Location: South - Jenkins Garrett Library
When the going gets chilly and daylight is in short supply, the cozy cabin is the place to be. And here is the ultimate companion for cosier, comfier cold-weather cooking from the IACP Award-winning duo of Marnie Hanel and Jen Stevenson...
Location: Southeast - Judith J. Carrier Library
When the weather turns cold, what could be better than sitting by the fire and enjoying home-cooked food with family and friends. From comforting casseroles and bakes to seasonal snacks and warming drinks - this is the ideal cook's companion for the winter months...
Location: Northeast - J. Ardis Bell Library
From Icebox Pinwheel Cookies to Red-and-White Meringue Kisses to Apple Cider Caramels, find new inspiration for the best of seasonal baking with Holiday Cookies. This instant holiday classic is packed with 50 recipes, each gorgeously photographed and meticulously tested, along with dozens of decorating and packaging ideas...
Location: Northeast - J. Ardis Bell Library; Southeast - Judith J. Carrier Library
Pat and Gina Neely, the beloved husband-and-wife team and authors of the New York Times best seller Down Home with the Neelys, are all about lettin' the good times roll. It takes family, friends, and ample good food, and in their new book, they share their recipes and secrets for entertaining year-round, dishing up new spins on seasonal classics, and suggesting occasions to celebrate that most of us haven't thought of ourselves...
Location: South - Jenkins Garrett Library; Southeast - Judith J. Carrier Library
Taste of Home Christmas is a holiday cookbook filled with appetizers and beverages, breads, sides, sweets--cookies, candies, cakes, pies and more. Included is classic fare, as well as updated twists on old-time favorites. Let Taste of Home help you plan your holiday parties and menus with this idea-packed cookbook...
Location: Northeast - J. Ardis Bell Library; Northwest - Walsh Library; South - Jenkins Garrett Library; Southeast - Judith J. Carrier Library
This updated and revised cookbook helps students explore the holiday customs and unique foods of more than 150 countries...This new edition of Holidays of the World Cookbook for Students provides detailed information about the holidays of nations around the world and presents a multitude of selected recipes that are ideal for each celebration...
Location: Northeast - J. Ardis Bell Library
...Let's Eat follows the calendar of Jewish holidays to include food from the many different Jewish communities around the world; in doing so, it brings the values that are the foundation of Judaism into focus. It also covers the way these foods have ended up on the Jewish menu and how Jews, as they wandered through the world, have influenced and been influenced by other nations and cuisines. Including over 40 recipes, this delicious review of the role of food in Jewish life offers a lively history alongside the traditions of one of the world's oldest faiths.
Location: Northwest - Walsh Library
With its trademark snow, piney forests, sleigh rides and woodsmoke curling out of village chimneys, New England was practically invented for the Christmas postcard. It's got your Christmas goose and the maple syrup with which to glaze it. It's most of the reason author Ellen Stimson made Vermont her home. Here she shares recipes that have been in her family for generations, mixes up a cocktail or two, and invites readers to make their own traditions.
Location: South - Jenkins Garrett Library; Trinity River - Tahita Fulkerson Library
Filled with Paula's trademark Southern charm, Christmas with Paula Deen is a collection of beloved holiday recipes and cherished stories. "I've gone through all my books and put together this collection of my most treasured recipes and memories for the holiday season to share with you...You'll find a few new dishes, a sprinkling of new holiday stories, and some family pictures you might not have seen before." ...
Location: Trinity River - Tahita Fulkerson Library
"You absolutely can make holiday meals with ease and with pleasure!" says slow cooker champion Phyllis Pellman Good. Her latest collection, Fix-It and Forget-It Christmas Cookbook: 600 Slow Cooker Holiday Recipes, will fill your head with menu ideas, give you gentle guidance with each recipe, and deliver dishes that your friends and family will love.
Location: South - Jenkins Garrett Library
Debbie Moose's Southern Holidays is a cook's celebration of the richly diverse holiday traditions of today's South. Covering big traditional holidays such as Christmas and Mardi Gras, this must-have addition to the Savor the South® cookbook collection also branches out into regional and cultural holidays that honor newer southern traditions, including recipes from real cooks hailing from a range of ethnic traditions and histories...
