Real Estate Overview

• In addition to the databases recommended on this page, use the Databases by Subject list to find more databases based on your subject area.
• Read the database descriptions. This will give you an idea of what is included in the database.
  To view the database description on the Databases by Title or Databases by Subject pages:
  • Hover over the title of the database, or
  • Click on the triangle after the database title, or
  • Select the checkbox on the top right of the page to "Show all descriptions" 
• For help with how to search a database:
  • Check our list of database tutorials (link above)
  • Look for things like "Help" or "Search Tips" on the database search screen
• Search more than just one database for information on your topic. (If you use the TCC Library Catalog search (All Collections or Article Databases search options), search there in addition to (not instead of) searching the databases (not all of the library databases are included in the TCC Library Catalog search and it is a very broad search with basic searching/filtering options)).

Follow these steps to check:

1. On the right side of the library website, under TCC Article Databases, click on "How can I find electronic journal titles?"
2. Type in the Title or ISSN for the journal.
3. Press enter or click on the magnifying glass to search.
4. If we have access, click on the title of the journal. 
5. If available to view online:
   • Under "View Online" there will be a list of databases that have full text availability, along with the dates full text is available for.
   • Click on a database to access the journal online.
   • From there, you should have an option to search within that specific publication.
6. If available in print:
   • The campus libraries that have the print journal available will be listed under "Locations".
   • Click on the campus library location to view more details about what volumes are available.
   • Print journals may only be viewed in the library and cannot be checked out.

You can search for a specific journal using the instructions on this page, but you can also search more generally with your keywords to pull up potentially relevant journals if you didn't have a specific title. For example, if you didn't have a specific business journal in mind, searching the journals with the term business will pull up a list of all the journal records that include business (in the journal title or elsewhere in the catalog record).

Some terms you could use to search for journals might be: real estate, property, housing, urban planning, etc. 

If you want to search within a specific journal, in the journal's catalog record, there is a search box that gives you the option to search within the journal. You can also click on the links listed under "Full text availability" in the catalog record. These links should take you to the journal, where you should have the option to browse through the available issues or search within the publication.