Skip to Main Content

ARTS 1301 NE Kluthe

This guide is for students taking ARTS 1301 with Vicki Kluthe.

TCC Learning Commons

Labs and Tutoring

Need help with something other than the library? Use the links below to get connected to another area of the TCC Learning Commons.

Get More Help from a Librarian

Course Guide Banner

Welcome to the library course guide for
Arts 1301 - Art Appreciation

 

This guide is to help you succeed with your "Art-isms" assignment in Professor Kluthe's course.

Art-isms Assignment

Art-ism Artist Assignment Information for Parts A & B:

-ism - noun suffix, Definition of ism 1: a distinctive doctrine, cause, or theory,

Noun: Cubism, Impressionism, and other artistic -isms.

Part A - Work Cited Page = 100 points

Part B - PowerPoint Report = 200 points   

The Assignment information can be found in > Canvas > Modules AARP

The class will go to the Library for one and a half classes. See Canvas announcements for dates.

Use TCCD-NE librarian’s Handout regarding databases, search list & research, which was built just for this. 

It is Imperative that you research your artist thoroughly.  See the library handout and start your research early. The librarians will provide a wealth of information on how to acquire Art History and Biographical research information so use it. Choose your references wisely, go for the ones with the most Information: Biography & Painting references & information. Search more than just one time because more references are better than having too few references. College Level Encyclopedias from the TCCD-NE Library and databases are OK!  

But NO! Wikipedia or Encyclopedias Britannica type References.

 

Late Policy 

For each day Part A -- Work Cited Paper is late 20% will be deducted from your total grade.

Late Part B -- PowerPoints cannot be excepted.

Everyone Uploads the PowerPoint on the same day in Canvas. No Late presentations!

Part A – Information: Art-ism Artist Work Cited / Bibliography (AAWC):

*References Requirements for the Work Cited Page & PowerPoint Report*

Search & Find 5 or more reputable research references gathered from the NE Library references guide.

The following references below are what is required for your Work Cited page and PowerPoint.

  • 2+ physical books - book from TCCD Library.
  • 2+ eBooks - TCC Library search database
  • 1+ Professional e-Article - TCC Library search database.
  • All images and quotes must be cited on the Work Cited Page
  • Use MLA Style for citations
  • Size 12 font for Times New Roman, or a comparable font.
  • Include the Work Cited Page on the last slide in your PowerPoint.
  • Submit a copy of your Work Cited Page into the Canvas Assignment "Part A - WC Art=ism Artist".

 

How to Build a Work-Cited (WC)/ Bibliography (after you have searched):                                                        

How to compose Work Cited Page (WCP) / Bibliography, use the MLA style Booklet found in TCCD Library’s home page.

Go to > Tutorials & Academic Support, See > Citation Resources and other information.

  • Build your Work Cited Page in MLA Style - in alphabetical order by author’s last name in a MS Word Document.
  • Check the MLA Style for the correct way to enter and organize your references.
  • Build your Work cited Page: Font & Size = Times New Roman 12 
  • At the top of the WC page include your name and your artist’s name.
  • Include Your Work Cited page on the last slide of your PowerPoint presentation.
  • For MLA or Research Help see TCCD Library or NE Writing Lab.

 

Part B – Information: Art-ism Artist PowerPoint Report and Class Presentation

After researching your artist use the following information below to help build an informative PowerPoint Report.   

  • Your PowerPoint must be a combination of Art Images and Text and Presented in Class.
  • The PowerPoints must have at least 15 or more Slides.
  • First Slide = Title Slide will include your name and your Art-ism Artist name.
  • Last slide is your Work Cited page.

The Art-ism Artist PowerPoint Report must include the following:

  • Artist information = Who, What, Where, When, and How.
  • Dates, Places, influences, and Art-ism Era / art movement.
  • At least 8 or more important images of the Artist Artwork.
  • Collect good art images of medium or larger file size or to use in your Presentation.
  • Show the artist’s most famous and best artwork.
    • You can use Wikipedia or Wikicommons for images which are very good. Just be sure to copy the image information along with the pictures.
    • This information can be listed on the slide with the image, or at the end of the presentation listed after the Work Cite information.
  • Use good grammar in short bullet point lines of text. No long passages!
  • Write the PowerPoint information in Third Person. For information see the handout or ask TCC Library or the TCCD-NE Learning/Writing Lab.
  • Use descriptive words to describe the Artist artwork and Art-ism Movement.
  • Think about the principles and elements of design as you write about the art images.
  • Your Work Cited page must be on the last slide of your PowerPoint.

Use Quotes

  • Quotes are a requirement for this PowerPoint Report.
  • Use 2 small Quotes to back up your findings from your Research References which must be included in your PowerPoint.
  • Look at MLA Style on how to include quotes in the body of your PowerPoint, for MLA help see TCCD Library’s Home Page.

How to Save:

Word: Go to File > Save As 

Name your file - Your last name, 1st initial, your Artist name, Semester (Sp24), & “file type”.

Example = KlutheVMonet.FL22. MS Word Document 

 

Google Docs/Slides: Go to File > Download > PDF

Name your file - Your last name, 1st initial, your Artist name, Semester (Sp24), & “file type”.

Example = KlutheVMonet.FL22. PDF

Have a Backup Plan for your WC Page and Artist PowerPoint for problems that might happen i.e.,

word processing and submitting trouble/problems. No Late Assignment will be Excepted.