Skip to Main Content

Computer Science & Information Technology Overview

Guide created to support research in computer science and information technology at TCC

Off-campus access to library databases is limited to current TCC students, faculty, and staff only. Use your TCC email and password when prompted to log in. If you have problems accessing library resources, contact the library staff for help.

Books & More

Recently Added & Coming Soon

Computer Programming with C++

Print Book

This textbook provides in-depth coverage of the fundamentals of the C and C++ programming languages and the object-oriented programming paradigm. It follows an example-driven approach to facilitate understanding of theoretical concepts. Essential concepts, including functions, arrays, pointers and inheritance, are explained, while complex topics, such as dynamic memory allocation, object slicing, vtables, and upcasting and downcasting, are examined in detail. Concepts are explained with the help of line diagrams, student-teacher conversations and flow charts, while other useful features, such as quiz questions and points to remember, are included.

Cyber careers : the basics of information technology and deciding on a career path

eBook

The approach taken in this book emphasizes the basics of information technology and helps students decide whether to pursue an information technology career. Most students fail to pursue an IT career because of their limited knowledge (sometimes no knowledge) about the area. Similarly, most students pursuing a career in IT do not research the field before their pursuit. This book is purposely designed for students in this category. The book may be offered as a required text for an elective or core course to all bachelor's degree students regardless of specialization. Compared to other textbooks, this text guides students pursuing or wanting to pursue an IT degree/career. Most students often begin their study of IT without knowing the outside and inside of the area. Most of these students can change their minds to pursue a different career path after spending several semesters of studies, a waste of their time. If students are taught from the onset about what an IT career entails and what it takes to become successful, it will significantly help students and not waste their time. This book addresses the issue.

Learning technology : a complete guide for learning professionals

Print Book

Learning technology is now an integral part of all learning and development activity. Understanding what these technologies are, how they work and their aims is key to successful L&D practice. Learning Technology is written by a leading voice in the learning tech industry. It explains the history of learning tech, its aims and how it is the fundamental technology that has driven learning, culture and progress. This book covers everything from writing to printing, broadcast media, teaching technology as well as detailed discussion of learning management systems (LMSs), learning experience platforms (LXPs) and learning record stores (LRSs). It also highlights the importance of data and analytics and covers the latest developments in the learning technology space including artificial intelligence, virtual reality and the metaverse. Learning Technology helps L&D professionals assess and better understand learning platforms and teaching technologies, both past and present. it supports this by evaluating the benefits of each technology. It also provides insights into the future of work and learning and offers a comprehensive overview and detailed exploration of the topic.

Information technology : an introduction for today's digital world

Print Book

This revised edition has more breadth and depth of coverage than the first edition. Information Technology: An Introduction for Today's Digital World introduces undergraduate students to a wide variety of concepts that they will encounter throughout their IT studies and careers. The features of this edition include: Introductory system administration coverage of Windows 10 and Linux (Red Hat 7), both as general concepts and with specific hands-on instruction Coverage of programming and shell scripting, demonstrated through example code in several popular languages Updated information on modern IT careers Computer networks, including more content on cloud computing Improved coverage of computer security Ancillary material that includes a lab manual for hands-on exercises Suitable for any introductory IT course, this classroom-tested text presents many of the topics recommended by the ACM Special Interest Group on IT Education (SIGITE). It offers a far more detailed examination of the computer and IT fields than computer literacy texts, focusing on concepts essential to all IT professionals - from system administration to scripting to computer organization. Four chapters are dedicated to the Windows and Linux operating systems so that students can gain hands-on experience with operating systems that they will deal with in the real world.

