Contemporary Mormonism by
Much misunderstood, Mormonism had a colorful beginning in the 19th century, as a visionary named Joseph Smith founded and built a community of believers with their own unique faith. In the late-20th century, the church had to come to terms with its own growth and organization, as well as with the increasing pervasiveness of globalization, secularization, and cultural changes. Today Mormonism is one of the major religions in America, and continues to grow internationally. However, though the church itself remains strong, it is elusive to those of other faiths. Here, a seasoned author and third-generation Mormon sheds light on the everyday lives and practices of faithful Mormons. Bushman's readers will come away with a more thorough appreciation of what it means to be Mormon in the modern world. Much misunderstood, Mormonism had a colorful beginning in the 19th century, as a visionary named Joseph Smith founded and built a community of believers with their own unique faith. In the late-20th century, the church had to come to terms with its own growth and organization, as well as with the increasing pervasiveness of globalization, secularization, and cultural changes. Today Mormonism is one of the major religions in America, and one that continues to grow internationally. However, though the church itself remains strong, it is elusive to those of other faiths. Here, a seasoned author and third-generation Mormon sheds light on the everyday lives and practices of faithful Mormons. Bushman's readers will come away with a more thorough appreciation of what it means to be Mormon in the modern world. Following Brigham Young into the Great Basin and founding communities that have endured for over 100 years, Mormons have forged a rich history in this country even as they built communities around the world. But the origins of this faith and those who adhere to it remain mysterious to many in the United States. Bushman allows readers a vivid glimpse into the lives of Mormons--their beliefs, rituals, and practices, as well as their views on race, ethnicity, social class, gender, and sexual orientation. The voices of actual Mormons reveal much about their inspiration, devotion, patriotism, individualism, and conservatism. With its mythical history and unlikely success, many wonder what has made this religion endure through the years. Here, readers will find answers to their questions about what it means to be Mormon in contemporary America.
Creole Religions of the Caribbean by
Creolization-the coming together of diverse beliefs and practices to form new beliefs and practices-is one of the most significant phenomena in Caribbean religious history. Brought together in the crucible of the sugar plantation, Caribbean peoples drew on the variants of Christianity brought by European colonizers, as well as on African religious and healing traditions and the remnants of Amerindian practices, to fashion new systems of belief. Creole Religions of the Caribbean offers a comprehensive introduction to the syncretic religions that have developed in the region. From Vodou, Santeria, Regla de Palo, the Abakua Secret Society, and Obeah to Quimbois and Espiritismo, the volume traces the historical-cultural origins of the major Creole religions, as well as the newer traditions such as Pocomania and Rastafarianism. This second edition updates the scholarship on the religions themselves and also expands the regional considerations of the Diaspora to the U. S. Latino community who are influenced by Creole spiritual practices. Fernandez Olmos and Paravisini-Gebert also take into account the increased significance of material culture-art, music, literature-and healing practices influenced by Creole religions.
The Encyclopedia of Witches, Witchcraft, and Wicca by
Praise for the previous editions: "Clearly the best reference work on the subject now available."—American Reference Books Annual "Highly recommended for public and academic libraries."—Library Journal "Highly recommended..."—Choice Interest in witchcraft, magic, and the occult is strong, fueled by popular books and movies such as the Harry Potter series. Wicca as a religion has exploded in popularity in recent years, leading to a boom in books and products pertaining to spells, witchcraft, and the Wiccan lifestyle. Though witchcraft has a long history both in folklore and in practice, the truth about it has often been obscured by fiction and myth. In more than 480 entries, The Encyclopedia of Witches, Witchcraft, and Wicca, Third Edition is an exciting update to one of the landmark references on the subject—by paranormal expert Rosemary Ellen Guiley. This edition provides unparalleled coverage of witchcraft practices around the world—spanning different time periods and societies—including entries on magic, shamanism, the occult, and wizardry. Now covering Wicca-related material not included in the previous editions as well as updates of contemporary biographies and Wicca material, this encyclopedia is perfect for casual readers and researchers, as well as those fascinated by this spellbinding topic. All content has been expanded considerably, providing updates and new information about the key topics of witchcraft. New and revised coverage includes: Amulets Biographies of contemporary and historical figures Book of Shadows Charms Demons Familiars Folklore relating to witchcraft Hand of glory Historical cases of witchcraft trials The Inquisition Magic and Wicca Salem witches and other historical cases of witchcraft trials Spells Tools, such as altars, amulets, cauldrons, and charms Wicca practices, rituals, beliefs, and traditions Wiccan organizations Witches in entertainment: films, television, stage, and popular fiction.