Location: South - Jenkins Garrett Library; Southeast - Judith J. Carrier Library
From its pre-Christian origins to the present, food has always been central to Christmas; a feast at which tradition, nostalgia, innovation, symbolism, and indulgence all come together at the table. This book explores the rich story of Christmas food and feasting, tracing the history of how our festive menu evolved and inherited elements of pagan ritual, medieval traditions, early modern innovations, Victorian romanticism, and contemporary commercialism. Although it makes reference to global traditions, it focuses specifically on the story of how the British Christmas meal evolved, both on its native shores and beyond...
Location: South - Jenkins Garrett Library
What's better than pie? How about recipes for 60 delicious pies and tarts from cooking maven Ashley English and top food bloggers like Beatrice Peltre, Aran Goyoaga, and Jessie Oleson? These beautifully photographed seasonal recipes include such delights as a Chocolate & Orange Marmalade Tart in winter, a Strawberry & Rhubarb Ginger Hand Pie in spring, a classic Lattice Top Triple Berry Pie in summer, and Rosemary Bourbon Sweet Potato Pie in autumn. A Basics section offers six piecrust recipes, troubleshooting tips, and advice on selecting seasonal ingredients. Named one of Booklist's Top Ten Food Books of 2012!
Location: Northeast - J. Ardis Bell Library
A James Beard Finalist in the International Cookbook Category
In Jewish Holiday Cooking, Jayne Cohen shares a wide-ranging collection of traditional Jewish recipes, as well as inventive new creations and contemporary variations on the classic dishes. For home cooks, drawing from the rich traditions of Jewish history when cooking for the holidays can be a daunting task. Jewish Holiday Cooking comes to the rescue with recipes drawn from Jayne Cohen's first book, The Gefilte Variations -- called an "outstanding debut" by Publisher's Weekly -- as well as over 100 new recipes and information on cooking for the holidays. More than just a cookbook, this is the definitive guide to celebrating the Jewish holidays...
Location: Southeast - Judith J. Carrier Library; Trinity River - Tahita Fulkerson Library
Holiday time is hectic time, and nobody knows better than TV's Mr. Food Test Kitchen, how to take the stress out of the holidays and make them taste better. This book includes more than 150 recipes for everything from survival meals (for those busy before the holiday), breakfast, party munchies, mouthwatering main dishes, side dishes, breads, desserts, cookies, drinks and even edible gift bags!...
Location: Northeast - J. Ardis Bell Library; South - Jenkins Garrett Library
When first published, The Texas Holiday Cookbook drew rave reviews and gained a national following. In this new edition, truly Texan recipes like Margarita Balls and Really Whomped-Up Mashed Potatoes have been updated for contemporary tastes, products, equipment, techniques, and lifestyle concerns such as nutrition profiles...
Location: South - Jenkins Garrett Library
The follow-up to the bestselling Michael Symon's 5 in 5, Michael Symon's 5 in 5 for Every Season delivers 150 quick, easy, fresh recipes organized by season with an entire chapter devoted to making the holidays simpler than ever. Each chapter-spring, summer, fall, winter, and holidays-features inspired main courses as well as (for the first time) recipes for sides and brunch dishes. A special bonus box per chapter provides 5 fun ways to celebrate the season, such as 5 hot drinks for winter and 5 great back-to-school or back-to-work snacks in fall.
Location: Northeast - J. Ardis Bell Library
Entertaining friends and family can be a challenge when you're vegan and gluten-free. It can be even trickier when you're not, but a family member or close friend is. So what do you do when you want to prepare a gluten-free and vegan holiday dinner for eight? Turn to Gluten-Free and Vegan Holidays for help! Jennifer Katzinger, author of the popular Flying Apron's Gluten-Free & Vegan Baking Book makes celebrating the holidays simple and stylish with seventy delicious, satisfying recipes for our most cherished holidays...
Charles Dickens' A Christmas carol
A Charlie Brown Christmas
Christmas in Yellowstone : winter in America's National Park
Craft in America. Celebration
Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch stole Christmas
Frank Capra's It's a wonderful life
Frank Capra's It's a wonderful life
Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer