Skip to Main Content

Emergency Medical Services Overview

General library overview for beginning research and finding resources in emergency medical services at TCC

Off-campus access to library databases is limited to current TCC students, faculty, and staff only. Use your TCC email and password when prompted to log in. If you have problems accessing library resources, contact the library staff for help.

Articles

Recommended Databases

Below are the best databases to start with when researching emergency medical services-related topics (links open in a new tab)

Journals

  • To search for a specific journal, see the instructions on this page for finding a journal. (Under Additional Resources - Databases & Journals - More Help)
  • To search for articles from a wide range of publications, search in the databases.

Listed below are a few of the emergency medical services-related publications available through the library. These are just a few of the available titles. Search the library catalog to find more.

Additional Resources

  • Click on the tab for additional resources.
  • To access library resources, use your TCC email and password when prompted to log in.

To get to our databases or electronic journals, use the options under TCC Article Databases. 

TCC Article DatabasesHere you can:

  1. Find a specific database by title
  2. Browse all of our databases listed alphabetically
  3. Find a list of databases by subject
  4. Browse all of our databases listed by subject
  5. Find more information about how to use TCC Article Databases
  6. Get to our journal search (where you can search for a specific journal to find out if we have access)

You can also use the links provided below to get to our lists of databases:

Full Text Links on PubMed results do not link to the TCC Library’s holdings!

You can easily find out if we have access to the full text by either copying and pasting the article title into our TCC Library Catalog search or by looking up the journal title to see if we have full text access to the journal. (Find step-by-step instructions on finding a specific journal in the Databases & Journals - More Help tab in this box.)

 

  • In addition to the databases recommended on this page, use the Databases by Subject list to find more databases based on your subject area.
  • Read the database descriptions. This will give you an idea of what is included in the database.
    To view the database description on the Databases by Title or Databases by Subject pages:
    • Hover over the title of the database, or
    • Click on the triangle after the database title, or
    • Select the checkbox on the top right of the page to "Show all descriptions" 
  • For help with how to search a database:
    • Check our list of database tutorials (link above)
    • Look for things like "Help" or "Search Tips" on the database search screen
  • Search more than just one database for information on your topic.

Follow these steps to check:

  1. On the library website, under TCC Article Databases, click on "How can I find electronic journal titles?"
  2. Type in the Title or ISSN for the journal.
  3. Press enter or click on the magnifying glass to search.
  4. If we have access, click on the title of the journal. 
  5. If available to view online:
    • Under "View Online" there will be a list of databases that have full text availability, along with the dates full text is available for.
    • Click on a database to access the journal online.
    • From there, you should have an option to search within that specific publication.
  6. If available in print:
    • The campus libraries that have the print journal available will be listed under "Locations".
    • Click on the campus library location to view more details about what volumes are available.
    • Print journals may only be viewed in the library and cannot be checked out.
You can search for a specific journal using the instructions on this page, but you can also search more generally with your keywords to pull up potentially relevant journals if you didn't have a specific title. For example, if you didn't have a specific business journal in mind, searching the journals with the term business will pull up a list of all the journal records that include business (in the journal title or elsewhere in the catalog record).

Some terms you could use to search for journals might be: emergency, emergency medical, emergency medicine, prehospital, etc.
If you want to search within a specific journal, in the journal's catalog record, there is a search box that gives you the option to search within the journal. You can also click on the links listed under "Full text availability" in the catalog record. These links should take you to the journal, where you should have the option to browse through the available issues or search within the publication.