Freethinkers by
An authoritative history of the vital role of secularist thinkers and activists in the United States, from a writer of "fierce intelligence and nimble, unfettered imagination" ( The New York Times )At a time when the separation of church and state is under attack as never before, Freethinkers offers a powerful defense of the secularist heritage that gave Americans the first government in the world founded not on the authority of religion but on the bedrock of human reason.In impassioned, elegant prose, celebrated author Susan Jacoby paints a striking portrait of more than two hundred years of secularist activism, beginning with the fierce debate over the omission of God from the Constitution. Moving from nineteenth-century abolitionism and suffragism through the twentieth century's civil liberties, civil rights, and feminist movements, Freethinkers illuminates the neglected accomplishments of secularists who, allied with liberal and tolerant religious believers, have stood at the forefront of the battle for reforms opposed by reactionary forces in the past and today.Rich with such iconic figures as Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Clarence Darrow-as well as once-famous secularists such as Robert Green Ingersoll, "the Great Agnostic"- Freethinkers restores to history generations of dedicated humanists. It is they, Jacoby shows, who have led the struggle to uphold the combination of secular government and religious liberty that is the glory of the American system.
Handbook of Contemporary Paganism by
Contemporary Paganism is a movement that is still young and establishing its identity and place on the global religious landscape. This work offers a study of contemporary Paganism that contributes fresh ways to observe and examine other religions, where innovations, paradoxes, and inconsistencies can be accurately documented and explained.
Historical Dictionary of Mormonism by
Mormonism is the unofficial name for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, which originated in the early 1800s. Mormonism refers to the doctrines taught by Joseph Smith, doctrines that are believed to be original gospel preached by Jesus Christ. The Mormons oppose abortion, homosexuality, unmarried sexual acts, pornography, gambling, tobacco, consuming alcohol, tea, coffee, and the use of drugs. Despite its relatively young age, the Mormon Church continues to grow, and today it contains about 13 million members. The third edition of the Historical Dictionary of Mormonism expands on the second edition with a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on crucial persons, organizations, churches, beliefs, and events. Clearing up many of the misconceptions held about Mormonism and its members, this is an essential reference.
That Religion in Which All Men Agree by
This powerful study weaves the story of Freemasonry into the narrative of American religious history. Freighted with the mythical legacies of stonemasons’ guilds and the Newtonian revolution, English Freemasonry arrived in colonial America with a vast array of cultural baggage, which was drawn on, added to, and transformed during its sojourn through American culture. David G. Hackett argues that from the 1730s through the early twentieth century the religious worlds of an evolving American social order broadly appropriated the beliefs and initiatory practices of this all-male society. For much of American history, Freemasonry was both counter and complement to Protestant churches, as well as a forum for collective action among racial and ethnic groups outside the European American Protestant mainstream. Moreover, the cultural template of Freemasonry gave shape and content to the American "public sphere.” By including a group not usually seen as a carrier of religious beliefs and rituals, Hackett expands and complicates the terrain of American religious history by showing how Freemasonry has contributed to a broader understanding of the multiple influences that have shaped religion in American culture.
Santería Garments and Altars by
Santería, also called Lucumi or Orisha Worship by its practitioners, originated in Nigeria among the Yoruba people. It took shape in Cuba during and after the slave trade and reached North America through Afro-Caribbean immigration. As the fastest growing African-based religion in the United States, Santería has stimulated many publications, but none prior to this book noted the special significance of its art and artists. In Santería Garments and Altars, for the first time, two distinguished folklorists and practitioners of the faith focus upon the artistry of garments and altars that are intrinsic to the worship. Detailed here is information about their design and creation, the artists who make them, and the importance of aesthetics as text in the religious celebration.
What Is Scientology? by
It's in the news. It's talked about on radio and TV. It's growing at an incredible rate. And it's got the answers. What Is Scientology? Find out in the book: * How Scientology helps people in the here and now. * What the State of Clear is and what it means to you. * What Total Freedom means and how Scientologists achieve it. * Why Scientologists believe they have lived before. * What the E-Meter is and how it works. * Who L. Ron Hubbard is and why Scientologists consider him their best friend. * Why Scientology is not only a religion, but a religion for people of all religions. * What kind of people are Scientologists? * How Scientology began. * What Scientology auditing is and the miracles it achieves. * Who has been attacking Scientology and exactly why.
Witchcraft Today by
A clear, concise overview of the origins and history of the Wiccan and Neopagan movements, with A–Z coverage of concepts, rituals, practices, and practitioners. * Thorough introduction explains the origin and history of contemporary Wiccan and Neopagan beliefs * Provides A–Z coverage of Neopagan concepts, rituals, practices, and practitioners ranging from African Religions and Celtic Tradition to Numerology and Theosophy * A documents section reprints texts important to the central belief system of Wiccans and Neopagans, including the text of Charge of the Goddess * Thorough chronology detailing the development of these modern religions