Skip to Main Content

Chemistry Overview

Guide created to support research in Chemistry at TCC

TCC Writing Centers

pencil iconThe Writing Centers at TCC are located on every campus and can help you with your citation and formatting questions. Visit the Writing and Reading Support Canvas page to chat with a tutor, schedule an appointment, and learn more about their services and how they can help. 

Plagiarism Tutorials

Refer to the TCC Student Handbook for information regarding academic integrity and prohibited behaviors, including a definition and examples of plagiarism (Student Code of Conduct, Article III, Item 31). 

The TCC Libraries offer two tutorials about plagiarism and how to avoid it. The tutorials cover the same content but use different citation styles. 

Citations

For more help with citations check our Citation guide or reach out to the Writing Center. 

Recommended Resources - APA

In the library:

Additional resources:

Book in Print

Currano, J. N., & Roth, D. (2014). Chemical information for chemists: a primer. Royal Society of Chemistry.

 

Journal Article

Weschler, C. J., & Carslaw, N. (2018). Indoor Chemistry. Environmental Science & Technology, 52(5), 2419–2428. https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.est.7b06387

Recommended Resources - ACS

ACS Style Online:

In the library:

Additional resources:

Book in print

Frankel, F. Picturing Science and Engineering; MIT Press, 2018.

 

Journal Article 

Foster, J. C.; Varlas, S.; Couturaud, B.; Coe, J.; O’Reilly, R. K. Getting into Shape: Reflections on a New Generation of Cylindrical Nanostructures’ Self-Assembly Using Polymer Building Block. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2019, 141 (7), 2742−2753. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.8b08648

 

Website

ACS Publications Home Page. https://pubs.acs.org/ (accessed 2019-02-21).

Citations from the Databases

check mark

Remember to check all your citations!

Most databases have a citation feature that allows you to copy the full citation for your source in your chosen format. This is a great way to get started with your reference list, but citations pulled from databases are not always 100% correct! 

  • Pay attention to details such as names, dates, capitalization, and punctuation.
  • Pay attention to what edition of the citation style is being used.
  • Remember that it is up to you to check over all your citations to make sure they are complete, accurate, and formatted correctly according to the citation style you are using.

Click below to view where to find the citation information in the different library databases. 

Screenshot from the Bloom's Literature database

  • Look to the top of the item for "Citation" 
  • Select the citation format that you want
  • Formats available include MLA, Chicago, Harvard, and APA

Screenshot from the CINAHL Complete database

CINAHL Complete, Communication and Mass Media Complete from EBSCO, eBook Collection from EBSCOhost

  • Look to the right of the item for an icon that looks like a document. If viewing the PDF, you'll only see the icon. If you are in the detailed record view, you will see "Cite" next to the icon, which will be listed under the "Tools" on the right side of the screen.
  • Scroll down to locate the citation format you want
  • Formats available include ABNT, AMA, APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Vancouver/ICMJE

Screenshot from a Gale database

  • Look to the top of the item for "Cite"
  • Click on the citation format that you want
  • Formats available include MLA, APA, Chicago, and Harvard

Screenshot from the JSTOR database

  • Look to the top of the item for "Cite"
  • Formats available include MLA, Chicago, and APA

Screenshot from a ProQuest database

  • Look to the top of the item for "Cite"
  • Use the drop-down menu to select the citation format
  • Formats available to choose from include MLA, Chicago, APA, Harvard, and many others

Screenshot from the PubMed database

  • Look to the right of the item for "Cite" (or to the top of the item if viewing on a smaller screen size)
  • Use the drop-down menu to select the citation format
  • Formats available include AMA, APA, MLA, and NLM

Screenshot from the TCC Library Catalog

  • In the item record, look for "Citation" listed in the options under "Send to" (located just below the item information listed at the top of the record)
  • Click on the citation format that you want
  • Formats available include MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, and Harvard