The simple answer is No, you can't just Google it. The TCC libraries pay for your access to the databases we provide, therefore that information is not available for free on the internet. Our vendors want to make sure that only TCC students access this information, which is why you have to login when you are using an off-campus computer.
Tutorials on using the different TCC library subscription databases can be found on the Database Tutorial Page.
To find a list of online library article databases by subject, click this link:
Gale OneFile: Psychology collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Finding Articles in Periodicals: Select one of the databases from the box above.
Off-Campus Note: If you are using a computer outside the TCC network, you will be redirected to a login page after you select one of the database services. The login page will give you specific instructions on entering your user name and password. If you have problems signing on, contact the library staff for assistance.
Once you find an article you want to use for your assignment, you may read it online, print it, email to your email account or save it to disk. The information is the same for all. Be sure if you are printing, emailing, or saving it to disk, that you check the box to include full text.
Caution: Be careful when emailing a PDF article, because those files can be quite large. Many email/Internet providers have strict limits on the size of messages and attachments, and oversized PDF attachments might be deleted automatically by your email server or exceed your available mailbox space.
Your MyTCC email address follows this format: username@my.tccd.edu
For instance, if yourMyTCC username is marion.librarian25667
then your MyTCC email address is: marion.librarian25667@my.tccd.edu
Once you have selected the database and followed any login instructions, enter your search terms. You can perform a basic or advanced search. The basic search is further divided by keywords or exact phrases. For most searches, basic keyword combinations [Example: privacy and terrorism] are sufficient. If you need to limit your results to "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" journals only, check the box labeled "peer-reviewed." In addition, check the box labeled "full text" (if available) so you will only get articles that include the full text.
Document formats: Once you have completed your search and are viewing the result list, you will notice that many articles are available in different formats.
If the documents are not what you are looking for, click on "Refine Search" and try other terms. Try searching synonyms, using specific phrases for exact searches, or use the Expand Search to locate related words.