Research Guides: CHEM 1411 General Chemistry I : Online Study Guides

Recommended Ebooks

Below are some selected ebooks and quick reference guides that will assist you with CHEM 1411 concepts. You can work through these books on your computer or another device any time you want to practice.

50 Chemistry Ideas You Really Need to Know by Hayley Burch
Also available in print at SE Campus; Call Number: QD37 .B57 2015
Chemistry: 1,001 Practice Problems for Dummies by Heather Hattori; Richard H. Langley
Also available in print. Call Number: QD31.3 .M377 2014. 1001 Chemistry Practice Problems For Dummies provides students with practice on what they learn in class.
Chemistry: a Very Short Introduction by Peter Atkins
Also available in print. Call Number: QD33.2 A8556 2015. Atkins shows how chemistry provides the infrastructure of our world, through the chemical industry, the fuels of heating, power generation, and transport, as well as the fabrics of our clothing and furnishings. By considering the remarkable achievements that chemistry has made, and examining its place between both physics and biology, Atkins presents a fascinating, clear, and rigorous exploration of the world of chemistry - its structure, core concepts, and exciting contributions to new cutting-edge technologies.
Chemistry: Understanding Substance and Matter by Russell Kuhtz (Editor)
Chemistry is the study of matter and the chemical changes that matter undergoes. In this illuminating volume, readers learn about the history of chemistry and the concepts they might encounter in an introductory chemistry course, including chemical and volumetric analysis, atomic theory, gravitation, elements and the periodic table, chemical reactions and formulas, and organic and inorganic compounds and bonds.
Chemistry Essentials for Dummies by John T. Moore
Chemistry Essentials For Dummies contains content focused on key topics only with explanations of critical concepts taught in a typical two-semester high school chemistry class or a college-level Chemistry I course, from bonds and reactions to acids, bases, and the mole. oom who just need to a refresher of the core concepts.
Chemistry in the Marketplace by Ben Selinger; Russell Barrow
This sixth edition of Chemistry in the Marketplace provides fresh explanations, fascinating facts, and funny anecdotes about the serious science in the products we buy and the resources we use. With chapters on the chemistry found in different parts of our home, in the backyard, and in the world around us, Ben Selinger and Russell Barrow explain how things work, where marketing can be deceptive, and what risks you should really be concerned about.
Chemistry Terminology by BarCharts, Inc.
Quick reference guide
Chemistry Workbook for Dummies by Chris Hren; Peter J. Mikulecky
Also available in print. Call Number: QD33.2 .C49 2015 at SE Library. Chemistry Workbook For Dummies is your ultimate companion for introductory chemistry at the high school or college level. Packed with hundreds of practice problems, this workbook gives you the practice you need to internalize the essential concepts that form the foundations of chemistry.
Counting Moles by Nigel P. Freestone (Editor); Atta-ur-Rahman (Editor)
Students studying chemistry often struggle with the mole. Counting Moles provides an effective aid to learning by giving clear and confident presentation of the essentials of the mole concept needed by those starting chemistry courses.
Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Don Rittner, Ronald A. Bailey
Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Revised Edition is the definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide academic and early college students with the most complete information available.
Everything You Need to Know About Basic Chemistry Concepts by Zach Hartman
Everything You Need to Know About Chemical Nomenclature by Mary Barrett
Everything You Need to Know About Math for General Chemistry by Joseph E. Williams
General Chemistry by Rainer Roldan Fiscal
This book gives an introduction of chemistry covering its importance and applications in daily lives.
Inorganic Chemistry for Dummies by Michael Matson; Alvin W. Orbaek
Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies features a thorough introduction to the study of the synthesis and behavior of inorganic and organometallic compounds. In plain English, it explains the principles of inorganic chemistry and includes worked-out problems to enhance your understanding of the key theories and concepts of the field.
Nursing - Chemistry by BarCharts, Inc.
Our 3-panel (6-page) guide is an ideal resource for nursing students who want a handy reference, this guide covers the key concepts, principles, figures and formulas that nursing and allied health students will need to know to excel.
Periodic Table Basic by Mark Jackson
The ultimate reference tool and lab partner for any science student, authored and designed to fit as much info as possible in this handy 2-page format. One chart with the table on both sides with different values for each element per side.

Library Databases

The library databases below have good explanations and resources for CHEM 1411 topics. If you have any questions, please Ask a Librarian!

Gale Academic OneFile: Chemistry Topics: Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Science, academic journals, magazines, images, and news
Gale in Context: Science: Includes journal articles, videos, news, images, encyclopedia articles, simulations, and experiments for each topic. A selection of topics is below. Topics are added and updated regularly.

Practice Tests, More Ebooks, and Tutorials

Mometrix Test Preparation This link opens in a new window
TCCD

You will have to search within Mometrix for study materials, but it is well worth the effort if you are preparing for an entrance exam!

Mometrix Academy: Click the link to Mometrix Academy on the left side of the Mometrix homepage and scroll down to the Subject Review section.
Search Box: Use the search box at the top of the main Mometrix page to find ebooks, practice tests, and online flashcards.