Remembering and Forgetting in the Age of Technology

eBook / Print Book

What does memory mean for learning in an age of smartphones and search engines? Human minds are made of memories, and today those memories have competition. Biological memory capacities are being supplanted, or at least supplemented, by digital ones, as we rely on recording--phone cameras, digital video, speech-to-text--to capture information we'll need in the future and then rely on those stored recordings to know what happened in the past. Search engines have taken over not only traditional reference materials but also the knowledge base that used to be encoded in our own brains. Google remembers, so we don't have to. And when we don't have to, we no longer can. Or can we? Remembering and Forgetting in the Age of Technology offers concise, nontechnical explanations of major principles of memory and attention--concepts that all teachers should know and that can inform how technology is used in their classes. Teachers will come away with a new appreciation of the importance of memory for learning, useful ideas for handling and discussing technology with their students, and an understanding of how memory is changing in our technology-saturated world.

Find & Access Books

computer with TCC library website on screen

Did you know that current TCC students can request books from other TCC library locations to be sent to the TCC campus library of your choice for pick up? Not all items can be requested (for example, reference or reserve items). Know when your assignment is due, plan ahead, and start your research early to give yourself enough time to take advantage of this option!

Search the catalog

  1. Start on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Find TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
  3. Select "In the Library"
  4. Select your home campus (or leave as "Any Campus" to search all TCC library locations)
  5. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click Search 
  6. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results
  7. If the item is available, results will show where it is available at
    • If the item is at more than one campus you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item.

Find on the shelf

  1. Use the location information from the catalog record to help you locate the item in the library. 
  2. The information after the library name will tell you what section of the library the item is in.
    • If it says "Circulating Collection" these you can check out and take out of the library. You will find these on the shelves.
    • If it says "Library Reserves" these books will be held at the library's circulation desk. Most of these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours.
    • Other books may list something else (for example, "New Arrivals" or "Oversized"). Books may be on display or part of a specific collection.
  3. Look for signs on the ends of the shelves to find the shelf the book should be on, then match the call number listed in the catalog to the call number on the spine of the book to locate the item on the shelf.
  4. If you need help finding a book, stop by the reference desk in the library to get help from a librarian. 

Browse the shelves

For general browsing of our print collection for computer science and information technology, these Library of Congress call number sections might be of interest:

  • GV 1469.15 - GV 1469.62 : Computer Games & Video Games
  • Q 300 - Q 390 : Cybernetics
  • Q 350 - Q 390 : Information Theory
  • QA 75.5 - QA 76.95 : Computer Science
  • QA 76.75 - QA 76.765 : Computer Software
  • TK 7800 - TK 8360 : Electronics
  • TK 7885 - TK 7895 : Computer Engineering & Computer Hardware
  • ZA : Information Resources

Don't forget that the library has a large collection of eBooks available! 

Search the catalog

  1. Start on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Find TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
  3. Select "Ebooks"
  4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click Search 
  5. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results

Access online

  1. After you have searched for and located an eBook in the library catalog, click on "Available Online" or the book title to open up the catalog record.
  2. Use the link(s) listed under View Online to access the eBook.

The library does not collect textbooks, however we may have a copy of your textbook if your instructor has placed one on reserve. Generally these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours. You can search our Course Reserves using the steps below. You can also stop by the library or chat with us online. We are always happy to check to see if we have a book available.

Search the catalog

  1. Start on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Find TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
  3. Select "Course Reserves"
  4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, course instructor name, course code).
  5. If the item is available, results will show where it is available at.
    • If the item is at more than one campus you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item.

Find in the library

Visit the library’s circulation desk to check out books that are part of the Reserves collection. Make sure you have your ID with you. You’ll need it to check out library materials.

& More

Databases

(Link opens in a new tab)

Books

The library has a variety of study guides available, both in print and electronically. Search the library catalog to see what is available. Pay attention to the date of the material and the exam version to make sure the information is current enough for your needs. 

Websites

Databases

(Links open in a new tab)

Books

These are just a few of the available titles. Search the library catalog to find more.

Websites

Check your assignment guidelines or check with your instructor to find out what types of works you are allowed to use. It will be up to your instructor if you are allowed to use webpages and/or other types of works for your assignment.