ENGL 1302

Good first module intro to literature. Touches on issues of high and low art, "timelessness" of literature, canon formation, and issues of representation

Module 11
Brief descriptions and videos for formalism, Marxism, feminism, psychoanalysis, New Historicism, and Ecocritism

Module 9
Entire book on one page--short for a book, long for a web page
Detailed sections for multiple critical approaches, from new criticism and psychoanalysis to poetics and ecocriticism

Module 9
Not so deep as the title suggests, this chapter points to

Module 11
BRIEF overview of several branches of literary theory
Good for short introduction to multiple critical lenses

Module 11
Describes Reader-response, psychoanalysis, feminist, postcolonial

Module 11

Module 11
Description, lists of significant theorists, lists of critical questions for moral criticism, formalism, psychoanalysis, Marxism, Reader-response, Structuralism, Deconstruction, New Historicism, Post-colonial, Feminism, Gender studies

Module 2
Writing literacy narrative
Addresses rhetorical situation and narrative elements

Module 3, 4
Basic intro to narrative elements

Module 7
Chapter addresses narrative elements: plot, point of view, character, setting, theme, symbol, style & tone, and irony

by Wyn Kelley, MIT
Starts with close reading, but also extends the close reading into multiple assignments

by Bennett Sherry and Bridgette Byrd O;Connor, OER Project
Four examples, including a social media close reading example that might be fun to do in class/group work

Very specific, straightforward, ready to use assignment

Module 14

Module 14

Module 14

Brief description and instructions for freewriting as a prewriting activity. Includes video.

Brief description and instructions for clustering as a prewriting activity. Includes video

Brief description and instructions for "Reporter's Questions" as a prewriting activity of asking and then answering who, what, when, where, why, how.

Brief description and instructions for Listing as a prewriting activity.

Discusses several brainstorming strategies: Listing, Mapping, Freewriting, Looping, Asking Questions, and Talking

Module 8, 12
Annotated Bibliography - Discusses primary, secondary, and academic sources. Includes examples

Module 8, 12
Describes parts of annotated bibliography. Discussion of MLA style is pretty basic. Includes research vocabulary with definitions

Module 8, 12
Student example of annotated bibliography with descriptive annotations in blue. OpenStax OER also has an example annotated bibliography for this essay (See 1302 Supplement Module 13)"