Research Guides: EDUC 1301 SO: Articles

Articles

Searching for Articles

Use databases or the library catalog to search for articles. When searching for articles on a topic, remember to think carefully about your search terms. Being a little more thoughtful in your searching will give you better results. Use these steps to create your search strategy:

In one sentence, describe your topic or question.
Underline the main concepts in your sentence.
Write out your main concepts; keep them simple -- one word or a short phrase.
Think about synonyms for each of these and keep a list.
Use combinations of these words and their synonyms in your search box; link concepts with AND.
- For example: social issues AND students; teachers AND student learning

Recommended Databases

Below are the best databases to start with when researching topics in EDUC 1301. Database links open in a new tab.

Educator's Reference Complete : Gale OneFile
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete is a collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
TCCD

Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center contains indexing and abstracts from over 250 journals and magazines for K-12 teachers and librarians. Topics include assessment, best practices, pedagogical research, curriculum development and more.

Additional Databases

TCC Library Databases A-Z
Full list of TCC Library Databases, alphabetically by database title
TCC Library Databases by Subject
List of TCC Library Databases, organized by subject

The following database links open in a new tab.

JSTOR
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.
TCCD
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale In Context
consists of a collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, and an assortment of multmedia clips from academic journals, magazines, and other types of publications.
TexShare
Research Library - ProQuest
has full-text articles and citiations covering a wide range of academic subjects from journals, magazines, and other types of publications dating from 1971 to the present.
TCCD

Journals

Listed below are some of the education journals available through the library. To search for a specific journal, see the instructions on this page for finding a journal.

EDUC 1301 SO

Off-Campus Access

Database Basics

Finding a database

Using a database

Database FAQs

Finding a Journal

Wondering if we have access to a specific journal?

Searching for Articles

Recommended Databases

Additional Databases

Journals