Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1302 SO

This guide is designed to assist you in your research of literary topics for ENGL 1302.

Database Basics

Use the links provided on this page or, on the library website, use the options listed under TCC Article Databases

  • Use the alphabetical list (drop-down or "Browse All") to find a specific database using the database title
  • Use the by subject list (drop-down or "Browse Subjects") to find a database, grouped by subject area

For help with how to search a database:

  • Check our list of database tutorials
  • Look for things like "Help" or "Search Tips" on the database search screen
  • Try using the general search tips provided in this guide

Additional Databases

Citations from the Databases

Remember to check all your citations!

Most databases have a citation feature that allows you to copy the full citation for your source in your chosen format. This is a great way to get started with your reference list, but citations pulled from databases are not always 100% correct! 

  • Pay attention to details such as names, dates, capitalization, and punctuation.
  • Pay attention to what edition of the citation style is being used.
  • Remember that it is up to you to check over all your citations to make sure they are complete, accurate, and formatted correctly according to the citation style you are using.

Click below to view where to find the citation information in the different library databases. 

Screenshot from the Bloom's Literature database

  • Look to the top of the item for "Citation" 
  • Select the citation format that you want
  • Formats available include MLA, Chicago, Harvard, and APA

Screenshot from the CINAHL Complete database

CINAHL Complete, Communication and Mass Media Complete from EBSCO, eBook Collection from EBSCOhost

  • Look to the right of the item for an icon that looks like a document. If viewing the PDF, you'll only see the icon. If you are in the detailed record view, you will see "Cite" next to the icon, which will be listed under the "Tools" on the right side of the screen.
  • Scroll down to locate the citation format you want
  • Formats available include ABNT, AMA, APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Vancouver/ICMJE

Screenshot from a Gale database

  • Look to the top of the item for "Cite"
  • Click on the citation format that you want
  • Formats available include MLA, APA, Chicago, and Harvard

Screenshot from the JSTOR database

  • Look to the top of the item for "Cite"
  • Formats available include MLA, Chicago, and APA

Screenshot from a ProQuest database

  • Look to the top of the item for "Cite"
  • Use the drop-down menu to select the citation format
  • Formats available to choose from include MLA, Chicago, APA, Harvard, and many others

Screenshot from the PubMed database

  • Look to the right of the item for "Cite" (or to the top of the item if viewing on a smaller screen size)
  • Use the drop-down menu to select the citation format
  • Formats available include AMA, APA, MLA, and NLM

Boxes around and arrows pointing to the quotation mark icon and the citation format options on a chart in the Statista database

  • Find the citation by clicking on the quotation mark icon or by clicking on the view options under Citation formats located under the source information
  • Available citation styles include APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, Bluebook, and IEEE

Screenshot from the TCC Library Catalog

  • In the item record, look for "Citation" listed in the options under "Send to" (located just below the item information listed at the top of the record)
  • Click on the citation format that you want
  • Formats available include MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, and Harvard