*Business & Industry Library Research Overview

Did you know that current TCC students can request books from other TCC library locations to be sent to the TCC campus library of your choice for pick up? Not all items can be requested (for example, reference or reserve items). Know when your assignment is due, plan ahead, and start your research early to give yourself enough time to take advantage of this option!

Search the catalog

1. Start on the TCC Libraries homepage
2. Find TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
3. Select "In the Library"
4. Select your home campus (or leave as "Any Campus" to search all TCC library locations)
5. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click Search 
6. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results
7. If the item is available, results will show where it is available at
   • If the item is at more than one campus you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item.

Find on the shelf

1. Use the location information from the catalog record to help you locate the item in the library. 
2. The information after the library name will tell you what section of the library the item is in.
   • If it says "Circulating Collection" these you can check out and take out of the library. You will find these on the shelves.
   • If it says "Library Reserves" these books will be held at the library's circulation desk. Most of these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours.
   • Other books may list something else (for example, "New Arrivals" or "Oversized"). Books may be on display or part of a specific collection.
3. Look for signs on the ends of the shelves to find the shelf the book should be on, then match the call number listed in the catalog to the call number on the spine of the book to locate the item on the shelf. (How do I read a call number?)
4. If you need help finding a book, stop by the reference desk in the library to get help from a librarian. 

Don't forget that the library has a large collection of eBooks available! 

Search the catalog

1. Start on the TCC Libraries homepage
2. Find TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
3. Select "Ebooks"
4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click Search 
5. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results

Access online

1. After you have searched for and located an eBook in the library catalog, click on "Available Online" or the book title to open up the catalog record.
2. Use the link(s) listed under View Online to access the eBook.

The library does not collect textbooks, however we may have a copy of your textbook if your instructor has placed one on reserve. Generally these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours. You can search our Course Reserves using the steps below. You can also stop by the library or chat with us online. We are always happy to check to see if we have a book available.

Search the catalog

1. Start on the TCC Libraries homepage
2. Find TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
3. Select "Course Reserves"
4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, course instructor name, course code).
5. If the item is available, results will show where it is available at.
   • If the item is at more than one campus you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item.

Find in the library

Visit the library's circulation desk to check out books that are part of the Reserves collection. Make sure you have your TCC ID with you. You'll need it to check out library materials.

Find in the library

Access online

• If searching for the newspaper in the TCC Library Catalog, if access is available online, look under View Online - Full Text Availability for links to access online.
• You can also try using the same steps for searching for a specific journal to search for a specific newspaper. 
• The library also has access to news publications and databases in our database list. Use the alphabetical list of databases to locate a particular one using the title, or browse the databases by subject and look at the group of databases listed under News and Controversial Issues. 

Find in the library

Streaming video

• You can limit your search of the TCC Library Catalog for Streaming Video by selecting the Streaming Video option. Look under View Online - Full Text Availability in the item record for links to access online.
• Browse through the streaming video databases listed in our database list. Under the TCC Article Databases options, use the "by subject" option and look at the databases listed under Streaming Video.

Find in the library

Access online

• If searching for the magazine in the TCC Library Catalog, if access is available online, look under View Online - Full Text Availability for links to access online.
• You can also try using the same steps for searching for a specific journal to search for a specific magazine. 
• The library also has a couple of databases that specifically provide access to popular magazines. Refer to the Library Resources box on this page for more information.