Research Guides: ENGL 2342 SO: Literary Analysis Paper

Literature Criticism

Generally, the best sources for literary criticism are in the reference section of each TCC Campus Library. Literary criticism can be difficult to locate. Knowledgeable librarians are always available to help you in person or online.

Literary Reference Works

While many literary articles about Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone are available electronically through the library databases listed to the right, there is also information available in certain sets of library reference works.

According to the Gale Literary Index, the following reference works and volumes have entries on Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone:

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Also known as: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Children's Literature Review, volume(s) 66:78-86, 88-89, 91, 97, 102-09; 80:178, 181-82, 184-85, 191, 196, 198, 202-4; 112:127-29, 131-32, 137-38, 143, 145-46, 148-51, 155-56, 158-60, 165-67, 174, 176-77, 181, 187-88, 194, 199, 208-09

Contemporary Literary Criticism, volume(s) 137:306, 308-10, 313-15, 318, 322, 326-29, 331, 333, 337, 339; 217:174, 178-81, 183, 185, 187-88, 191, 195-96, 199-201, 208-10, 221, 223, 227-28, 230, 232, 237, 243, 245-46, 249, 253, 257-58, 261-62, 269, 271, 278, 283, 293, 295, 304, 309, 315, 322, 345, 354

Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults, volume(s) 11:209-19

Literature Criticism Video for Mobile Devices

This is an .m4v video that uses the Quicktime player and is viewable on the iphone.

Literature Databases

The library's electronic databases include several sources of literary criticism. The databases frequently used for critical articles in literature research include:

Literature Resource Center - Scribner Writer Series, Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new window
The Literature Resource Center database is one-stop-shopping for most of your literary criticism needs. Most of the literary criticism reference books in the campus libraries are published by Thomson Gale. The Gale Group also provides us with several databases that contain a majority of the information published in the reference books in an electronic and searchable format. You can search almost all of the Gale literary databases at the same time by using the Literature Resource Center.
TCCD
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
"For students, researchers, history buffs and literature lovers, there’s no better source than Literature Criticism Online to discover commentary on their favorite books and plays by the scholars of the day. How did the politics, religion and mores of centuries past influence literary critique? Draw comparisons and see how classic works have fared over the centuries via this resource’s easy-searching capabilities." [Thomson-Gale]
TCCD
Bloom's Literature (formerly Bloom's Literary Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
provides biography and literary criticism of world-famous writers. The material provided originally appeared in books written or edited by Harold Bloom, the nation's foremost authority on literature criticism.
TCCD

Literary Criticism Video

View this short video to learn about locating critical literary research in the Tarrant County College Libraries.

This is an .mp4 video that uses Shockwave/Flash.