Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (S0): Open Education Resources sources

OER - Resources

OpenStax CNX (Android): This app provides access to the OpenStax textbooks as well as the content in CNX. Use this app if you are using a personalized version of an OpenStax book.

OpenStax College (Android): Access the standard OpenStax textbooks on your Android phone through this app. Both the OpenStax CNX and OpenStax College apps allow you to take notes and export them to a text file.  

OpenStax College Companion Workbooks (iPhone): Learningpod developed workbooks in this app for use with various OpenStax books. The workbooks contain questions to help students prepare for exams in A&P, biology, sociology, and more. 

Open Stax: Rice Connections is providing peer-reviewed, quality open textbooks. There are some amazing textbooks available here, but some are still in production.
College Open Textbooks: This effort funded by the Hewlett Foundation, seeks to drive the adoption of open textbooks. Many of the books shared on this resources are reviewed.
Open Textbook Library: Hundreds of complete, open college-level textbooks.
BC OpenEd a curated collection of open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty.
Boundless: Boundless works with experts to compile web-based openly available content into the same general arrangement of textbooks. You can actually search the ISBN for your current textbook and see what content Boundless would use to replace it.
Open Academics: University of Minnesota collection of open textbooks with full reviews.
Global Textbook Project: High-level texts hosted or created by the University of Georgia.
Wikibooks: A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group written textbooks in a variety of sources follows rules similar to Wikipedia.
Project Gutenberg: Find the full text of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook creating organization in existence. Nothing fancy here, just files with the full text.
Google Books: Some books presented in this mass conglomeration of scanned books are fully available, most are excerpted.
Bloomsbury Academic: Bloomsbury is a well-respected and longtime UK publisher who has released some of their academic titles for open access/open education.

Ted: Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.
Khan Academy hundreds of short educational videos covering many subjects; especially strong collections in science and math.
PhET Science Simulations: These interactive tools from the University of Colorado at Boulder are mostly CC licensed.
Wikimedia Commons: The thinkers behind Wikipedia bring you images, video and music all openly licensed or in the public domain.
CLIP Information Literacy Tutorials: Find great tutorials on information and research competencies.
HippoCampus: HippoCampus, a project of the Monterey Institute of Technology and Education (MITE), is full of high-quality resources in a variety of subjects. It is aimed at high school and college level users.
Jamendo: Songs by musicians who want to share their music.
Vimeo: A social network of video producers. This is a great place to look for a wide variety of content- some is completely open for redistribution, some is open access.
Critical Commons: A community of people who seek to promote the use of media in teaching. The materials posted here are mostly presented using Fair Use guidelines.

Other OER Sources

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources

Their mission is to expand access to education by promoting awareness and adoption of Open Educational Resources (OER). Over 200 colleges have joined the consortium and many more participate in their activities and use resources posted here

Moodle

Moodle is a free application that educators can use to create online learning sites.

Open Education Consortium

The Open Education Consortium is a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education. They envision a world where everyone, everywhere has access to the education they need to build their futures. They seek to instill openness as a feature of education around the world, allowing greatly expanded access to education while providing a shared body of knowledge upon which innovative and effective approaches to today’s social problems can be built. The Open Education Consortium realizes change by leveraging its sources of expert opinion, its global network and its position as the principal voice of open education.

OpenStax College

OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers.

Washington State's Open Course Library Project

The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.

The Open Education Resource (OER) Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit organisation that provides leadership, international networking and support for educators and educational institutions to achieve their objectives through Open Education.

OpenEd

OpenEd describes itself as "the world's largest educational resource catalog," currently with more than 250,000 videos, games, and other resources aligned to standards.

Lone Star College

provides resources and information for open educational resources. 

OpenEd

OpenEd describes itself as "the world's largest educational resource catalog," currently with more than 250,000 videos, games, and other resources aligned to standards.

Selected links from around the web:

OER Research Hub - This organization, based at London's Open University, researches several aspects of OER, including student performance, retention, impact on teaching, and assessment.

Open Education Group Review Project - conducts and publishes original research on the costs, efficacy, and adoption of OER. Links to a bibliography of OER articles and dissertations authored by researchers affiliated with the project. Primary researchers are Lane Fischer, John Hilton III, and David Wiley (all represented in the above bibliography). 

Dept. of Education's Office of Educational Technology - News on federal initiatives, publications, and policies supporting open education.

Opening the Curriculum - detailed findings from the Babson Research Group (2014) about the current state of OER in higher ed. Includes helpful data on faculty awareness of OER and licensing, barriers to implementation, and a comparison of OER with traditional learning objects.

Academic Earth (http://www.academicearth.org)

  • Free online lectures from universities such as Berkeley, UCLA, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford and Yale.
  • Subjects covered include: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Engineering, English, Entrepreneurship, History, Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion.

Berkeley Webcast (http://webcast.berkeley.edu/)

  • Freely available online course lectures from the University of California Berkeley
  • Prominent speakers and guest lectures are also available on demand.

CITE (http://thecite.blogspot.com)

  • A blog on course materials, innovation, and technology in education

Flat World Knowledge (http://www.flatworldknowledge.com)

  • Provides a new approach to college textbooks offering rigorously reviewed textbooks online free of cost to students
  • Offers full-text online for free and in a variety of affordable formats

Free Technology Academy (http://ftacademy.org/)

  • The Free Technology Academy consists of an advanced virtual campus with course modules that can be followed entirely online.
  • Learners enrolled in the FTA will be guided by professional teaching staff from the participating universities around the world.

Internet Archive: OERs (http://www.archive.org/details/education)

  • Provided by the Internet Archive library, hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China. Many of these lectures are available for download.

Khan Academy (http://www.khanacademy.org/)

  • An online collection of thousands of video tutorials on subjects such as mathematics, history, finance, physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy, and economics.

 Mendeley (http://www.mendeley.com)

  • Organize, share, and discover research papers
  • Explore research trends and connect to other academics in your discipline

Notre Dame Open Courseware (http://ocw.nd.edu/)

  • An open access portal to University of Notre Dame material used in courses.

Open Courseware Consortium (http://www.ocwconsortium.org)

  • Free and open digital publication of high quality educational materials, organized as courses.
  • A collaboration of more than 200 higher education institutions and associated organizations from around the world creating a board and deep body of open educational content using a shared model.

Open Yale (http://oyc.yale.edu/)

  • Another freely accessible, online collection of courseware, this from Yale University.
  • Lectures and course material available through YouTube and iTunes; no registration required.

WikiBooks (http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Main_Page)

  • An online wiki-based collection of over two thousand open-content textbooks. Fully editable, published under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike License.

Wikiversity (http://en.wikiversity.org/wiki/Portal:Tertiary_Education)

  • Another wiki-based resource containing thousands of open educational resources on the university level.

Wolfram|Alpha (http://www.wolframalpha.com/)

  • A free online computational knowledge engine. Highly useful for complex queries, high level mathematical computation, and statistical comparisons.

 World Digital Library (http://www.wdl.org/en/)

  • Primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, made available online free of charge.