Research Guides: CHEM 2289 SO Gilchrist: Finding Scholarly Sources

Database Basics

Finding a database

Use the links provided on this page or, on the library website, use the options listed under TCC Article Databases

Use the alphabetical list (drop-down or "Browse All") to find a specific database using the database title
Use the by subject list (drop-down or "Browse Subjects") to find a database, grouped by subject area

Using a database

For help with how to search a database:

Check our list of database tutorials
Look for things like "Help" or "Search Tips" on the database search screen
Try using the general search tips provided in this guide

Finding a Journal

Wondering if we have access to a specific journal?

Follow these steps to check:

On the library website, under TCC Article Databases, click on "How can I find electronic journal titles?"
Type in the Title or ISSN for the journal.
Press enter or click on the magnifying glass to search.
If we have access, click on the title of the journal.
If available to view online:
- Under "View Online" there will be a list of databases that have full text availability, along with the dates full text is available for.
- Click on a database to access the journal online.
- From there, you should have an option to search within that specific publication.
If available in print:
- The campus libraries that have the print journal available will be listed under "Locations".
- Click on the campus library location to view more details about what volumes are available.
- Print journals may only be viewed in the library and cannot be checked out.

Recommended Databases (Database links open in a new tab)

Below are the best databases to start with when researching topics in Chemistry.

Science: Gale In Context
a collection of full text articles, topic overviews, and experiments from academic journals, magazines, reference books and other types of publications. Also included are videos, images, and other multmedia material.
TexShare
ProQuest
indexes articles covering various subjects from thousands of periodicals, many full text, full image format.
TCCD
SciTech Premium Collection
includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
TexShare
GreenFILE
offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
TexShare

ScienceDirect
Advance research and scholarship with the world's leading database of peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical and health literature.

Journals

Listed below are a few of the Chemistry journals available through the library. To search for a specific journal, see the instructions on this page for finding a journal. To search for articles from a wide range of publications, search in the databases.

Nature Chemistry
Nature Chemistry is a monthly journal dedicated to publishing high-quality papers that describe the most significant and cutting-edge research in all areas of chemistry.
Results in Chemistry
Results in Chemistry is an open access journal, offering authors the opportunity to publish in all fundamental and interdisciplinary areas of chemistry and related fields
Current Research in Green and Sustainable Chemistry
Current Research in Green and Sustainable Chemistry is a peer-reviewed gold open access (OA) journal. CRGSC publishes original papers and short communications (including viewpoints and perspectives) resulting from research in green and sustainable chemistry and associated disciplines.
Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry
Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (ET&C) publishes original experimental or theoretical work that synthesizes knowledge, data, and evidence that predicts, measures, and assesses the fate and effects of chemical contaminants or non-chemical stressors on organisms or to ecosystems in an ecotoxicological context.
Pharmaceutical Chemistry Journal
Presents scientific and technical research on the creation of new drugs and the improvement of manufacturing technology. Covers the entire spectrum of new drug research, including methods of synthesis, results of pharmacological, toxicological, and biochemical studies and more.

CHEM 2289 SO Gilchrist: Finding Scholarly Sources