Research Guides: ARTS 1301 / 2346 / 2347 SO: Art Appreciation

Art Appreciation Resources

Elements of Art

The components that make up a piece of art. The building blocks of art.

Color
Line
Shape
Form
Texture
Value
Space

Genre

1. The category of art, relating to the type of work. Ex. portraiture, landscape, still lifes.

2. Art depicting everyday life is called genre.

Medium

Materials (or media) used to create art. Ex. paint, marble, wood, ink.

Movement (see Genre)

Art that adheres to the same philosophy and/or style, usually during a certain time period. Ex. Cubism, Art Nouveau, Baroque, Surrealism, Black Arts

Principles of Art

How the Elements are used or distributed throughout the work.

Balance
Emphasis
Movement
Pattern
Repetition
Proportion
Rhythm
Variety

Courtesy of Coastal Pines Technical College

Academic OneFile from Gale
Gale Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.

TCCD
Fine Arts : Gale OneFile
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts collection places 10.4 million articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the R√©pertoire International de Litt√©rature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.

TCCD
JSTOR
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.

TCCD
Oxford Art Online
is a gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources in one location. In addition to new and updated articles and citations, this database includes over 5000 images, extensive image links, and thematic timelines.

TCCD
Oxford Companion to Western Art
The Oxford Companion to Western Art, written by over 100 distinguished art historians and specialists, provides in-depth coverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques. Critical appreciation and factual information on over 1700 artists from classical times to the 20th century are included with 49 feature articles covering a broad spectrum of topics from art history and its methods to wall painting.

TCCD
Oxford Concise Dictionary of Art Terms
The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms is an accessible and useful A-Z, covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods. In this new edition, the text has been fully revised and updated to reflect the latest developments in the field. It has also been expanded with more than 100 brand new entries, focusing primarily on modern and contemporary art materials and techniques.

TCCD

Museum Websites, Images Collections, and Online Art Resources

Andy Warhol Museum
Art on the Atlanta Beltline
Boca Raton Museum of Art
The Cleveland Museum of Art
Dallas Museum of Art
deCordova Sculpture Park and Museum
Denver Art Museum
Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
Guggenheim
The J. Paul Getty Museum
Kimbell Art Museum
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Louvre
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Modern Art Museum of Ft. Worth
The Modern Art Museum of Ft. Worth
Musco De Prado
Musee Rodin
Nasher Sculpture Center
The National Gallery
The National Gallery of Art
National Museum of Wildlife Art
National Museum of Women in the Arts
National Museums Liverpool
New Orleans Museum of Art
North Carolina Museum of Art
Philadelphia Museum of Art
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
Smithsonian American Art Museum
The State Hermitage Museum
Tate
Van Gogh Museums
Worcester Art Museum
VADS: The Online Resource for Visual Arts
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
New York Public Library Digital Collection
Smithsonian Libraries: Digital Library
LOC: Prints and Photographs
The Web Gallery of Art
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture. Search by the name of the painter and see examples of their work.
Art History Resources
Comprehensive webliography of art history links organized by an art historian and appraiser: some are commercial sites while many others are credible sources such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Academic Video Online: Art & Design
brings together the most influential creative works the world over, spanning centuries and continents to share the must-see pieces‚Äîboth famed and lesser-known‚Äîthat have left an indelible mark upon contemporary culture and fosters learning and discovery by pairing primary source artworks in a broad range of genres and formats with key commentary that explores the significance of the works in context.

TCCD
FilmsOnDemand
is a collection of more than 895 films in eight subjects areas owned by Tarrant County College that can be streamed directly to your computer.

TCCD
PBS Video Collection
assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

TCCD