Research Guides: HIST 1302 SO Snaples: Articles

Articles

Starting Your Research

Searching for Articles

Use databases or the library catalog to search for articles. When searching for articles on a topic, remember to think carefully about your search terms. Being a little more thoughtful in your searching will give you better results. Use these steps to create your search strategy:

In one sentence, describe your topic or question.
Underline the main concepts in your sentence.
Write out your main concepts; keep them simple -- one word or a short phrase.
Think about synonyms for each of these and keep a list.
Use combinations of these words and their synonyms in your search box; link concepts with AND.
- For example: social issues AND students; teachers AND student learning

Recommended Databases

Below are the best databases to start with when researching topics in HIST 1301. Database links open in a new tab.

JSTOR
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.
TCCD
Research Library - ProQuest
has full-text articles and citiations covering a wide range of academic subjects from journals, magazines, and other types of publications dating from 1971 to the present.
TCCD
U.S. History : Gale in Context
presents information on the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The database contains reference content and articles from full text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
TCCD
U.S. History : Gale OneFile
Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, thie library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
TCCD

Additional Databases

TCC Library Databases A-Z
Full list of TCC Library Databases, alphabetically by database title
TCC Library Databases by Subject
List of TCC Library Databases, organized by subject

Selected Academic History Websites

American Memory: Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and life"
The History Channel
"A&E Classroom and The History Channel Classroom offer a variety of free teaching materials designed to complement the programs we air in the Cable in the Classroom series. These sites also include programming calendars, show descriptions and contest information."
National Museum of American History: Smithsonian Institution
"The Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History dedicates its collections and scholarship to inspiring a broader understanding of our nation and its many peoples. We create opportunities for learning, stimulate imaginations, and present challenging ideas about our country’s past."

HIST 1302 SO Snaples

Off-Campus Access

Database Basics

Finding a database

Using a database

Database FAQs

Starting Your Research

Recommended Databases

Additional Databases

Selected Academic History Websites