Research Guides: PHYS 1415 Physical Science I: Ebooks and Database Resources

Recommended Ebooks

50 Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know by Joanne Baker
Uncover the physics all around us, from basic concepts like gravity, light, and energy to the complexities of quantum theory, chaos, and dark energy.
Abc of Physics: A Very Brief Guide by Lev Borisovich Okun
This little book concentrates on the foundations of modern physics (its 'ABC's') and its most fundamental constants. In order to achieve maximal concentration and clarity, it uses the simplest (high school) mathematics.
Astronomy : QuickStudy Reference Guide to Space, Our Solar System, Planets and the Stars.
Quick reference guide for astronomy
Basic Electronics: Theory and Practice by Sean Westcott; Jean Riescher Westcott
This updated edition is an introduction appropriate for both the student and hobbyist to the theory and practice of electronics. It leads the reader through introductory understanding of the science underlying electronics, building basic circuits, learning the roles of the components, the application of digital theory and the possibilities for innovation by combining sensors, motors, and microcontrollers.
Circuit Analysis for Dummies by John Santiago
Circuit Analysis For Dummies gives you clear-cut information about the topics covered in an electric circuit analysis course to help further your understanding of the subject. By covering topics such as resistive circuits, Kirchhoff's laws, equivalent sub-circuits, and energy storage, this book distinguishes itself as the perfect aid for any student taking a circuit analysis course.
Encyclopedia of the Solar System by Tilman Spohn (Editor); Doris Breuer (Editor); Torrence Johnson (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of the Solar System, Third Edition provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact--with an astounding breadth of content and breathtaking visual impact.
From the Sun to the Stars by James B. Kaler
The book begins at the Sun then travels through the solar system to see the stars, how they work, and ultimately what they mean to us.
Fundamental Physics: An Introduction by Sanat Kumar Chatterjee
Develops the basic principles and laws of fundamental physics.
Fundamentals of Physics II by R. Shankar
In this second book based on his online Yale course, Shankar explains essential concepts, including electromagnetism, optics, and quantum mechanics. The book begins at the simplest level, develops the basics, and reinforces fundamentals, ensuring a solid foundation in the principles and methods of physics.
A History of the Solar System by Claudio Vita-Finzi
This well illustrated book presents a compact history of the Solar System from its dusty origins 4,600,000 years ago to the present day. Its primary aim is to show how the planets and their satellites, comets, meteors, interplanetary dust, solar radiation and cosmic rays continually interact, sometimes violently, and it reflects humanity's progress in exploring and interpreting this history.
No-Frills Physics by Matthew D. McCluskey
This textbook provides everything you need to get through a basic physics course. It guides students through all the essentials with a concise review of the concept, simple illustrations to demonstrate it, worked problems to showcase how to apply it, and a short quiz for self-testing.
Penguin Dictionary of Physics, 4th ed. by John Cullerne
Provides clear and concise definitions for every area of physics--from optics and acoustics to mechanics and electronics, via quantum theory and relativity.
Physics by Eric Hines; Mark Jackson
Reference and outline to concepts in physics.
Physics: The First Science by Suzanne White Brahmia; Peter Lindenfeld; Suzanne White Brahmia
Today's physics textbooks have become encyclopedic, offering students dry discussions, rote formulas, and exercises with little relation to the real world. Physics: The First Science takes a different approach by offering uniquely accessible, student-friendly explanations, historical and philosophical perspectives, and mathematics in easy-to-comprehend dialogue.
Physics Essentials for Dummies by Steven Holzner
For students who just need to know the vital concepts of physics, whether as a refresher, for exam prep, or as a reference, Physics Essentials For Dummies is a must-have guide. Physics Essentials For Dummies contains key topics only. It provides discrete explanations of critical concepts taught in an introductory physics course, from force and motion to momentum and kinetics.
Physics Terminology
Reference chart
Stargazing for Dummies by Steve Owens
Stargazing For Dummies offers you the chance to explore the night sky, providing a detailed guide to the main constellations and also offering advice on viewing other night sky objects such as planets and nebulae. It's a great introduction to a fun new hobby, and even provides a fun way to get the kids outside while doing something educational!

Videos

60 Second Adventures in Astronomy (Video Series)
Center of Mass, 8 minutes
Conservation Laws, 5 minutes
Electrical Engineering Videos (JoVE)
Electronics Foundations: Basic Circuits
Sign in with your TCC email address
Electronics Foundations: Fundamentals
Sign in with your TCC email address
Energy, Work, and Power, 4 minutes
Physics I Video Series (JoVE)
Physics II Videos (JoVE)

Library Databases

Academic OneFile from Gale This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
TCCD
Science: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
a collection of full text articles, topic overviews, and experiments from academic journals, magazines, reference books and other types of publications. Also included are videos, images, and other multmedia material.
TexShare

ProQuest
A huge general database that covers everything. You are sure to find information about your topic, but the drawback is that you may find an overwhelming amount of information.

OER Resources

Open Educational Resources (OERs) are freely available for anyone to use to learn physics. If you are having trouble understanding a concept in your class textbook, it can be helpful to seek out another explanation of it.

Practice Tests, More Ebooks, and Tutorials

Mometrix Test Preparation This link opens in a new window
TCCD

You will have to search within Mometrix for study materials, but it is well worth the effort!

Mometrix Academy: Click the link to Mometrix Academy on the left side of the Mometrix homepage and scroll down to the Subject Review section. The Phyics Review has video tutorials on various concepts.
Search Box: Use the search box at the top of the main Mometrix page to find ebooks, practice tests, and online flashcards.