Skip to Main Content

PSYC 2306 SO

This guide has been created to assist you in your research for PSYC 2306.

Articles

Starting Your Research

Use databases or the library catalog to search for articles.  When searching for articles on a topic, remember to think carefully about your search terms.  Being a little more thoughtful in your searching will give you better results.  Use these steps to create your search strategy:

  • In one sentence, describe your topic or question.
  • Underline the main concepts in your sentence.
  • Write out your main concepts; keep them simple -- one word or a short phrase.
  • Think about synonyms for each of these and keep a list.
  • Use combinations of these words and their synonyms in your search box; link concepts with AND.
    • For example: social issues AND students; teachers AND student learning

Sometimes deciding what to research can be very difficult!  Researching sexuality topics can pose a few additional difficulties.  Some people get nervous discussing intimate topics.  Some people are afraid that they are studying something for a personal reason.  Sometimes the research is for personal information but often it is for the sake of interest.  

But in general, the research process is most rewarding when we are learning something new and different.  As with anything,  don't hesitate to ask questions.  A principle of librarianship is to answer topics and questions without judgment.

If you are having trouble finding a topic, there are a few sites that offer a lot of information on sexuality issues.   You can look at these sites to brainstorm topics.

Kinsey Institute

American Psychological Association Sexuality Topic page

Planned Parenthood - Learn

Abortion
Attraction
Birth
Child sex abuse
Conception
Contraception
Development of Paraphilias
Female sexual anatomy
Freud sexual development
Gender development
Gender roles
Gender stereotypes
History of human sexuality research
Homophobia
Infirtility
Male sexual anatomy
Masturbation
Miscarriage
Orgasm
Paraphilias
Pedophilia
Pornography
Pornography addiction
Pornography and relationships
Pregnancy
Prostitution
Rape myths
Rape recovery
Sadomasochism
Sexual addiction
Sexual aggression
Sexual behavior
Sexual coercion
Sexual dysfunctions
Sexual fantasy
Sexual harassment
Sexual intimacy
Sexual orientation and culture
Sexual orientation and discrimination
Sexual orientation development
Sexual response
Sexuality and aging
Sexuality and culture
Sexuality in children
Sexually transmitted infections
Styles of love

Recommended Databases

Below are the best databases to start with when researching topics in PSYC 2306. Database links open in a new tab.

Additional Databases

Journals

Listed below are a few of the Psychology journals available through the library. To search for a specific journal, see the instructions on this page for finding a journal.

Finding a Journal

journal

Wondering if we have access to a specific journal?

Follow these steps to check:

  1. On the library website, under TCC Article Databases, click on "How can I find electronic journal titles?"
  2. Type in the Title or ISSN for the journal.
  3. Press enter or click on the magnifying glass to search.
  4. If we have access, click on the title of the journal. 
  5. If available to view online:
    • Under "View Online" there will be a list of databases that have full text availability, along with the dates full text is available for.
    • Click on a database to access the journal online.
    • From there, you should have an option to search within that specific publication.
  6. If available in print:
    • The campus libraries that have the print journal available will be listed under "Locations".
    • Click on the campus library location to view more details about what volumes are available.
    • Print journals may only be viewed in the library and cannot be checked out.