical advice ranging from classroom enrollment, living on campus, study habits, and more, that every student and parent will benefit from. College students will appreciate the author's witty yet relatable tone. 1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know is a great resource for high school graduates and new college students.
Here's something worth learning: Studying doesn't have to be a chore! This fun and accessible resource provides the tools you need to develop better study habits, boost your grades, and position yourself for academic success.
The new 100% Success Series is directed at the development of professional skills and characteristics that begin in college and extend through the job search and into the lifelong learning environment of the workplace. Content applies to developing general professional traits or can be applied to specific fields. The program is built on the premise that development of learning skills and professional skills takes time and feedback beyond one or two college courses. It is a complete program that will take readers through their education into their successful, professional lives.
Strategies that will transform your grades! Straight-A Study Skills proves that you don't have to spend countless hours studying to get good grades. Using her experience as an educational consultant and a teacher, authors Cynthia Clumeck Muchnick and Justin Ross Muchnick have created an easy-to-use approach to learning important study skills and achieving academic success. With Straight-A Study Skills, you're guaranteed to sharpen your study skills, boost your grades, and position yourself for success!
Students put new ideas into action immediately, discover their abilities, and reach their full potential in the classroom and beyond. Numerous active learning tools help students create a foundation from which to build solid strategies for academic growth. An emphasis on Master Student Qualities encourages students to strive to develop the attitudes and behaviors of successful people, and new features provide actions they can take to make a positive change or implement a new skill in just one minute. And, with this edition, Cengage's MindTap course brings all of these assets to one place with an integrated technology solution.
Stress is an unavoidable part of our everyday lives--and some of it can be good. But a lot of stress is unhealthy, and most of us don't know how to handle it. Ignoring or mishandling unhealthy stress has all sorts of negative consequences. That's why Stress Management: A Wellness Approach is such a valuable resource. This student-friendly guide identifies stressors in six dimensions of life--physical, emotional, intellectual, social, spiritual, and environmental--and presents tested tools that students can use in managing that stress in healthy ways.
College Reading and Study Skills provides complete coverage of both reading and study skills while demonstrating their relationship and interdependency. The "McWhorter Way" encourages students to approach reading and study skills as methods of selecting, processing, and organizing the information to be learned. The text also covers time management, analysis of learning style, note-taking strategies, improving vocabulary, and strengthening critical comprehension-elements crucial to student success.
A frank, streetwiseOur Bodies, Our Selvesfor young men and women. What's the best way to minimize a hangover? Is it normal to have sex without experiencing an orgasm? How can you tell if a friend of yours is suffering from an eating disorder? Does smoking pot have long-term consequences? Does Seasonal Affective Disorder really exist? These are the questions young people are asking ... and until now, there's been no reliable book that has provided sensible, honest, and comforting answers specifically for this audience. TheGo Ask Alice Book of Answers is a groundbreaking guide that mines the best material from the eponymous award-winning Web site. From sex and relationships to alcohol and drugs to fitness and nutrition, this comprehensive handbook is the first of its kind to provide much-needed information for young adults who cannot get reliable or anonymous information from conventional channels.
Featuring advice from students and administrators at more than seventy of the nation's top colleges, the Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life lets you know how to how to thrive on campus as a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and/or questioning student. Including tons of student testimonials and dozens of parent tips, the Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life offers no-nonsense guidance to LGBT students, their families, and allies on how to make the most of their college experience. Learn how you can: ·Find an LGBT-friendly school ·Evaluate administrative policies related to LGBT student life ·Deal with homo/bi/transphobia on campus ·Participate in LGBT student activism ·Get support for your health and safety needs ·Fully integrate yourself into the campus community
The complete handbook for college-bound kids with learning disabilities. Planning for college can be one of the biggest moments in a teen's life, but for those students with learning and other disabilities, the college experience can be fraught with frustration, uncertainty, and lowered self-confidence. College Success for Students with Learning Disabilities offers teens the confidence, strategies, and guidance they need to effectively choose a college, get prepared for university life, and make the most of their collegiate experience.
This item is available at the South campus.
If you are looking for more books in the library on student success, check out the list we made below! You can print it out to bring to the library next time you're looking for resources to help you succeed. Our librarians would be happy to help you find even more if you cannot find what you are looking for!