Research Guides: BIOL 2401 / 2402 TR: Get Started

Choose Your Topic

Where do I find topic ideas?

Discuss your topic ideas with your class instructor or a reference librarian. It may be wise to set up an appointment so you can get extra help.
Here you will find a list of topic ideas from another community college library.
Explore current topics using one of the resources listed below.

The New England Journal of Medicine
Articles include landmark research, clinical insights, and medical breakthroughs.
Science
One of the leaders in publishing scientific news, research, and opinions.
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine, an interdisciplinary scholarly journal whose readers include biologists, physicians, students, and scholars, publishes essays that place important biological or medical subjects in broader scientific, social, or humanistic contexts.

Why do I need background information?

You can search the library to find many reference sources such as specialized encyclopedias.

TCC Libraries Advanced Search
To limit your search by format, author, or title, try the Advanced Search.

Tip: Medical dictionaries can help you further understand different aspects of your topic.

MedicineNet MedTerms Dictionary
MedicineNet is an online, healthcare media publishing company owned by WebMD. The site includes easy-to-read, in-depth, authoritative medical information for consumers via its robust, user-friendly, interactive website.
Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

The Facts on File Biology Handbook by The Diagram Group Staff
ISBN: 9780816058778
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Containing over 1,700 glossary entries, this title offers students a view of a vital branch of science. It contains sections that include: 125 advances in the biological sciences; a list of Nobel Prize winners in physiology or medicine, as well as their biographical information; a guide to 50 award-winning Web sites for reference; and more.
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Health and Medicine by Facts on File, Inc. Staff
ISBN: 9780816060634
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
As medical and scientific breakthroughs lead physicians to a deeper understanding of human health, personal knowledge of the different body systems, their functions, and the myriad issues confronting them is becoming increasingly important. The Facts On File Encyclopedia of Health and Medicine is a comprehensive, four-volume reference that is perfect for a wide audience.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Jacqueline L. Longe; Thomson Gale Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 9781414403687
Publication Date: 2006-06-23
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.