Skip to Main Content

World History Overview

Guide created to support research in World History at TCC

Off-campus access to library databases is limited to current TCC students, faculty, and staff only. Use your TCC email and password when prompted to log in. If you have problems accessing library resources, contact the library staff for help.

Database Basics

Use the links provided on this page or, on the library website, use the options listed under TCC Article Databases

  • Use the alphabetical list (drop-down or "Browse All") to find a specific database using the database title
  • Use the by subject list (drop-down or "Browse Subjects") to find a database, grouped by subject area

For help with how to search a database:

  • Check our list of database tutorials
  • Look for things like "Help" or "Search Tips" on the database search screen
  • Try using the general search tips provided in this guide

Finding a Journal

journal

Wondering if we have access to a specific journal?

Follow these steps to check:

  1. On the library website, under TCC Article Databases, click on "How can I find electronic journal titles?"
  2. Type in the Title or ISSN for the journal.
  3. Press enter or click on the magnifying glass to search.
  4. If we have access, click on the title of the journal. 
  5. If available to view online:
    • Under "View Online" there will be a list of databases that have full text availability, along with the dates full text is available for.
    • Click on a database to access the journal online.
    • From there, you should have an option to search within that specific publication.
  6. If available in print:
    • The campus libraries that have the print journal available will be listed under "Locations".
    • Click on the campus library location to view more details about what volumes are available.
    • Print journals may only be viewed in the library and cannot be checked out.

Articles

Recommended Databases

Below are the best databases to start with when researching topics in world history. Database links open in a new tab.

Additional Databases

 

The following database links open in a new tab.

Journals

Listed below are a few of the world history journals available through the library. To search for a specific journal, see the instructions on this page for finding a journal. To search for articles from a wide range of publications, search in the databases.