Skip to Main Content

Mathematics Overview

Guide created to support research in Mathematics at TCC

Off-campus access to library databases is limited to current TCC students, faculty, and staff only. Use your TCC email and password when prompted to log in. If you have problems accessing library resources, contact the library staff for help.

Choosing Quality Sources

check mark

Evaluate Your Sources! 

Remember to always evaluate all your sources! You want to make sure you are picking high quality, credible sources. Reviewing your sources using the C.A.A.R.P. guidelines will help you evaluate the currency, authority, accuracy, relevance, and purpose of the information you find.  

C.A.A.R.P. TEST
DOES THIS RESOURCE SMELL A LITTLE FISHY?

Picking the right sources is a key step to creating a high-quality research paper or presentation. Choosing resources is easier when you evaluate them with the C.A.A.R.P. guidelines.

Currency:
Currency guidelines vary depending on the topic. A literary analysis from five years ago may still be relevant, but a science research article published at the same time may be out of date.
  • When was the information written or posted?
  • Has the information been revised or reposted?
  • Is this resource timely for your topic?
  • Are there newer resources that are more appropriate?
Authority:
Authority is contextual. A good author for one topic may not be an expert in a different topic.
  • Who is responsible for this information? Is there an identified person or organization?
  • Is the author an expert on this particular topic?
  • What are the author’s qualifications and affiliations?
  • Can you independently verify (e.g., do an internet search) the author’s credentials?
Accuracy:
The information should be correct and verifiable.
  • Does the resource provide citations?
  • Can you verify the information in the resource from the citations or other sources?
  • Is the resource peer-reviewed?
  • Do the information and tone seem unbiased and free from emotion?
Relevance:
The resource fits your topic and is written to the right audience.
  • Is the information about your topic? Does it support your thesis?
  • Have you looked at a variety of other resources before deciding which ones are the best fit?
  • Who is the intended audience for this resource?
  • Is the resource written at the right level (e.g., the coverage is not too shallow or too in-depth)?
Purpose:
The purpose is the reason the information exists.
  • Is the purpose of the information to inform, teach, entertain, persuade, or sell?
  • Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?
  • Is the information objective or biased?
These guidelines have been adapted from the Meriam Library at California State University.

Books & More

Selected Books

Innovation beyond fiction: an imaginative play with mathematics

eBook

The Math of Life and Death

Print Book

Humble Pi

Print Book

The Art of More

Print Book

Mathematics Emerging

eBook

The Wonder Book of Geometry

Print Book

Who's Counting?

Print Book

Books

TCC Library Catalog In the Library search option

Search the catalog

  1. Begin on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Scroll down to TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
  3. Select "In the Library"
  4. Select your home campus or leave as "Any Campus" to search all TCC library locations
  5. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click the Search button 
  6. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results.
    Some of the filter options that may be useful are Resource Type (you can limit to "Books"), Publication Date, Subject, Genre, Author, Language, and Library. You may also see options like Course Instructor, Course Code, Course Name, and Course Department (if there are Course Reserve materials in your results). 
  7. If the item is available, results will show where it is available at.
    If the item is at more than one campus you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item. 

Call number from a catalog record matching with a call number on a book spine

Find on the shelf

  1. After you have searched for and located a book in the library catalog, use the location information from the catalog record to help you locate the item in the library. 
  2. The information after the library name will tell you what section of the library the item is in. Books that have "Circulating Collection" listed are books that you can check out and take out of the library. These are ones that you will find on the shelves. Books that have "Library Reserves" listed will be held at the library's circulation desk. Most of these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours. Other books may list something else (for example, "New Arrivals" or "Oversized"). Books may be on display or part of a specific collection.
  3. Look for signs on the ends of the shelves to find the shelf the book should be on, then use the call number listed to locate the item on the shelf.
  4. If you need help finding a book, stop by the reference desk in the library to get help from a librarian. 

books

Browse the shelves

For general browsing of our print collection for Mathematics (QA), these Library of Congress call number sections might be of interest:

Mathematics

Subclass QA

QA1-939             Mathematics

QA1-43                              General

QA47-59                            Tables

QA71-90                             Instruments and machines

QA75-76.95                                      Calculating machines

QA75.5-76.95                                   Electronic computers. Computer science

QA76.75-76.765                                             Computer software

QA101-(145)                     Elementary mathematics. Arithmetic

QA150-272.5                     Algebra

QA273-280                        Probabilities. Mathematical statistics

QA299.6-433                     Analysis

QA440-699                        Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology

QA801-939                        Analytical mechanics

TCC Library Catalog eBook search option

Search the catalog

  1. Begin on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Scroll down to TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
  3. Select "Ebooks"
  4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click the Search button 
  5. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results.
    Some of the filter options that may be useful are Publication Date, Subject, Genre, Author, and Language.     

Access online

  1. After you have searched for and located an eBook in the library catalog, click on "Available Online" or the book title to open up the catalog record.
  2. Use the link(s) listed under View Online to access the eBook.

Browse available eBooks

Click on one of the eBook collections listed below to browse available titles. (Database links open in a new tab)

Related Guides

The library does not collect textbooks, however we may have a copy of your textbook if your instructor has placed one on reserve. Generally these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours. You can search our Course Reserves using the steps below. You can also stop by the library or chat with us online. We are always happy to check to see if we have a book available.

TCC Library Catalog Course Reserves search option

Search the catalog

  1. Begin on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Scroll down to TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
  3. Select "Course Reserves" 
  4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, course instructor name, course code). 
  5. If the item is available, results will show where it is available at.
    If the item is at more than one campus you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item.

Find in the library

Visit the library's circulation desk to check out books that are part of the Reserves collection. Make sure you have your TCC ID with you. You'll need it to check out library materials.

& More

Test Preparation (Database links open in a new tab)

Career Resources